Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portsmouth Old City Jail Hot Dogs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portsmouth Old City Jail Hot Dogs

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2012

      Great story! When I was a kid I thought this was how everyone ate hot dogs! To this day I do not like mustard on my hot dogs, though I do prefer a bun over white bread :) Thanks for the stroll done memory lane.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      My husband and I are from Portsmouth!! Thanks for the interesting story, I had fun reading it...and the hot dogs ain't that bad either ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2014

      WOW! I love the story, i dont like mustard either but i must put on the ketchup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      Love this story! I remember this how my grandpa ate them when he just wanted something quick. Not to bad for fast lunch! Thanks for reminding me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      Growing up in a large family with very little money...we ate these alot when my dad was cooking and my mom was working. Love your story too, makes these even more special. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      This is how my mom used to make us hot dogs. I made these for lunch and my boys complained that there wasn't any ketchup. I still enjoy them boiled and plain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      Loved the story, love these "dogs". Absolutely outstanding! I eat them still like this to this day, although I like finely chopped (minced) onion, too. But the bread (white) is a have-to! Keep writing your stories, their great! Thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

    • on January 13, 2009

      I loved this story...can't say the same about boiled hotdogs though! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      great story:) nothing beats a good old hot dog when you are in a hurry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      Always loved plain dogs (though as a Chicago native, I love them fully loaded too) but the five stars here is really for the story. That was pretty cool. Thanks for sharing :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      I really enjoyed your story. Thanks for the posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      I lived off of these hot dogs when i was younger. My mom would buy the Hatfield jumbo pack (something like 30 hotdogs). It had a distinct yellow packaging and i'd have to chisel off the amount i'd want from the frozen mass of hotdogs. I'd boil em like you said bone man, Then slap them around a piece of local Stroehmann white bread. Usually i'd add some sort of condiment. saurkraut, relish, ketchup, mustard, mayonaise (the best in my book). The only problem was if you waited too long the relish or the saurkraut would soak through the white bread. so i'd have to eat fast if it was a day i used kraut or relish. Ahh the good old days. Thanks for the story also boneman, it was enteraining.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Awesome story. My bread and hotdogs is even easier. I love them ice cold, straight out of the package with soft white bread. Yum. If they are cold, they don't even need mayo or mustard. Key here though is a good brand of hotdogs--Ball Park is my favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      I gave this 4 stars. I loved hot dogs on bread when I was kid. I remember being so excited when mom said we was having hot dogs for dinner. When I was a kid things were super tight for my single mom of 3. We had alot of nights of hot dogs and bread (of course we could afford ketchup & mustard)but there were those rare night we could afford buns which I so looked forward to as they are just so much better then just bread. I had my fill of bread and hot dogs when I was a kid so now I WON'T eat them on bread buns only for me. Thanks for the trip down memory lane and thanks for posting a good recipe. Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      I love these on a rare occasion. Ranks right up there with balogna slapped between two pieces of REALLY soft white bread, and a little mustard if you got it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      5 stars for that great story...AND bringing back some great memories!!! No... I was never in the Portsmouth Old City Jail (LOL) but when I was a kid, my parents were very frugal. We didn't get any gourmet hot dogs or anything like that... plus my parents are Thai and didn't eat a lot of baked goods, but we always had plenty of cheap white bread around for us kids to make sandwiches to take to school for lunch. So, being as frugal as they were, they would just wrap a piece of bread around a hot dog and let us have at it! We were lukcy if there were a couple of stray packets of mustard or ketchup laying around the house to dress them up with!!! Sometimes, when I crave a quick hot dog, I will nuke it quickly and slap it on a piece of bread... the looks my BF gave me after he saw me eating the first one was priceless!!! Thanks again Bone Man!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portsmouth Old City Jail Hot Dogs

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 430.0
     
    Calories from Fat 254
    59%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 10.8 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 47.7 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1281.5 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 13.9 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites