Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portabella Mushroom With Spinach and Feta Lasagna (Vegetarian) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portabella Mushroom With Spinach and Feta Lasagna (Vegetarian)

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2012

      Excellent! I do make a few modifications, basically because we like lots of cheese. I use a full 8 ounces of feta and 3 cups of shredded mozzarella in the lasagna itself (about 12 ounces). I up it to two eggs so it will bind well. I don't increase the amount of spinach. I put an extra 1 cup of mozzarella on the top, but not until it is done baking for about 45 minutes. I'm not sure why I need to bake it longer than the recipe states. After it is fully heated through and the mushrooms are cooked, I remove the cover and sprinkle the 1 cup (4 ounces) of mozzarella on top. Then I bake about 10 minutes longer until the mozzarella is melted. This has become a go-to recipe and is made every 2 or 3 weeks.

      I have discovered that substituting a 24 ounce jar of Prego chunky vegetable, mixed with 1 Tablespoon of balsamic vinegar works as well for us as making the sauce from scratch -- and is much quicker.

      I have also used white button mushrooms instead of portabella but it is essential to cook them first.

      If time permits, I also cook the portabellas first. I just like it a little bit better this way, but it is not essential.

      Thank you for the yummy, and easy, lasagna recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      This was very very good! I used 4 large mushroom caps which was perfect. Made the sauce exactly as written and liked it very much. I hold off on the 5th star because I didn't have enough sauce. I topped with 1/2 another can of diced tomatoes. I also used closer to 1 3/4 cup feta and 3 cups mozzarella. The cheese still wasn't truly noticeable. Everything melded so well! Spinach hating Fiance scarfed it down like crazy, as did I. This is a keeper with a couple small modifications! Try it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      Wonderful! This doesn't taste like anything vegetarian that I would expect - it tastes great! As another layer to my lasagna I add provencal roasted olives (seasoned of course) and the combination beats any real-meat lasagna I've had in a restaurant.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      Absolutely perfect blend of flavors! This is my new favorite lasagna, the sauce is definitely worth the extra effort and is what makes this dish truly special. I have also added 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper to the sauce when I am in the mood for a little heat, but it is excellent without it too. Whole wheat lasagna noodles worked very well with this. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      This is awesome! I used some low fat cheeses as I'm on Weight Watchers and it worked out at about 8 points (in the UK) for a large serving. Definitely worth it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      Loved it! After looking at some of the other reviews, I made my own sauce. I sauted some onion and garlic in olive oil til tender, then added 28 ozs of diced tomatoes and 8 ozs tomato sauce. To that, I added a jar of spaghetti sauce ( I like Barilla Tomato and Basil), 1/3 cup chopped Kalamata olives, 1/4 c red wine, black pepper and 1/2 tsp red chile pepper)we like the heat) and simmered for about 1 1/2 hours. I always add the Kalamatas to my sauce for added zing and they went great with the feta cheese. I used about 2 1/2 cups of Mozzerella and I think next time I would add a little more feta for added flavor. I used baby portabellos that were already sliced. and baked it for about 35 minutes. Delicious! A definite keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2014

      Excellent! As always, Kittencal never disappoints! The only note I would add is that I realized the sauce needs to be divided into 4ths, not 3rds...bottom, two layers & top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      This was good. With a few changes, it could be great. As it is written, we felt it had way too much tomato paste (which lent a tinny, canned flavor to the dish). I would recommend cutting the tomato paste in half. I also think it needs some ricotta cheese, which could actually help cut the overwhelming tomato flavor of this dish. Overall, I think the cheese component needs to be beefed-up a bit. We used six large portabella mushroom caps (14 oz). This was a perfect amount.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      Wow, I really liked this more than I thought I would. It's the sauce that really made the dish for me, although I used canned tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes. The addition of balsamic vinegar made the sauce tasty and tangy. I also added some brown sugar to the sauce, as I usually do when I make tomato sauce. I did seem to run out of sauce by the time I got to the top lasagna layer, so I'd urge people to double the sauce amount. Even if you have leftover sauce, you'll love eating it with bread or something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      Wow! Who knew that vegetarian could taste so good! I could live on this stuff! I just used jarred pasta/spaghetti sauce and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      We really enjoyed this! It had a luxurious taste for a vegetarian lasagna and wasn't filled with a mix of vegetables that ruin the taste. I usually use ricotta but we felt that the lack of it may have made this come together in a creamier way.
      Will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2011

      100% delicious! My partner made this due to the fact that he loves vegetarian lasagne and it was totally amazing! We are both omnivores and eat anything, however I was slightly concerned I would notice the lack of meat in this, but when I tasted it I loved the flavour! The portabella mushrooms add a really nice "meatiness" to the dish. I love the fact that we didn't have to bother making a cheese sauce and my partner described the use of egg to bind the ingredients as "genius". We loved it so much that we have no plans to make any other type of lasagne for a long time - we can't get enough of this one! We have added it to our shopping list for this week. It is also a very cheap/health-conscious meal to make as the cheese goes a long way and you can substitute the cheeses for low fat versions which is what we have done. Cannot praise this enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      This is delicious, enjoyed by DH, DD (toddler) and I. I made ours gluten-free by using a rice pasta. I used a dash or real cider vinegar as I don't use balsamic vinegar for religious reasons. I used regular mushrooms and did like the intro says to sauté first. I used garlic salt in replacement of garlic powder as that is what I had. I was using what was available so I used haloomi cheese instead of mozzarella which was fine but not as soft of course. I decided to use baby spinach, steam then chop and squeeze out the moisture. Followed the rest and would make this again, I don't see why not!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Very tasty, very easy. Only change was to use a cup of cottage cheese instead of feta, as that's the way I was brought up making lasagna. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      I first tried this recipe a year ago and we have made it numerous times since then. It's a great vegetarian dish. We use wheat lasagna noodles and add extra spinach. Because we like a hint of spice in everything, we also add crushed red pepper to the sauce. We also buy the sliced baby bellas so it makes it a lot easier when preparing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Really, really good! I made the sauce and I loved the tang the balsamic gave it. A very hearty vegetarian meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      This was just gorgeous. We found out last minute at our little restaurant that we were having 20 vegetarians coming at the last minute. This got rave reviews from every single person that had it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      I can't give this anything less than 5 stars as I made it on Thurs night and my husband has been happily eating the leftovers every meal since! Loved the combo of cheese, feta and portabella mushrooms - really excellent. We also used store-bought sauce - a garlic sauce from Trader Joe's. VERY yummy, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      I liked the feta mixture quite a bit, I just felt the proportions of everything were off. I had to add cheese, doctor the sauce, and cook for an extra 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Wow! This was amazing! I thought the lack of ricotta or cottage cheese whould be strange in a lasagna, but no one even noticed it was missing! For the sauce, I used a 15oz can of sauce instead of the 8oz can, and it turned out great. I agree with some of the other reviews that the mushrooms are a great addition, and should not be skipped. I used two portabella mushrooms, which was a good amount. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portabella Mushroom With Spinach and Feta Lasagna (Vegetarian)

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.5
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    36%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 62.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 814.3 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 16.6 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites