8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A very pretty dish. Rather bland, I think it needed a bit of spicing up. I think if we make it again we might use a spiced canned tomatoes like Italian tomatoes or Rotel. I didnt have a terra cotta dish so I used corning ware. I think I should have reduced the liquid as it was very soupy (the terra cotta would have allowed for more evaporation.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyteglori August 25, 2011

We enjoyed this very easy-to-make fish dish served with Biggest Loser White House Salad. I didn't have the special terra cotta dish, so used a regular baking dish covered with foil. I also subbed cat fish for the cod! Very good! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ May 12, 2010

Wonderful flavors, especially when made with very thick cut cod Enjoy some great fish dishes when we live in the Algarve (6 months of the year). A terra cotta dish is a good investment. Have also had this, or similar, made with salt cod.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 September 21, 2009

We let this cook for a long time. We had some thick cuts of cod; maybe an additional 20 minutes. We enjoyed the dish; the onion in particular stood out. We'd recommend going heavy on the onion! Made for ZWT5,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny May 22, 2009

I'm in agreement with the others, this was terrific. Lovely subtle flavour, reminded us of time spent in Portugal. Just make sure you have some crusty bread to go with! As for the cooking time, I found I needed more than an hour, more like 1 hr 20, for all of the potatoes to be cooked. (Having said that, I may have added too many potatoes). Can't wait to make this again! Made for ZWT5 (Team Cooks with Dirty Faces).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner May 20, 2009

Years ago I had a similar recipe but lost it--this one may even be a bit better! Great flavor, looks lovely too! Perfect dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TinyBubbles May 19, 2009

I agree with Iceland and her husband...this is a beautiful dish! When it came out of the oven, my husband said it looks like something you would get in a 4 star restaurant, so it gets five stars from us! Fabulous flavors! All ingredients work well together!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandagirl May 15, 2009

DH said: This is the most beatiful and best meal you cooked since a long time. It was new and fresh and as I believe I cook pretty good every time, this is 5 stars straight. Enjoyed for ZWT5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iceland May 12, 2009
Portuguese Cod Casserole