Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portuguese Kale Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portuguese Kale Soup

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2013

      Even though I couldn't find the linguica sausage, this turned out great. Spicy and flavorful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      This is the first year I've grown kale (or even tasted it). Tried this recipe first and loved it. Going to grow more now! Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      This is one of my favorite soups to make. I have made it now regularly and it keeps getting easier and better each time. I use cherizo instead of linguia. I also omit the beans. I sometimes to cut corners I have used frozen kale which works fine. I also add more red pepper as it is cold here in New Hampshire.Its a really yummy and inexpensive meal. I serve it with crusty bread. It freezes ok (except for the potatoes. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      I'm Portuguese from MA/RI and I've been making this soup for over 35 yrs and this recipe is the closest to mine but it's still VERY different. In all my life I've never heard of putting tomatoes in this soup, or using chicken broth like most of these other recipes suggest. Every place I've ever eaten it made it the way I do. It should be more like a stew than a soup and it takes HOURS to cook and ideally should be slow cooked or crock potted and eaten the 2nd day to allow the flavor to mature. There are NO spices added other than salt and pepper to taste. I prefer Chourico over Linguica because it's so much more spicy and flavorful. Linguica is kind of bland in my opinion. My family has always made this soup w/chourico and beef. I'm going to post my recipe right after I finish this review.

      For those of you who can't find Chourico and Linguica... I believe you can order it directly from Furtado's or Gaspar's. Anyone who lives in FL.... you can find Gaspar's at Publix. Sorry but there IS no substitute for Portuguese sausage because it's not really "sausage" which is made from ground meat. Chourico is made from chunks of meat and fat stuffed into a casing and is hard.... almost like salami. Spanish/Mexican Chorizo is NOT the same and tastes NOTHING like Chourico. Not even the same texture.

      This is supposed to be a very simple, minimal ingredient soup/stew.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      Clear five stars - a wonderful, delicious soup! I didn't use linguica sausage because I couldn't get it, but it was great with a similar sausage. This definitely will be a keeper!
      Made for January Warm-Ups in the Diabetes Forum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2014

      I just LOVE this recipe and make it a lot. Lately I've been experimenting with it a bit...I've never had access to the type of sausage listed for the recipe so i always use chorizo, and take it out of the casing and crumble. Since chorizo is already pretty spicy, usually don't add the additional red pepper. Tonight I added half a shredded rotisserie chicken, carrots, and used half beef and half chicken stock, which I think will give it a bit of a richer flavor. Thanks so much this is definitely one of my all-time faves!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Great soup. First time using the sausage and kale. It was a hit. Shared it with two other family households. The flavor was excellent. Added 1 lb of ground turkey with the sausage and onions. Also added mushrooms and chopped chipolote for more added spice. Didn't need to add salt. Loved that factor. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Excellent soup for using kale. All chopping was done by hand and soup was very easy to make. Thanks for sharing PaulaG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I've made this twice. First time I used hot polish and Italian sausage (is all I could find), Second I just sauteed chicken breast. Both times added half can of chipoltes along with sauce to spice it up, while using low or no salt added ingredients. It's great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      What a great recipe. We love it. This was also our 1st time using kale.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

    • on September 27, 2009

      Thanks so much for the fantastic recipe. This is a winter time staple in our home. We have had friends try it too and it's defintely a favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      This soup is very delicious and very filling. I used 1lb of Italian turkey sausage and 1lb turkey kelbasa instead of the linguica. I used regular russet potatoes as that's what I had on hand. I don't care for overcooked cabbage or kale so I added those the last 15 minutes of cooking. I used 6 cups of homemade stock and the soup was nice, thick, and hearty. I will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Simply delicious and authentic. I made it exactly as written, and was thrilled. I will be enjoying this many times in the future. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      DH was totally thrilled with this soup! He ate three bowls and even asked to take some for lunch the next day. It took a bit to find the linguica, but I perservered and eventually found it in one of our stores. I used spanish onion and smoked spanish paprika. We served it with portuguese white bread. Made for Las Mistico Magicos Sirenas of ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I have many a few versions of this soup. I like that fact that you get to add cabbage to this recipe. I really liked the cabbage addition. Thank You for another great Portuguese Kale Soup :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      This is a beautiful soup. I used chorizo (the only sausage I had on hand) and omitted the red pepper and paprika - plenty of that in the sausage. Also, I had turnip greens and no kale. The turnip greens were young and fresh and they blended wonderfully with the cabbage. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      Had nothing but praise from friends and co-workers. Best Portuguese Soup they have ever tasted. I added some Beef Shanks cooking with it and added just a touch to the flavor. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      I'm doing the low carb thing, so no bread or potatoes for me. I swapped black beans for red, chard instead of cabbage and chicken sausage instead of linguica. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      Wow! Another great version of this soup. I love the addition of the green cabbage and paprika. I can't wait to try this one too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portuguese Kale Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 240.5
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    14%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 4.3 mg
    1%
    Sodium 235.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 13.7 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    linguica sausage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites