31 Reviews

Even though I couldn't find the linguica sausage, this turned out great. Spicy and flavorful!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anacat January 18, 2013

This is the first year I've grown kale (or even tasted it). Tried this recipe first and loved it. Going to grow more now! Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullydog1975 August 07, 2013

This is one of my favorite soups to make. I have made it now regularly and it keeps getting easier and better each time. I use cherizo instead of linguia. I also omit the beans. I sometimes to cut corners I have used frozen kale which works fine. I also add more red pepper as it is cold here in New Hampshire.Its a really yummy and inexpensive meal. I serve it with crusty bread. It freezes ok (except for the potatoes. Thanks for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewEnglandCook February 10, 2013

I'm Portuguese from MA/RI and I've been making this soup for over 35 yrs and this recipe is the closest to mine but it's still VERY different. In all my life I've never heard of putting tomatoes in this soup, or using chicken broth like most of these other recipes suggest. Every place I've ever eaten it made it the way I do. It should be more like a stew than a soup and it takes HOURS to cook and ideally should be slow cooked or crock potted and eaten the 2nd day to allow the flavor to mature. There are NO spices added other than salt and pepper to taste. I prefer Chourico over Linguica because it's so much more spicy and flavorful. Linguica is kind of bland in my opinion. My family has always made this soup w/chourico and beef. I'm going to post my recipe right after I finish this review.

For those of you who can't find Chourico and Linguica... I believe you can order it directly from Furtado's or Gaspar's. Anyone who lives in FL.... you can find Gaspar's at Publix. Sorry but there IS no substitute for Portuguese sausage because it's not really "sausage" which is made from ground meat. Chourico is made from chunks of meat and fat stuffed into a casing and is hard.... almost like salami. Spanish/Mexican Chorizo is NOT the same and tastes NOTHING like Chourico. Not even the same texture.

This is supposed to be a very simple, minimal ingredient soup/stew.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaxgal618 March 19, 2011

Clear five stars - a wonderful, delicious soup! I didn't use linguica sausage because I couldn't get it, but it was great with a similar sausage. This definitely will be a keeper!
Made for January Warm-Ups in the Diabetes Forum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany January 26, 2011

Really liked this stoup. Loved how thick and nice it was. Cut my kale small so was easy to eat. I added orzo rather than potatoes and spicy pork sausage. Yumm....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 29, 2014

I just LOVE this recipe and make it a lot. Lately I've been experimenting with it a bit...I've never had access to the type of sausage listed for the recipe so i always use chorizo, and take it out of the casing and crumble. Since chorizo is already pretty spicy, usually don't add the additional red pepper. Tonight I added half a shredded rotisserie chicken, carrots, and used half beef and half chicken stock, which I think will give it a bit of a richer flavor. Thanks so much this is definitely one of my all-time faves!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizzyGirl09 September 16, 2014

Great soup. First time using the sausage and kale. It was a hit. Shared it with two other family households. The flavor was excellent. Added 1 lb of ground turkey with the sausage and onions. Also added mushrooms and chopped chipolote for more added spice. Didn't need to add salt. Loved that factor. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ortzrn January 13, 2010

Excellent soup for using kale. All chopping was done by hand and soup was very easy to make. Thanks for sharing PaulaG!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinshinomori December 26, 2009

I've made this twice. First time I used hot polish and Italian sausage (is all I could find), Second I just sauteed chicken breast. Both times added half can of chipoltes along with sauce to spice it up, while using low or no salt added ingredients. It's great!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
photon72 December 16, 2009
Portuguese Kale Soup