Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portuguese Paella Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portuguese Paella

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2010

      This is an excellent dish. I've made it three times now; once as the serving for six and twice for larger parties where I had to transfer to large casserole pan because of tripling the recipe. Here is something I don't understand but noticed the first time I made this and corrected the cooking time: the uncooked arborio rice requires far more cooking time than 16 minutes (10 minutes plus the 5 after adding shrimp). No one else seemed to have this noticed so what have I missed? After adding the rice, I cooked for 3-4 minutes (vs 1 minute), then added 1 cup of chicken stock and cooked until it was absorbed before adding last 2 cups, combining with meat and transferring to the oven. I then found I had to cook for 20 minutes vs 10 for the rest of stock to be absorbed and the rice softened. I would also use 1/2 teaspoon of saffron for 6 serving size.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      Overall a good recipe, but clearly off in regards to cooking times and methods. I have made it twice, the second time with some substitutions and adjustments just based on my own experience, personal taste and what I had on hand. The changes are fairly lengthy, but if you're interested, you can find a list and pictures on my blog: http://soup2nutz.wordpress.com/2011/07/30/a-portuguese-adventure-paella-at-home/

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      YUM!! I replaced the sausage with keilbasa and omitted the asparagus bc I didn't have any and the peas bc I dislike them. So I bumped up the other veggies (the peppers, onions, and tomatoes) and it came out great. Instead of putting the pan in the oven I switched the food to a oven safe dish and threw in the shrimp in the middle. It needed a little longer than the directed time for all the broth to cook through but when it was done, it was the prettiest and most colorful dish. The shrimp didn't even overcook. I also replaced the saffron (which I cannot find anywhere) with tumeric and it was still awesome. This will definitely be a repeat offender in my house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      Loved this recipe! I only tweaked the ingredients -- doubled the chourico for a bit more spice and used chicken drummettes instead of thighs. I also cooked it on stove top. Flavors blend well and was even better the day after!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      I love this recipe but the cooking times seem a little off. I usually add some crab to my paella too. <br/>www.paellapansuk.co.uk

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      saffron is up to about $19 for 1/4 oz. You can use yellow saffron rice if you can find. it anymore - not as good but better than none because without it is not paella.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2012

      Above and beyond excellent. So easy to throw whatever you want in there, and it turns out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      Awesome meal! I did have to add about 5 minutes to the oven time to get the rice done (I used a medium-grain Calrose rise), but other than that the only change we made was to omit the asparagus. We will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      WOW - this was simply fantastic. After toting my large paella pan back from Spain (5 years ago!), I never used it :(. I was extremely excited to make an authentic paella in it. With my only sub being chicken breast and no aparagus, I did everything else. It was really easy to prepare and cook. I did have to bake it a bit longer than 10 min - more like 20-30min. My husband and I devoured this through the whole week. I'm making it again today and will definitely have to freeze some for a FFY night. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This is so good. I made this last night for my family and we enjoyed this very much. I made this in an extra large cast iron skillet. I didn't have the chicken thighs so I used breasts. I also couldn't find saffron :( , but I'm on the lookout for next time. (I'm thinking I will order online) We loved this. Even with the changes this was a great dish. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      My family really enjoyed this recipe. I did make some alterations based on the ingredients I had on hand. I did not have saffron and I used italian sausage and it still came out great. Also used smoked paprika instead of sweet. I will def make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      This was very nice. I'd never made paella before (or tasted it, to be truthful) and I'd never cooked with saffron but I splurged on some and this looked like a good recipe to try out. My husband wasn't sold on the saffron taste -- said it was a bit bitter for him -- but that it mellowed down in the leftovers the next day. Personally I loved the saffron taste. I did make a couple changes. Since we don't eat pork, I used some turkey hot italian sausage links and I cooked the paella completely on the stove top because I had bread baking in the oven. I don't like bell peppers but since the red would look nice and I know my husband likes them, I put them in. They really added a nice taste and I'm glad I used them (but if you tell anyone I said that about bell peppers, I'll deny it.) This is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      Don't make this without a trial run. Cooked this in the oven an extra 5 min. since the shrimp weren't done. Some of the arborio rice came out overcooked and mushy, while some was undercooked and chalky. Next time I'll make it entirely on the stove so it can be stirred frequently and tested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      Hate it when people change recipes but I had to make due with what I had. Used chicken breast cut in about 1 inch chunks and slightly cooked (no pink outside) during the initial browning. Followed recipe exactly but substituted about 1/2 bag of fresh baby spinach, chopped, for the asparagus. Will make again for sure. Thank you for a good recipe that was relatively easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      YUM!! Thank you very much for this delicious recipe. I was looking for a paella recipe to honour the memory of a great friend who cooked this for us, adding tonnes of love. I can't tell you how much it means that 'I got it right' first go, and on her birthday too... I made the recipe exactly as described and it was perfect - we had nine people for dinner and all raved about it. Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      Yummy Yummy Yummy! This is my first time cooking paella and it was a total success. I used 2 spicy chorizo links instead of the 1 link suggested. I also used Vigo yellow rice with saffron so I didn't need to buy the threads. The rice took a little longer to cook, but just stay patient! My husband took the leftovers to work the next day and all of his colleagues wanted the recipe! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Thanks for this recipe. It was very simple and very delicious. I made a few changes, for example used andouille sausage, deglazed the pot after frying the onions with dry white wine, and used red pepper flakes. Do not omit the saffron, it is the secret ingredient. You can get it a decent price at Indian grocery stores or Trader Joes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This is the easiest and best paella recipe I've found. I use Mahatma Saffron Yellow Seasonings Long grain Rice packet plus some regular white long grain rice to equal 1 1/2 cups. This way I can omit the expensive saffron threads. I then omit the salt, because Mahatma puts plenty of salt in their packets. I use low sodium chicken broth and a shredded rotisserie chicken. I omit the sausage (just personal preference). Thank you for posting this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

    • on December 15, 2008

      This is probably one of the yummiest tastiest things I've made. I absolutely love it!! I can't buy Portuguese chourico here, so I used andouille instead. I'm getting hungry just thinking about it. mmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portuguese Paella

    Serving Size: 1 (368 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.6
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    13%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 105.6 mg
    35%
    Sodium 1040.5 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.6 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 23.4 g
    46%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Portuguese chourico

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes