62 Reviews

Thanks sooooo much for posting this! It was wonderful!! I must confess that I didn't follow your recipe exactly, partly due to my market and partly personal preference. The portobellos were awful, so I was forced to buy the "baby bellas" (1 lb) and used them instead, I also added some white mushrooms (button?) because I had them on hand, a pinch of nutmeg and a splash of chardonnay. (I seem to add wine to everything these days LOL.) For dietary reasons, I substituted fat free half & half for the heavy cream. This was by all means the BEST mushroom soup I've ever had, bar none...better than my own recipe (which I thought was wonderful) that I've used for years! I will definitely add this to my "regulars" :)

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee514 September 17, 2002

Very, very good Mushroom Soup! I used 4 portbello mushrooms and 1/2 & 1/2 cream, plus celery leaves chopped up as garnish. At first, I did not puree the soup and it tasted good. Then decided to puree it and the soup was better. Next time I will add some white buttom mushrooms at the end and cut up into big slices (not pureed).

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skipper/Sy September 23, 2002

This soup was very tasty and will go into the cookbook to have again. I used white mushrooms and added a few shitakes. The thyme seasoning was just right but I did add some garlic. Very creamy. Easy to put together and was quickly on the table. I served with slices of French bread toasted. Thank you for posting. Catherine

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blakesle September 23, 2002

Delicious, velvety, and rich. I think I could even be a bit happier if I used a slightly less fatty cream next time. This soup is so rich, I can only eat a small portion at a time. I also added a respectable-sized glass of red zinfandel to the broth stage for an added dimension.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristina+Enno October 03, 2010

My husband and I loved this soup. The only change I made was to add a little garlic powder with the other spices and I forgot to take out the bay leaf (it tasted fine since I used my immersion blender to liquefy everything). I was worried that 3 portabellas wasn't going to be enough to give 6 cups of broth a really mushroomy flavor, but all the simmering really brought out the mushroom flavor. I also like this recipe because it is fairly low carb. Just be warned, you will want a double serving! Thanks for the awesome recipe Sue!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I<3butter! August 11, 2010

This recipe is wonderful! It tastes just like soup we loved and paid $$$$ for at a local resort! I followed the recipe closely, and it was very easy to prepare. It could be used easily as a main course as well as an appetizer.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
California Kat June 09, 2003

This soup is wonderful. I have made it twice now in the last month. I added white wine, and used white pepper instead for a more spicey flavor. Great as an appetizer, or main course. I have recommended this recipe to several of my friends.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlie ponton December 31, 2002

Loved this soup! The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is because of the thyme. I love thyme, but I thought it was just a little too overpowering and the taste of those rich portabellas was muddled a little....Next time I believe I'll just use 1/2 tsp to 3/4 tsp and that should be plenty for our tastes. If you have an immersion blender-this soup really is a breeze to make and has a bistro-quality taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colfax Wife March 03, 2011

I just made this wonderful Portabella Mushroom Soup. We love it!!
I did this soup exactly as it said. I am so glad you put this one in!!!
Next time, I will add only 1 tsp. of thyme and one more tbl. of flour.
I think the thyme is a little more than I wanted to taste and the
soup needed a touch more thickness.
Without my opinion... of the thyme and flour... this soup is
definately on my recipe card now... Thank you... it is delicious and
worth the meal.......... I have made homemade mushroom soup before
but... the portabella mushrooms... never did that before..they are an
awesome taste and the leeks were an incredible YES and I believe that the bay leaf
was right... and the extra onion... yummy. The thyme...and parsley.. ...and I
pureed it with my cuisinart for 'hot stuff' . Very good!
Very soothing bowl of soup. Very yummy by itself. ThankYOU!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarasues January 06, 2011

Our family loves leeks and onions, but my DH the mushroom hater as he was eating his soup asked, "what is this flavour" I said it the mushrooms he said, "this is a keeper"! I made this recipe almost to the letter I used whipping creme about 2 1/2 cups less chicken broth about 3 1/2 cups but I forgot to take out the bay leaf when blending the soup. I did add 1/2 of a broiled chicken breast to the bottom of the bowl before adding the soup and served with rustic garlic bread absolutely delicious! Today for dinner with sandwiches we had the Portobello Mushroom Soup DH said, "we will make it at least a day ahead for the herbs to marry". DH asked, "that I make it for family that is coming to visit". This is an exceptional soup! Thank you so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oilpatchjo March 27, 2010
Portabella Mushroom Soup