Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portuguese Kale Soup (With Veggie Version) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portuguese Kale Soup (With Veggie Version)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2011

      What a great soup! It's very hearty and more than delicious. I used spicy Italian sausage and did everything else the same. Anything that starts with 1/2 cup of garlic has to be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      i was looking to recreate a vegetarian version of my grandmother's kale soup. incidentally, she was also from fall river. this turned out great and was nearly what i remembered eating as a kid. i omitted the apple, used marsala wine, and substituted a large pinch of chipotle pepper flakes to make up for not using chourico. i also cooked one cup (dry) of elbow macaroni and added it at the end, since that's how my voa (grandmother) did it. :) thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      great soup but got a bit lost wth directionshad smoked andouille sausage so used that used no salt added tomatoes, so lower sodium thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      This really does cure what ails you, more than chicken soup, I think, especialy since it is a bit tangy and spicy. I have made this 3 times now with different substitutions based on what I had on hand. The best variation was using tomato puree instead of diced tomatoes, and using smoked sausage. I also have found that red or white wine both make good soup. I have been using water with a few teaspoons of chicken boullion. After I tried your recipe, I had intended to try one of the other recipes, but this one was so delicious and perfect, and I loved your directions (like I have a real expert grandma helping me), so I couldn't bring myself to even try another recipe. My husband is from Germany and I love the soups there and this one has that same old world depth of flavor that a quick cooked soup doesn't have. Also, my husband was afraid of Kale before he ate this soup, he expected it to be bitter, but there is none of that. (I don't ever taste kale as bitter, maybe I've been lucky) Great recipe. Thank you so much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      This was amazing!!! It had a very good flavor, and great spicing. for the stock, i used half chicken half beef just because that was what i had on hand and it still turned out wonderful. The apple was a nice addition to the stock. it made it slightly sweet, but very very subtly. I the only problem is that the recipe it doesn't say what to do with the can of tomatoes or the garlic. I added the garlic when i checked the taste before i added the kale. I left the tomatoes out because it when i tasted it, the flavor was already amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Thanks for the authentic recipe of your grandmothers! I'm blessed to live within driving distance of East Providence RI where I go to Gaipo's Market for their fresh chourico (pr. Shur-eez) sausage. I like the hot version, sometimes I add in linguica. I've never added sherry or wine to my kale soup and I'll be sure to try it on the next batch. I make huge batches of this soup because it is great fresh, and even better on the second or third day (if it isn't gone by then)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      Great, healthful soup that just begs for a hunk of hearty, crusty bread. I used some chicken chipotle sausage to cut down on the saturated fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      I found this recipe a year ago on Zaar, and have had it in constant rotation ever since. It tastes extremely authentic, on par with the best local haunts in Massachusetts. I prefer to use sherry, but the white wine works well also. A fine, Old World soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

    • on September 15, 2005

      My grandma is from Fall River as well...this sure brings back comfort and as you say cures all that ales...I dont think my gramma added apples...sounds delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2004

      apple and wine in kale soup!!! I am 60 years old and have cooked port. style all my life. I am ful-blooded portugese and these receipes are really off-the board!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portuguese Kale Soup (With Veggie Version)

    Serving Size: 1 (4187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 5266.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1256
    23%
    Total Fat 139.6 g
    214%
    Saturated Fat 50.6 g
    253%
    Cholesterol 299.6 mg
    99%
    Sodium 6413.4 mg
    267%
    Total Carbohydrate 511.1 g
    170%
    Dietary Fiber 81.5 g
    326%
    Sugars 81.9 g
    327%
    Protein 165.0 g
    330%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites