Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portuguese Corn Bread for the Bread Machine (Broa) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portuguese Corn Bread for the Bread Machine (Broa)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 08, 2012

      This is absolutely delicious! It's also very versatile -- spectacular with butter and marmalade, but also a perfect accompaniment to soup and hearty bean spread. I was a bit surprised when it first came out of the machine - it's dense (and therefore small), so I thought I'd measured something wrong. The texture is firm and chewy, very different from American-style cornbreads which are quick breads, not yeast-based. But the flavor knocked my socks off, and it keeps better than American cornbreads do, too. I had 2 friends over for dinner and the 3 of us gobbled it all up in about 2 seconds flat, and I found myself mixing up another 2-pound (rather than the original 1-pound) loaf for my bread machine within an hour of the first one being done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      Made as written. We liked the cornbread. It was nice to just put it in the ABM and do other things I needed. It had a nice rise, was firm type of bread. Would be nice with bean soups, chili, even stews. Thank You, Made for ZWT8

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      i forgot the sugar and needed to add 1/2 cup flour but this is great. I love it! I have been searching for a recipe using corn flour AND my bread machine for quite some time now. Thank you so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      I made some homemade jam, and made this bread to go with it. Wow, really tasty! I'm sure I'll be using this recipe to accompany homemade soups and stews this Fall. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      I'm sorry, but we weren't terribly fond of this. I find that soaking the cornmeal in liquid before adding it makes a very wet dough and a heavy, dense loaf. This would probably have turned out better with a different technique. I may retry this adding the cornmeal with the flour. Thanks for posting! Made for the Lively Lemon Lovelies, ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Love it! I've never had yeasted corn bread before and this is great stuff! Thanks for helping me test out my new Zojirushi bread machine! I used it on dough, and baked it in the oven at 350 for 40 minutes. This is perfect bread for sopping up a good tomato chickpea stew! Thanks, mersaydees! Made for Veggie Swap #30 - January 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      Good stuff. I had to double the sugar as we like our cornbread a bit sweeter. Used the stand mixer and baked at 350 for 35 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      I had never made corn bread before and this was a great introduction :) The bread was quite fluffy yet dense. We ate it with Lighter Cajun Red Beans and Rice which was a lovely combination. Thanks for the recipe Mersaydees! Made for Veggie Swap 11

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portuguese Corn Bread for the Bread Machine (Broa)

    Serving Size: 1 (638 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1295.4
     
    Calories from Fat 181
    14%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1802.8 mg
    75%
    Total Carbohydrate 247.7 g
    82%
    Dietary Fiber 15.5 g
    62%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 31.7 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes