Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portuguese Fried Potatoes / Batas a Portuguesa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portuguese Fried Potatoes / Batas a Portuguesa

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2011

      The correct spelling is Batatas à Portuguêsa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      Great comfort food!!! This reminded me of when I was growing up and my mother used to make potatoes like this along with smoked sausage and a salad or green beans. It never took this long to make the potatoes as it does with your method and they still weren't burnt, so I think this is a great recipe but would up the cooking temperature and less time to get them on the table. The only change I made was to not use the parsley, as I don't find it adds a lot of flavor but does add to the eye for color! Thanks for a trip down memory lane!! Made for PRMR!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Very simple and very tasty...I've made these twice in the last few days..once on the stove inside and the second time on the side burner of my barbecue outside.
      Both times produced lovely results..that everybody enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      Hi! I just want to help by saying that it's spelled "Batatas à Portuguesa".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      Absolutely delish! They took about 45 minutes for me, but they were scrumptious and all gone! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      Loved the crispy crust on the Yukon potatoes. I took my time and they turned out great. Served with Rosemary and Lemon Pork Stew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      To die for! Try adding a bit of Mrs. Dash-Org blend, Cayenne Pepper, Garlic/Onion Salt and Bacon Bits!!! OMG! Also, use Yukon Golds, or reds for the best flavor. Great Post-TY! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Perfect fried potatoes! I drained the potatoes on paper towels before adding the salt, pepper and parsley. Delicious side dish for any meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I followed the directions and used potatoes recommended for roasting but after 50 minutes there was little to no colour and some were raw cranked up the heat and after 15 minutes they were a nice golden colour, drained on paper towel and some seemed very oily, then transfered to a bowl and sprinkled with salt and pepper and the parsley. Overall o'kay but if trying again I think I would dice the potatoes rather than slice to fit into the pan better. Thank you Kiwidutch, made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Had to try these because I'd never tried fried potatoes using this technique. I made this for myself as a snack, so used 2 med russets and my mandolin slicer. I used just over 1/8 cup olive oil and just under 1/8 cup of Smart Balance with Flaxseed Oil spread. I cooked mine on low for 40 mins (checking every 15 and then the last 10, even flipping them a bit). My potatoes got super crispy and nicely browned, but no burnt bits! They were also tender. A few slices reminded me of potato chips because they were smaller than other slices and got very fried. Yummy! All i had was dried parsley, so I used about 1tbsp dried. I also drained these on paper towels for a min before tossing with s&p and the dried parsley. I hope my pics do this recipe justice. This technique is a real winner in my book, and this recipe will be made again. :) Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game. Thanks for sharing KD! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      These were simple and yet so delicious! Used dried parsley here. It was perfect served with Chicken Piccata. Thanks, kiwidutch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Nothing left of these after dinner and I didn't even get them crunchy! I used Amandine potatoes which don't need to be peeled and have a slightly sweet taste. They have a wonderful texture when roasted or for in salads. Because of the sweetish flavour, I used an oil infused with chili peppers. I also snuck in a Tbsp of cilantro in with the parsley. Next time I might add a bit of garlic salt and turn the heat up at the end to get them crunchy. Yummy pototoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      I love thin, crispy potatoes, so this was great! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      these turned out beautifully, golden brown and oh so good. Once they were cooked I squeezed a 1/4 of a lemon over them as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portuguese Fried Potatoes / Batas a Portuguesa

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 368.6
     
    Calories from Fat 228
    61%
    Total Fat 25.3 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 405.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes