Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portabella Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portabella Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2002

      Thanks sooooo much for posting this! It was wonderful!! I must confess that I didn't follow your recipe exactly, partly due to my market and partly personal preference. The portobellos were awful, so I was forced to buy the "baby bellas" (1 lb) and used them instead, I also added some white mushrooms (button?) because I had them on hand, a pinch of nutmeg and a splash of chardonnay. (I seem to add wine to everything these days LOL.) For dietary reasons, I substituted fat free half & half for the heavy cream. This was by all means the BEST mushroom soup I've ever had, bar none...better than my own recipe (which I thought was wonderful) that I've used for years! I will definitely add this to my "regulars" :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      Very, very good Mushroom Soup! I used 4 portbello mushrooms and 1/2 & 1/2 cream, plus celery leaves chopped up as garnish. At first, I did not puree the soup and it tasted good. Then decided to puree it and the soup was better. Next time I will add some white buttom mushrooms at the end and cut up into big slices (not pureed).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      This soup was very tasty and will go into the cookbook to have again. I used white mushrooms and added a few shitakes. The thyme seasoning was just right but I did add some garlic. Very creamy. Easy to put together and was quickly on the table. I served with slices of French bread toasted. Thank you for posting. Catherine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      Delicious, velvety, and rich. I think I could even be a bit happier if I used a slightly less fatty cream next time. This soup is so rich, I can only eat a small portion at a time. I also added a respectable-sized glass of red zinfandel to the broth stage for an added dimension.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      My husband and I loved this soup. The only change I made was to add a little garlic powder with the other spices and I forgot to take out the bay leaf (it tasted fine since I used my immersion blender to liquefy everything). I was worried that 3 portabellas wasn't going to be enough to give 6 cups of broth a really mushroomy flavor, but all the simmering really brought out the mushroom flavor. I also like this recipe because it is fairly low carb. Just be warned, you will want a double serving! Thanks for the awesome recipe Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      This recipe is wonderful! It tastes just like soup we loved and paid $$$$ for at a local resort! I followed the recipe closely, and it was very easy to prepare. It could be used easily as a main course as well as an appetizer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2002

      This soup is wonderful. I have made it twice now in the last month. I added white wine, and used white pepper instead for a more spicey flavor. Great as an appetizer, or main course. I have recommended this recipe to several of my friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      Loved this soup! The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is because of the thyme. I love thyme, but I thought it was just a little too overpowering and the taste of those rich portabellas was muddled a little....Next time I believe I'll just use 1/2 tsp to 3/4 tsp and that should be plenty for our tastes. If you have an immersion blender-this soup really is a breeze to make and has a bistro-quality taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      I just made this wonderful Portabella Mushroom Soup. We love it!!
      I did this soup exactly as it said. I am so glad you put this one in!!!
      Next time, I will add only 1 tsp. of thyme and one more tbl. of flour.
      I think the thyme is a little more than I wanted to taste and the
      soup needed a touch more thickness.
      Without my opinion... of the thyme and flour... this soup is
      definately on my recipe card now... Thank you... it is delicious and
      worth the meal.......... I have made homemade mushroom soup before
      but... the portabella mushrooms... never did that before..they are an
      awesome taste and the leeks were an incredible YES and I believe that the bay leaf
      was right... and the extra onion... yummy. The thyme...and parsley.. ...and I
      pureed it with my cuisinart for 'hot stuff' . Very good!
      Very soothing bowl of soup. Very yummy by itself. ThankYOU!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      Our family loves leeks and onions, but my DH the mushroom hater as he was eating his soup asked, "what is this flavour" I said it the mushrooms he said, "this is a keeper"! I made this recipe almost to the letter I used whipping creme about 2 1/2 cups less chicken broth about 3 1/2 cups but I forgot to take out the bay leaf when blending the soup. I did add 1/2 of a broiled chicken breast to the bottom of the bowl before adding the soup and served with rustic garlic bread absolutely delicious! Today for dinner with sandwiches we had the Portobello Mushroom Soup DH said, "we will make it at least a day ahead for the herbs to marry". DH asked, "that I make it for family that is coming to visit". This is an exceptional soup! Thank you so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      This soup is no less than amazing! My family and I all agreed it tasted very gourmet! I made a few small changes: I used 4 1/2 cups of broth for a thicker soup. I added 2 cloves of garlic. Before simmering I also added some of chopped baby spinach. To keep the soup chunky, I chose to blend only half of the soup. I served it with some homemade breadsticks. This is definitely going to be a cold weather staple in my home!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      I liked this better than Wolfgang's - next time I would only add 4 cups of broth so it's not so "brothy." I also used milk rather than cream and omitted the sugar, and tossed in some sliced fresh spinach at the end. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2014

      I thought this soup was absolutely delicious! I took other reviewers suggestions and dropped the dried thyme to a scant 1/2 tsp. I can't imagine using the full amount! As it was it was plenty enough thyme. Also reduced the broth to 5 cups. This soup is going on my regular dinner rotation. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      Loved the flavor of this soup. I used fat-free half-and-half instead of the heavy cream and didn't miss it. Next time I might increase the number of mushrooms and decrease the broth by a cup. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2012

      This soup was pretty good but the thyme overpowered the mushroom flavor, and I used less than the 1 1/2 tsps called for because I had a feeling it was going to be too much. I wouldn't use more than 1//2 tsp of thyme if I made this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      Very yummy. The only changes I made were to use brown mushrooms instead of portabella, and the stock I use was made from the bones and skin of a smoked turkey. It was delicious, but I will definitely try making this with a plain chicken broth sometime as well. Also, as one prior poster said, I added wild rice cooked in the same stock. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      Excellent Flavor and texture. I took 3/4 cup wild rice blend and 1 1/2 cups of the soup broth, then simmered for 35 minutes until all the broth was absorbed by the rice mix. Added this to the soup,
      which made it a nice hearty thick soup for supper. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

    • on October 08, 2009

      A very gourmet soup. I did cut back on the chicken broth by 1 cup, from other's suggestions, and then I added some cornstarch at the end to thicken it up. This was perfect for tonight's cold, wet weather. Thank you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Best soup iv ever made, I added an extra onion and a few more mushrooms. And used parsley paste to add at the end. Except for that i followed recipe as such, only JUST feed 8. A keeper for sure ty for this recipe =]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portabella Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (295 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.8
     
    Calories from Fat 162
    72%
    Total Fat 18.0 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 10.8 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 56.0 mg
    18%
    Sodium 365.9 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites