Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portabella Mushroom Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portabella Mushroom Burgers

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2004

      This made a nice tasty lunch! I scaled this down for 1 person.I served this with grilled onions, mustard, and mayo on whole grain bread. I cooked the mushrooms in the frying pan so I could cook the onions with them. Loved the marinade. Thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      This was very good! I cooked these in a grill pan on the stove, since it's the middle of winter right now, but they turned out very well and got to cook in the juices. This is a lunchtime keeper! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Great! Late Memorial Day morning we suddenly decided to head to my uncle's for a cook out. I needed something I could bring for myself that would be quick and easy and meatless. And that would look good to all the "normal" people who like to tease me lol Threw the marinade together in a container, ran to the store for the mushrooms (just made it) and everything worked out splendidly. I love provolone, but with the balsamic it was perfect. I'll make these again. They're a breeze to throw together last minute, and everyone was rather impressed with how "burgery" they were. (only better!) Thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      These burgers are a vegetarian delight!! I made 4 burgers with 4 bun sized mushrooms and had plenty of marinade. I didn't grill them, but instead pan fried them. As a result they were a little more juicy and somewhat difficult to eat, but that was my own fault and did not take away from the wonderful flavour. Next time I will definitely try grilling them. These burgers are a quick and delicious star of a lunch or dinner. Thanks PaulaG!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      Unbelievable how well the mushroom replaces the meat! So tasty! And so easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      We had these lovely mushroom burgers last night for dinner. Just had to let you know that they were wonderful. Loved the marinade, so easy. Included carmelized onions & mixed red, yellow & orange peppers. Grilled then on the BBQ. Topped all with some Asiago cheese & sliced tomates & mayo. We certainly will have these again. Great meal for vegetarian flare.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      Rachael Ray suggest that before using portobellos, turn them upside down, snap off the stems, and scrape the dark gills from the underside, using a teaspoon. This prevents the unappetizing brown liquid that oozes from the cooked mushroom.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      Lately, I can't digest meat, so THANK YOU for this delicious burger. The marinade seemed overly herby, so I doubled the vinegar and oil. I cooked it in a flavor wave (400, 8 min a side) because it was too cold to grill and the oven was occupied and it turned out fine. Served with garlic mayo and melted swiss.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      My hubby loved the burger. Had to substitute red wine vinegar because my husband's allergic to balsamic, but it still tasted yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2014

      I went buy most of the recipe, did the grilled onions on them I added garlic powder and onion powder and some cayenne pepper, doubled the marinade for 4 Porty schrooms, instead of salt and pepper i used mccormicks montreal steak seasoning, I cut 2 Pablano peppers in half on the length, put all that on the BBQ, put onions in foil, then took two zucchinis and cut them into long french fry wedges seasoned with olive oil garlic & onion powder and paprika & cayenne pepper then put them on the bbq, everything was excellent!!!!!!!! these Portabella Burger's rival the best burgers I have ever had. I put on my burger, the portabella, Pablano pepper, grilled onion, dejion mustard, tomato, avocado, Next time I will add bacon, these burgers are Juicy, Very Tasty, very filling, and very satisfying

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      YUM!! Holy crap was this good. I marinated in the balsamic, olive oil, basil, oregano, garlic and salt and pepper. Grilled on both sides, topped with a slice of fresh mozzarella cheese and roasted red bell peppers. We had these without the bun as a side, but I can't wait to do them with the buns. So good - Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      Wow!! My family give this recipe 10 stars! The marinade is similar to what my husband used to marinade meat in before we became vegetarian. We let the mushrooms and marinade sit in a large ziplock bag for 3 hours and it gave it great flavor. The dijon mustard also adds to the taste of this "burger." Great mix of flavors. Thanks PaulaG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      loved it! i used gouda instead of provolone but it went really well. had it with all the 'optional' trimmings - and the only problem i had with this was trying to eat it in a ladylike fashion since it was so big! this is precious "junkfood", will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

      I'm on the South Beach so I omitted the buns. This is a fantastic recipe. Thanks Paula, you're the best...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2005

      I used two portabella mushrooms that were about the same size as the hamburger buns. There was not enough marinade for them so I doubled it. The mushrooms were very tasty and we will definitely make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      Used a large field mushroom for this and followed the recipe but scaled for one person. Grilled the mushroom and had it on wheat bread toast with a mixture of leaves and some chopped tomato. So easy to do and many variations you could have with this, so went and bought another couple of mushrooms today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portabella Mushroom Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (279 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 554.2
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    34%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 19.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 801.9 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.3 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 11.4 g
    45%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 21.0 g
    42%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites