39 Reviews

Excellent! As always, Kittencal never disappoints! The only note I would add is that I realized the sauce needs to be divided into 4ths, not 3rds...bottom, two layers & top.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GourmetGrandma April 18, 2014

This was good. With a few changes, it could be great. As it is written, we felt it had way too much tomato paste (which lent a tinny, canned flavor to the dish). I would recommend cutting the tomato paste in half. I also think it needs some ricotta cheese, which could actually help cut the overwhelming tomato flavor of this dish. Overall, I think the cheese component needs to be beefed-up a bit. We used six large portabella mushroom caps (14 oz). This was a perfect amount.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paris D December 07, 2012

Wow, I really liked this more than I thought I would. It's the sauce that really made the dish for me, although I used canned tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes. The addition of balsamic vinegar made the sauce tasty and tangy. I also added some brown sugar to the sauce, as I usually do when I make tomato sauce. I did seem to run out of sauce by the time I got to the top lasagna layer, so I'd urge people to double the sauce amount. Even if you have leftover sauce, you'll love eating it with bread or something.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer November 25, 2012

Excellent! I do make a few modifications, basically because we like lots of cheese. I use a full 8 ounces of feta and 3 cups of shredded mozzarella in the lasagna itself (about 12 ounces). I up it to two eggs so it will bind well. I don't increase the amount of spinach. I put an extra 1 cup of mozzarella on the top, but not until it is done baking for about 45 minutes. I'm not sure why I need to bake it longer than the recipe states. After it is fully heated through and the mushrooms are cooked, I remove the cover and sprinkle the 1 cup (4 ounces) of mozzarella on top. Then I bake about 10 minutes longer until the mozzarella is melted. This has become a go-to recipe and is made every 2 or 3 weeks.

I have discovered that substituting a 24 ounce jar of Prego chunky vegetable, mixed with 1 Tablespoon of balsamic vinegar works as well for us as making the sauce from scratch -- and is much quicker.

I have also used white button mushrooms instead of portabella but it is essential to cook them first.

If time permits, I also cook the portabellas first. I just like it a little bit better this way, but it is not essential.

Thank you for the yummy, and easy, lasagna recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doglover aka Jane September 11, 2012

This was very very good! I used 4 large mushroom caps which was perfect. Made the sauce exactly as written and liked it very much. I hold off on the 5th star because I didn't have enough sauce. I topped with 1/2 another can of diced tomatoes. I also used closer to 1 3/4 cup feta and 3 cups mozzarella. The cheese still wasn't truly noticeable. Everything melded so well! Spinach hating Fiance scarfed it down like crazy, as did I. This is a keeper with a couple small modifications! Try it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma December 08, 2010

Wonderful! This doesn't taste like anything vegetarian that I would expect - it tastes great! As another layer to my lasagna I add provencal roasted olives (seasoned of course) and the combination beats any real-meat lasagna I've had in a restaurant.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelsharitt December 08, 2010

Absolutely perfect blend of flavors! This is my new favorite lasagna, the sauce is definitely worth the extra effort and is what makes this dish truly special. I have also added 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper to the sauce when I am in the mood for a little heat, but it is excellent without it too. Whole wheat lasagna noodles worked very well with this. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway August 17, 2010

This is awesome! I used some low fat cheeses as I'm on Weight Watchers and it worked out at about 8 points (in the UK) for a large serving. Definitely worth it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janwar June 01, 2010

Loved it! After looking at some of the other reviews, I made my own sauce. I sauted some onion and garlic in olive oil til tender, then added 28 ozs of diced tomatoes and 8 ozs tomato sauce. To that, I added a jar of spaghetti sauce ( I like Barilla Tomato and Basil), 1/3 cup chopped Kalamata olives, 1/4 c red wine, black pepper and 1/2 tsp red chile pepper)we like the heat) and simmered for about 1 1/2 hours. I always add the Kalamatas to my sauce for added zing and they went great with the feta cheese. I used about 2 1/2 cups of Mozzerella and I think next time I would add a little more feta for added flavor. I used baby portabellos that were already sliced. and baked it for about 35 minutes. Delicious! A definite keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb from Ca June 18, 2009

I can't give this anything less than 5 stars as I made it on Thurs night and my husband has been happily eating the leftovers every meal since! Loved the combo of cheese, feta and portabella mushrooms - really excellent. We also used store-bought sauce - a garlic sauce from Trader Joe's. VERY yummy, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BurgundyS May 30, 2009
Portabella Mushroom With Spinach and Feta Lasagna (Vegetarian)