14 Reviews

The correct spelling is Batatas à Portuguêsa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rusticgirl February 07, 2011

Great comfort food!!! This reminded me of when I was growing up and my mother used to make potatoes like this along with smoked sausage and a salad or green beans. It never took this long to make the potatoes as it does with your method and they still weren't burnt, so I think this is a great recipe but would up the cooking temperature and less time to get them on the table. The only change I made was to not use the parsley, as I don't find it adds a lot of flavor but does add to the eye for color! Thanks for a trip down memory lane!! Made for PRMR!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 October 16, 2010

Very simple and very tasty...I've made these twice in the last few days..once on the stove inside and the second time on the side burner of my barbecue outside.
Both times produced lovely results..that everybody enjoyed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo October 11, 2010

Hi! I just want to help by saying that it's spelled "Batatas à Portuguesa".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anusca94 September 25, 2010

Absolutely delish! They took about 45 minutes for me, but they were scrumptious and all gone! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady September 24, 2010

To die for! Try adding a bit of Mrs. Dash-Org blend, Cayenne Pepper, Garlic/Onion Salt and Bacon Bits!!! OMG! Also, use Yukon Golds, or reds for the best flavor. Great Post-TY! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tallie in Pacific NW March 01, 2009

Perfect fried potatoes! I drained the potatoes on paper towels before adding the salt, pepper and parsley. Delicious side dish for any meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan November 10, 2008

I followed the directions and used potatoes recommended for roasting but after 50 minutes there was little to no colour and some were raw cranked up the heat and after 15 minutes they were a nice golden colour, drained on paper towel and some seemed very oily, then transfered to a bowl and sprinkled with salt and pepper and the parsley. Overall o'kay but if trying again I think I would dice the potatoes rather than slice to fit into the pan better. Thank you Kiwidutch, made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat November 10, 2008

Had to try these because I'd never tried fried potatoes using this technique. I made this for myself as a snack, so used 2 med russets and my mandolin slicer. I used just over 1/8 cup olive oil and just under 1/8 cup of Smart Balance with Flaxseed Oil spread. I cooked mine on low for 40 mins (checking every 15 and then the last 10, even flipping them a bit). My potatoes got super crispy and nicely browned, but no burnt bits! They were also tender. A few slices reminded me of potato chips because they were smaller than other slices and got very fried. Yummy! All i had was dried parsley, so I used about 1tbsp dried. I also drained these on paper towels for a min before tossing with s&p and the dried parsley. I hope my pics do this recipe justice. This technique is a real winner in my book, and this recipe will be made again. :) Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game. Thanks for sharing KD! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage June 09, 2008
Portuguese Fried Potatoes / Batas a Portuguesa