Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portuguese Paella Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portuguese Paella

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2008

      Hello from Portugal! Well you definitely deserve 5 stars, I'd give you more but I cant. I maked this quite often in my home. I some- times add in fresh clams it gives it a very good flavoor. thanks for posting,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      this was freakin awsome. this was the first time i ever made paella and my family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! I added two packets of Sazon for coloring and taste, as well as a little red crushed pepper to the onions when sauteeing. It turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      This recipe is amazing... My guests loved it. Super easy to make and very tasty! I will be making this again. Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I've made this delicious and very easy dish 3 times. It's so pretty, it makes a perfect entree for company. The taste is better than what I've had in restaurants. The first 2 times I used bulk chorizo sausage, rolling it into smallish balls and browning them in olive oil (my store didn't have links). That worked well and tasted good the first time but the second time they wouldn't hold their shape. For the 3rd time making this dish, I ordered Portuguese chourico on-line. It came in links and was already cooked, so I added it in with the browned chicken thighs (which I cut into pieces). The flavor of the chourico blended wonderfully with the other ingredients. This recipe makes a fairly hearty amount for 6 people, but there won't be enough for seconds or leftovers. Thank you for posting my new favorite recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      I had to make paella for 70 people, and this was the recipe I used. What an amazing recipe! I had to print it out for at least 20 people since the wedding I cooked it for. The only changes I made were to add 1 tsp. fresh thyme to the chicken/rosemary mixture, double up on the onions, and substitute smoked paprika for sweet paprika. I also omitted the baking part, and just finished it on the stove on low heat to cook the shrimp. Thanks for posting this fantastic dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      Very good. Next time I will add 1/8 - 1/4 tsp crushed peppers while sauteing the tomatoes, paprika and saffron; to bring some kick to the taste. Or perhaps a mildly hot sausage, to counter the mild flavors of the chicken and shrimp. I skipped the baking part. Once it starts boiling, reduce the heat to simmer and cook for 25 minutes. Stir in the shrimp and peas (I omitted the asparagus) and cook for an additional 10 minutes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      An excellent recipe. It has it all in one pan. Easy to make and full of taste and colours. I used a greek sausage that is very similar to chourizo but I didn't change anything else. My family, all of them, gave a 5 star review. Its a keeper. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      Also my first time to make or eat a paella but glad I took the chance to try it out. I had to substitute chorizo, but will certainly keep an eye out for chourico for a future meal. Lots of great things go into this, so it's no suprise it's so tasty. And when you can do everything in one pan, it's that much better for me. = ) Skipped the bell peppers,even though they make it look prettier, I don't particularly care for them. Thanks for helping to make dinner unordinary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      great Paella! I liked the rosemary on the chicken. The peas added a little sweetness. This is the first time I had cooked with chourico. Everyone thought it was pretty tasty. I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      Delicioso! I made only one change--used chicken breast instead of thigh. I was lucky to find chourico (which is so good--I'm glad I got some extra for the freezer), and followed the instructions which are nice and clear. You made your way into my heart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      As eveyone has mentioned, this is much easier to do than I thought. First time I've tried chourico and really liked the flavor that it added. Directions were easy to follow. I don't have a oven-proof pan large enough for this recipe, so I had to move it from a pan to a casserole dish for the oven baking portion. I don't know if that effects anything. I would like to try this again with the proper pan. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      This is wonderful. This is the first I every had paella. I don't eat shrimp so I left it out. I also used turkey sausage instead of portuguese chourico. Thanking you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      I have to give this 5 stars because everyone in my family ate it without complaints even though it contained elements that might cause each of them to reject it! When put all together, it made for a very nice, very colorful meal. I used brown rice, so I cooked it first, and used less stock. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      This was my first time making paella and I was impressed on how easy it was. I subbed Chorizo for the chourico as it isn't available here but otherwise made as directed. Unfortunately I skipped on the asparagus as it wasnt until I was to add it that I realised I had forgotton it at the market. I dont cook with seafood often at home so it went over extremly well with DH.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      This is very good paella. I was lucky enough to be able to find the portuguese chourico at my local grocery store. This is the first time I have used this but it is much leaner than the chorizo, a little bit spicier and smokier. I think I'll use this instead of the chorizo from now on. Great flavor blend. It was really enjoyed. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      This recipe was wonderful & quite easy to make. I took Wonderful BC's suggestion of adding sambal oelek, which was fabulous. I used a 400g tin of tomatoes, used beans instead of asparagus & left out the peas. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing this great dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      This was exceptionally good. We like things a bit spicier so added 1 tsp Sambal Oelek (hot chili paste). An excellent meal for special company. **Edit - I've been reading through the other comments about how Paella is supposed to hard to make. I was totally unaware of this when I made it. It wasn't hard to do at all and totally worth doing again (in effort and cost even when you live in Northern Canada)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      This isn't at all difficult to make! I used a strongly flavored Spanish chorizo, which is what is available for this recipe in my neck of the woods. The cooking times were perfect! I had some leftovers, and didn't like it as much as when I first made it, because the rice became softer with the leftovers. First time cooked, however, the rice was perfect, as was the chicken! I made this for ZWT 3. Photo is uploaded.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      This was my first time to ever try paella, and I loved it! I always thought paella was difficult to prepare, but this wasn't. It was super easy and had a wonderful flavor. Portuguese chourico is not available here, so I use chorizo. This was also the first time I've ever eaten chorizo sausage and I liked the flavor it imparted to the dish. I served the paella with Chiles Rellenos Puffs #221368 and to top off a fantastic meal, for dessert Crema Catalana #229274. Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portuguese Paella

    Serving Size: 1 (368 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.6
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    13%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 105.6 mg
    35%
    Sodium 1040.5 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.6 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 23.4 g
    46%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Portuguese chourico

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites