Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portillo's Italian Beef Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portillo's Italian Beef Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2010

      I thought this recipe was a little too salty, and while it smelled almost exactly like Portillo's it wasn't the same taste. A lot has to do with the texture of the meat. True Chicago Italian beef is thinly sliced, and there's nothing I can do at home to replicate that.

      However, I had an idea. I substituted the beef roast with a boneless turkey breast. Subbed the water with low sodium chicken broth, omitted the salt, and added a little crushed red pepper. All the rest of the recipe remained the same, and I was left with one of the best sandwiches I've ever encountered. Sure, it's not Chicago Italian beef, but, it is a healthy cousin and a treat for those of you looking for a different twist on turkey breast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      Wow. Grew up around Chicago, and was spoiled with good italian beefs. Portillo's beef isn't the end-all-be-all, but pretty darn good. I tried this recipe twice, and was truly disappointed. I had to remake the jus and improvise to find something passable. The salt is way too high, but the real killer is the amount of oregano. Too much leads to serious bitterness, and this recipe has way too much. To rectify, try this: 3 cups water, 1 cube beef bullion, one sprig FRESH oregano, 1 sprig FRESH basil, 2 cloves of fresh garlic and about a teaspoon of onion salt. Forget the bay leaf and parsley.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      This recipe is allright but not even close to Portillo's Italian Beef.But is still tasty.I would prefer the thin sliced meat as opposed to this shredded recipe.The italian salad dressing part was confusing as they do not make that size package.I don't believe Portillo's beef can be copied. But don't stop trying !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2014

      I'm a native Chicagoan living in Texas. We make this for Sunday family dinner about once a month. We love the recipe. The beef needs to be sliced thin for that authentic taste. My husband had the genius idea to run the cooked beef through the food processor. You have to trim the beef to fit in the slicing shoot, but it works great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2012

      Ok I am going to try this tomorrow for dinner. Except I bought Vienna Italian beef because it was on sale at the grocery store this week, and I love portillos as well. So we will see how the juice turns out with the thinly slices meat :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      This certainly cures the craving for Portillo's! It's just so hard to find the right type of bread :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Addendum to previous review. Will delete salt next time and use good seasons dressing only as it makes the beef salty enough. Also low sodium beef broth instead of water. Other spices as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      My new mother in law made this for me and my husbands wedding party and it was delicious. Everyone loved it. She did not add the salt though because of the high amount of salt and the dressing mix and the onion salt. She found this recipe at allrecipes.com and it was called slow cooker Italian beef for sandwiches. Thanks so much for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      3/26/01: I wanted to add to my review, since this recipe a fast and easy way to make a type of Italian Beef, although really not like Portillos. Taking out the beef and letting it sit on a plate or cutting board until cool is a most if you want authentic thin-sliced beef, rather than shredded. After slicing, do not put into the hot jus until ready to serve, or it will get tough if it continues cooking IMO. By far, however, shredding is the faster way of having quick and easy sandwiches. I do not add salt at all because of salty dressing packets. You can always mix in garlic salt after everything is done if you need it. If you don't like somewhat-hot giardinara relish or pepperocini peppers on the sandwiches as is usually done in Chicago, sauteed green peppers are are also used. I make a time-consuming version of authentic Chicago Italian Beef , but this by far is a lot less hassle and gives you a taste of Chicago.. 2/2/10: Over time, I have made this as directed, which was good. I then modified recipe by omitting the salts, using 2 envelopes of ranch dressing, and added 1 can unsalted beef broth and water to make 3 cups. As others did, I put in crockpot for 10 hours then placed beef on a plate to firm up and sliced beef thinly before returning to jus and serving. Portillos also serves a spicy jarred giardinara relish on the side to serve with sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      We love Portillo's beef sandwiches, so I was anxious to try this recipe. I do not think this tasted like theirs but it is equally as good and possibly even slightly better. Thanks for a really delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      I don't like shredded beef so made this but used my electric knife to thinly slice the meat. Worked great and tasted even better! This is at the top of my sandwich recipes! Don

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      This is as close to Portillo's that you are going to get! My family moved to the south from Chicago and have missed Portillo's and this recipe has been great! I admit it's not Portillo's but it is close! I used a 3 or 4 lb. rump roast and 2 packages of Italian seasoning. I also cooked in the crockpot for 10 hours and turned it half way through the cooking process. We also cut it has thin as possiable and adding it back in the juice before serving. My sure to use fresh bread, we used Cuban and it was great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      This is by no means Portillo's, but it is very good and my family loves that I can make an Italian beef that has taste. I prefer the sliced rather than shredded. I am wondering if you let it cool out of the liquid, if you could then slice it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      I liked this recipe, but like many others I prefer thinly sliced meat over the shredded. It makes it more like portillos. Deli roast beef works perfect. Also to add a little more flavor I add in two beef bullion cubes. Enjoy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2005

      Thank you so much for this delicious roast! I only made one slight change as I added a package of dry brown gravy mix to the spices. I also shredded the roast after about 8 hours in the crockpot and let it sit and soak in the juices for about another hour while I was preparing Basic Machine French Bread #46501 (with Miss Diggy's suggestions). We had homemade tasty french bread with phenomenal beef, sauteed peppers and onions and shredded mozzerella to top it off. Very good! This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      This was a moist and super flavorful dish. I made a toasted garlic bread out of a loaf of french bread and served the beef sandwiches on this. This is a definite repeat meal that smells awesome while cooking and is super easy. Thank you for sharing Marie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      My husband begged me to try this recipe. He loves pulled pork and was excited to try pulled beef. The first time I made it I made it exactly as the recipe stated. The smell of the herbs and spices was wonderful but you couldn't really taste them. So I made it again yesterday this time I used all fresh herbs, onions, garlic and 2 packages of the salad dressing and it tasted wonderful. Thanks for a great crockpot recipe and for a happy husband!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2004

      I don't eat beef, but my guests loved this. After I shredded the beef ( I used a sirloin tip roast), I made a roux and added it to the juices, before putting the beef back in. It thickened up a little which made it easier to put in sandwiches. I made the day ahead in a slow cooker for 10 hours on low, then reheated the day of the party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2004

      This is a very good slow cooker recipe. I let it go the full 12 hours on low. I used a 2 1/2 pound roast. There is lots of juice to keep the meat moist when you serve it. For some reason, whenever I do roasts in the slow cooker, I end up putting barbeque sauce on the meat when serving it. It tastes really good that way, also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2004

      sounds good although Chicagoans beleive shredded beef is best for BBQ. It may be more authentic sliced thinly. Thanks for the recipe, I have never attempted to make my own itailian beef so this is one to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portillo's Italian Beef Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 452.0
     
    Calories from Fat 248
    54%
    Total Fat 27.5 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 10.8 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 170.1 mg
    56%
    Sodium 355.6 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 47.1 g
    94%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Italian salad dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes