12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We found this a little bland for our taste. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. April 22, 2010

This was easy, and pretty good but a little bland. It also got kind of watery when you cut into it...which was weird. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Cook Therefore I Am May 06, 2008

I will double the spices next time. But great recipe. Husband loved it a lot too. Presentation was great too. And so simple to make. Will definetly make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
webcontacts November 11, 2007

We really enjoyed the flavor of this "relleno"! A great and easy way to eat a portabello (one of my favorite things in the world). My only complaint is that it wasn't quite hot enough all the way through; 10-15 minutes would be a better amount of time to cook for the first round, at least for us. Otherwise, fantastic and something we'll make many times over. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 November 03, 2007

I followed the recipe exactly and it looked a lot like the photos, but the flavor just was NOT for us. Neither Gato nor I enjoyed it. It seemed like a mushroom (which we love) stuffed with guacamole (which we love), but somehow the textures and the flavors didn't seem to compliment each other. It was worth a try and helped me use things up out of the pantry/refri. Thanks, anyway!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tia Mouse August 15, 2007

I made this for DH the other night (he loves portabello mushrooms), and he really enjoyed them. For the breadcrumbs, I used some packaged tortilla crumbs that I had bought not too long ago, and I think the corn flavor complemented everything nicely. I liked how quick this was to toss together, too. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess May 31, 2006

This was really tasty and very easy to make. I used lime juice instead of lemon, garlic powder instead of fresh garlic, and pepper jack cheese instead of mozzarella. It is essentially hot guacamole in a big mushroom. It sounds odd, but it was very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Woodward April 01, 2006

I realy loved this recipe. It was hearty without being overfilling, and very easy to make. I substituted pepper jack cheese for the mozzerella, and it gave an extra kick and came out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fancyunderpants November 17, 2005
Portabella Relleno