Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portabella Mushroom Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portabella Mushroom Bake

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on July 27, 2010

      I copied the other reviewers and baked the sauce and onions with the mushrooms and it came out great. I also reduced the soy sauce by a third. This was a hit with my husband, thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      We ate this for our main course...it was filling and delicious. It was so flavorful and exotic compared to what we normally eat (with 4 little ones at home), that it was like we went to an expensive restaurant. I had to use plain old soy sauce, and I had pre-sliced mushrooms, which I put the sauce over and baked, but it seemed perfect. It will definitely be on the menu again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      Really great recipe! I may be the only one who thought the mushrooms didn't even need the sauce?? They came out of the oven so juicy and great from just the spices- but the sauce was good also. Served with quinoa and roasted asparagus for a main dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      WHOA, HORSIE!!! I was totally blindsided by these... didn't expect I'd be so overwhelmed with happiness, but dangit, I WAS! I only made two large mushrooms as a starter for our meal, so reduced the baking time by about 7 minutes. I used Bragg's amino acids (for the first time and now I'm hooked!) and did everything else as listed ~except~ I caramelized the onions first per the Cook's Illustrated method and just heaped them on top along with the sauce at the end. These are stunningly good and, omg, NO CREAM?! How is it possible that the schrooms & sauce were so satisfying without cream or a stick of butter? Or ~ *gasp* ~ meat? But it's true! They were! In fact, they were so good, I made more the next day. 'Cept I doubled the onions because I found myself sneaking forkfuls while cooking the rest of the dish. The almonds and balsamic went so well with the rest of the ingredients in the sauce. Thank you SO much, Dreamer, for sharing this really amazing recipe which is going into my beloved ~ENCORE~ cookbook!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      This one's a keeper! Healthy AND flavorful, something I'm always looking for in a recipe. I started making this thinking i had almonds on hand but I only had pecans. I used the pecans instead and it came out wonderful. After reading some other reviews, I decided to bake the mushrooms with the sauce on and add carmelized onions on top. WOW! Thanks for so much sharing this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Wow, these are incredible mushrooms! They will definitely be repeated at our house, especially when company comes. I used regular soy sauce instead of tamari, just because it's what I had. I also followed Prose's lead and baked the mushrooms with the sauce and onions. Am I ever glad I did; I couldn't imagine them any other way. I served these with skin-on smashed red potatoes and roasted asparagus for a first-class delicious meal. Thank you for the posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      OMG! SOOOOOOO good! This would be the perfect vegetarian dish to feed people who are suspicious of vegetarian fare. A far cry from "rabbit food," this is as hearty and fulfilling as it gets (dare I describe it as "meaty"?) I made it exactly as directed, and it was super easy, which is another aspect that would make it perfect for entertaining. I bet you could even throw the sauce together ahead of time. The flavor of the sauce was superb. It complimented the mushrooms and onions perfectly. The onions seemed like a lot when they were raw, but they got sweet and delicious in the oven. I definitely would not reduce or omit them. I served this with vegan mashed potatoes (Creamy Vegan Mashed Potatoes, which went well with the extra sauce) and salad. This will definitely become a favorite around here. UPDATE: It has been brought to my attention that the directions actually say to add the sauce and onions AFTER baking. I must not have read the instructions very carefully because I put them on top of the mushrooms BEFORE baking, but I liked the way it came out and would definitely do it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      I'm so sorry, but I can't rate these any higher. I love mushrooms and thought that I'd love them, but the almond paste just totally overpowers the mushrooms. I made these for Best of 2010 Tag, so maybe my opinion is an aberration. But this just didn't work for us. So, so sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      These were really good. I followed other reviewers and baked them with the sauce. I think next time I would leave the almonds out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      This was delicious and even my 2 yr old gobbled it up. As one other reviewer wrote it is very rich and I found it too rich and salty after eating a bit. I used half braggs, half soy, will use low sodium next time and maybe use more mushrooms. I also used almonds that I soaked 24hrs and peeled and I threw it all in a container and used a bar mix to get a really smooth sauce. I put the mushrooms in the dish and then the sliced onions and spread the sauce over and baked. I also cut the mushrooms in quarters. Served with cous cous and steamed zucchini. Very delicious and quick to prepare. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      These were incredibly rich. I prepared these as the vegetarian option for Thanksgiving. Almost too rich when you add in all of the other Thanksgiving trimmings, but extremely tasty and satisfying. Very glad there are a few left for us to eat tonight with a simpler meal. I will joyfully be making these again and adding them to my favorites file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      Loved this! I took other reviewer's advice and baked it all together and it worked perfectly. This would work great as sub for a meat dish. I used low sodium soy sauce so it wasn't salty at all for me. Thanks for posting a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      I scaled the recipe down to to mushrooms. I hade grilled them the day before, so just caramalized the onions, put them on the bottom, covered with the shrooms, then sauce, and baked just to heat. Delish! Thanks! Made for PRMR game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      we love shrooms and portabella mushrooms.keep it up.i have cooked since i was 7.james and shari carothers are 47 and shari is 45.i will be 46 December 28 1964.james will be 48 on November 7,1962 i am a cheff just ask Jim.he does the cooking now.all the food here are great.easy and easy to make!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Iloved this recipe!But, as usual, tweaked it,lol.I didn't mix the almonds into the sauce, but coated the mushrooms with the sauce, then placed the onions in the dish, sprinkled them with some of the almonds, placed the caps right side up over them, and covered with the remaining almonds(I use more than called for).The caps stay totally moist inside, with a lovely, slightly crunchy topping.My whole family loves these, and has eaten them like a burger with no complaints except that they want more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Soooo good! I'm a big fan of SK & TB's recipes. Like some of the other reviewers, I decided to bake everthing together. Just not a big fan of that many raw onions, so that's what worked best for me. Wow, so tasty, I'm serving alongside couscous and to top it off, this was such an easy meal to make. I had time to wait for dinner, but not a lot of time to spend in the kitchen so this was perfect. The sauce obviously reduces when you cook it with the mushrooms, so next time I'd probably scale back on the braggs/soy just a bit, it's a smidge on the salty side. Mind you, I also changed the serving size to 4, so that conversion may not have been the best. I'll be making these again for sure!! Thanks for posting Dreamer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Fantastic!! This is going straight into my "good enough for company" cookbook. I can't imagine there is a person in the world who won't love this recipe. I used Bob's Red Mill Almond Meal/Flour in place of grinding my own almonds so one bowl and one baking dish was all it took. Oh, and I carmelized the onions first. As other reviewers suggested, I assembled everything before baking. Was super easy, tasted fantastic and it's rather healthy. What a great combo! This could be served next to some veggies -- mashed potatoes sound excellent --or perhaps even as a portabella 'burger.'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This is one of my "go-to" recipes for serving a nice vegetarian meal to company. It is very easy to make, and quite satisfying, over a bed of brown rice, with some steamed veggies on the side. Sometimes, I use shallots in place of the onions. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      5 Stars from Carnivore DH. We adore Portabello mushrooms, and these do not disappoint. The sauce's flavor is tantalizing, the ground almonds provide a nice base. Served as a side to hot dogs of Aidell turkey-chicken sausages with sun-dried tomatoes. Used regular tamari soy sauce, and giant (6") mushrooms, 4 were plenty. Very quick to make with a food processor. Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portabella Mushroom Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (242 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.6
     
    Calories from Fat 207
    74%
    Total Fat 23.0 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1097.4 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites