15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were so simple so prepare to be rewarded with a whole lot of flavor! I sprayed them with pam & grilled them on my George Foreman Grill cuz it was rainy outside, about five minutes total. I used my sunday gravy that I had leftover & made as directed. Fabulous recipe, Sharon123. Will most definitely be repeating this one.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janni402 June 04, 2008

This is a wonderful recipe!! I grilled my portabella mushrooms then topped them with a homemade roasted vegetable sauce. Topped with colby/chedder cheese (all I had, shocking!) and no butter. Anyway - very delicious and will definately make again!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel May 25, 2008

This was really good! I will definitely make again just on the fact of how easy they were to make. I took someone's advice and used my George Foreman to cook the mushrooms up. I only had a colby/monterey jack blend, but it was still good. I can't wait to try it with mozzarella. It really would be better. We ate ours with angel hair pasta. The sauce alone wasn't really enough to cover all the pasta, but it doesn't need much more, maybe another half cup or three quarters cup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enestvmel July 29, 2010

These are great! I'm not a big mushroom fan, but I've started learning to like portabella caps, and this was a great addition to my collection. I omitted the salt and butter and used homemade marinara sauce. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews March 06, 2009

Wonderful way to eat those giant portabella caps! It's great by itself but I think these would also be nice over some spaghetti. Thanx for sharing! I may do this with eggplant slices as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* August 03, 2008

Hol-y Cow. This is probably the best recipe I've tried on 'Zaar. Given the chance I'd easily give it 10 stars. I made it as directed with only one change, I added about two spoonfuls of breadcrumbs on top of the caps before adding the mozzarella. These were so good my DH was actually trying to trick me out of the rest of my dinner so he could eat it. Thank you so much for sharing this, it'll become a regular addition to our menu. - Made alongside Kittencal's Parmesan Orzo

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heirloom June 25, 2008

Fabulous recipe! Sure wish I would have doubled the recipe as I could live off these things.... I plan on making these alot I too did not use any butter as I thought they were perfect as is....yummmm

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc May 09, 2008

This is an amazing recipe and so simple! I did not add butter to the top as another review stated it is not needed and the cheese still melted nicely. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenChefTC May 06, 2008

We grilled the portobello on the barbecue. I didn't add the butter on top of the cheeses. I think that's obtional unless you want to add more fat LOL That was very good. Thanks Sharon. Made for Zaar Star Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 26, 2008

We had this for dinner tonight and while we enjoyed it we all thought that it was missing something. My husband suggested that I use a stronger or more aged cheese rather than mozzarella next time. I omitted the butter, salt and pepper because the seasonings in my home made sauce were perfect. I cooked the caps on the BBQ. Overall we were pleased with this recipe so thanks for posting. UPDATE: I have made these several times now with extra old cheddar instead of the mozzarella and everyone LOVED them and I will make them that way now. This recipe has now become a family favourite and we eat it weekly. Thank you so much for posting Sharon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee October 08, 2010
Portabella Parmesan