Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portabella Pizzettas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portabella Pizzettas

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2002

      DELICIOUS...we used really big fresh portobello mushrooms that DH bought from the market. Served them with steaks and I ate just the mushrooms, got so full couldn't eat my steak. Great recipe and rather simple too. Thanks, these were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2002

      These were INCREDIBLE!!!! I used fresh spinach instead of frozen, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I LOOOOOOVE portobello mushrooms and I have been trying not to eat any carbs for dinner or lunch so this was perfect....funny I never thought of replacing *bread* with mushrooms! Thanks so much for posting!! I'll make these quite often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      Delicious! I made this as a side dish, used fresh spinach, chopped, and just a shot of our friend Peri-Peri (hot sauce). Definately a do again, Thanks for another winnerDerf -- posted Jun 12, 2002, 3 members found this helpful Added comments Yum-served for brunch with toad in the hole eggs - I added 1 clove crushed garlic to each Thanks for my second time round enjoyment

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      These were something different and very tasty. I used nice fresh tomatoes from my garden. I thought the pizzelles were crying out for some garlic, so seasoned mine at the table with garlic salt. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2003

      Very good! The grocery store was out of whole portabello 'shrooms, so I bought the fresh sliced version and grouped them all together on the pan....same thing, just a little smaller...let's just say that there were no complaints! I thought these were good, but like Bill mentioned above, they were even better with a little garlic salt sprinkled on top. Thanks for the low-carb recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2004

      I made these using baby bella mushrooms, instead of the large portabellos. They were very good. I also used fresh spinach instead of the frozen. I sprinkled coarse sea salt over the mushrooms just prior to baking. The salt made the fresh flavors pop. Very delicious. I plan on preparing this with large portabellos and taking it to be re-warmed for my lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      I wanted to use portobello mushrooms, but at $6.50 lb, I just couldn't justify it, so I decided to try it with white mushrooms. I also used fresh spinach & parmesan. I made two each to serve as an "amuse bouche" prior to dinner. They were quickly gobbled & everyone wanted more & I was asked for the recipe. I will be making this recipe again. I made them up ahead & put them in the oven just prior to wanting to serve them. Thanks for a great recipe, next time I'll make them exactly as written!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      This was a wonderful dish!! Very easy to prepare, healthy, versatile and delicious. Ask my dog, she stole one off the table! Ha! Next time I am going to add some artichoke.... and keep it a bit further away from little paws :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      This was a great recipe for a pizza lover. The portobello was meaty and delicious. I drained my spinach and just put the cheese on top with dried herbs. The flavors were fantastic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      These are very yummy. Instead of frozen spinach I sauteed fresh spinach with garlic. Will make again. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      These were delish! I used fresh parmesan instead of mozzarella, quite a bit of garlic, and added a thin slic gouda on top. We shared a piece of chicken but these filled us up on their own. I'll be making these often. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      Wow! I thought this would be good, but I didn't expect it to be as good as it was. YUM! I sliced the tomato instead of dicing, and laid the slice on top and it looked adorable on top of being delictable! I love attractive, delicious food!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2004

      I'm trying to convert to a vegetarian lifestyle and have been experimenting with different recipes. This was awesome! My skeptical hubby raved about these! The only thing I did differently was to use a mixture of Monterey Jack, Parmesan and Mozarella. YUM! Thanks Derf!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      Oh wow! Where has this recipe been all my life?! I knew I wanted to try it just as a meal for myself and scaled it down for using one large cap, eyeballing the ingredients as I went. The only changes I made was to use a little olive oil on the inside , instead of butter and topped that with minced garlic, topped as directed adding some parmesan just before broiling. So, so good! This goes right in the keeper file and will be a regular on our menu. Thanks so much for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2013

      Perfect afternoon lunch. My husband and I have been trying to adapt to a more vegetarian lifestyle. I was wondering what to do with the remaining 2 large portobello mushrooms. Found this recipe...adjusted it a little because I'm a lazy cook and voila!! DELICIOSO! My adjustments were...olive oil instead of butter, fresh spinach instead of frozen, italian seasoning, and already shredded cheese mixture. I started with the oil, then sprinkled cheese, sprinkled seasoning, sprinkled spinach, a bit more cheese, more seasoning, then the tomatoes. NUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      I was scared to try these because as much as I love portabellas, every recipe I've tried before have left me very disappointed. Not these! They were delicious and my guests all loved them! I used fresh spinach and fresh mozarella slices rather than shredded, and I agree with Bill Nilsen - they could use some garlic. Next time I make them, I'll add some minced garlic and maybe some onion. Overall great recipe though. I'm so glad I finally have a portabella recipe I love!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

    • on April 01, 2012

      Delicious and healthy! I used fresh spinach and a mixture of cheddar and asiago cheese and skipped brushing them with butter. This recipe is very forgiving and you can change topping/ingredients and it still tastes amazing. Great idea, the possibilities are endless with this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      This is a great base recipe - could use almost anything as the filler!

      I left mine in the oven a little too long, so the greased sheet had a negative effect on having the mushrooms go slimey, but once it was on the plate and served up, it was great! I only made these for the main meal, and it was very filling. The mixture of the spinach and the melted mozzarella was great!

      Would even suggest making this a version of bruschetta, with mushrooms as the base instead of crisp bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      Absolutely AMAZING! I have made these two days in a row now. So much flavour.
      I did not add the basil and instead added fresh garlic (I think it makes the difference). Seriously, words cannot describe the flavours in this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portabella Pizzettas

    Serving Size: 1 (1594 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 42.4
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    57%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 8.0 mg
    2%
    Sodium 61.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites