19 Reviews

I copied the other reviewers and baked the sauce and onions with the mushrooms and it came out great. I also reduced the soy sauce by a third. This was a hit with my husband, thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Motivated Mama July 27, 2010

We ate this for our main course...it was filling and delicious. It was so flavorful and exotic compared to what we normally eat (with 4 little ones at home), that it was like we went to an expensive restaurant. I had to use plain old soy sauce, and I had pre-sliced mushrooms, which I put the sauce over and baked, but it seemed perfect. It will definitely be on the menu again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PTKSmom July 12, 2010

Really great recipe! I may be the only one who thought the mushrooms didn't even need the sauce?? They came out of the oven so juicy and great from just the spices- but the sauce was good also. Served with quinoa and roasted asparagus for a main dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain July 07, 2010

WHOA, HORSIE!!! I was totally blindsided by these... didn't expect I'd be so overwhelmed with happiness, but dangit, I WAS! I only made two large mushrooms as a starter for our meal, so reduced the baking time by about 7 minutes. I used Bragg's amino acids (for the first time and now I'm hooked!) and did everything else as listed ~except~ I caramelized the onions first per the Cook's Illustrated method and just heaped them on top along with the sauce at the end. These are stunningly good and, omg, NO CREAM?! How is it possible that the schrooms & sauce were so satisfying without cream or a stick of butter? Or ~ *gasp* ~ meat? But it's true! They were! In fact, they were so good, I made more the next day. 'Cept I doubled the onions because I found myself sneaking forkfuls while cooking the rest of the dish. The almonds and balsamic went so well with the rest of the ingredients in the sauce. Thank you SO much, Dreamer, for sharing this really amazing recipe which is going into my beloved ~ENCORE~ cookbook!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) June 14, 2010

This one's a keeper! Healthy AND flavorful, something I'm always looking for in a recipe. I started making this thinking i had almonds on hand but I only had pecans. I used the pecans instead and it came out wonderful. After reading some other reviews, I decided to bake the mushrooms with the sauce on and add carmelized onions on top. WOW! Thanks for so much sharing this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MessyChef June 13, 2010

Wow, these are incredible mushrooms! They will definitely be repeated at our house, especially when company comes. I used regular soy sauce instead of tamari, just because it's what I had. I also followed Prose's lead and baked the mushrooms with the sauce and onions. Am I ever glad I did; I couldn't imagine them any other way. I served these with skin-on smashed red potatoes and roasted asparagus for a first-class delicious meal. Thank you for the posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama July 26, 2009

OMG! SOOOOOOO good! This would be the perfect vegetarian dish to feed people who are suspicious of vegetarian fare. A far cry from "rabbit food," this is as hearty and fulfilling as it gets (dare I describe it as "meaty"?) I made it exactly as directed, and it was super easy, which is another aspect that would make it perfect for entertaining. I bet you could even throw the sauce together ahead of time. The flavor of the sauce was superb. It complimented the mushrooms and onions perfectly. The onions seemed like a lot when they were raw, but they got sweet and delicious in the oven. I definitely would not reduce or omit them. I served this with vegan mashed potatoes (Creamy Vegan Mashed Potatoes, which went well with the extra sauce) and salad. This will definitely become a favorite around here. UPDATE: It has been brought to my attention that the directions actually say to add the sauce and onions AFTER baking. I must not have read the instructions very carefully because I put them on top of the mushrooms BEFORE baking, but I liked the way it came out and would definitely do it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose July 08, 2009

I'm so sorry, but I can't rate these any higher. I love mushrooms and thought that I'd love them, but the almond paste just totally overpowers the mushrooms. I made these for Best of 2010 Tag, so maybe my opinion is an aberration. But this just didn't work for us. So, so sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 06, 2011

These were really good. I followed other reviewers and baked them with the sauce. I think next time I would leave the almonds out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito January 05, 2011

This was delicious and even my 2 yr old gobbled it up. As one other reviewer wrote it is very rich and I found it too rich and salty after eating a bit. I used half braggs, half soy, will use low sodium next time and maybe use more mushrooms. I also used almonds that I soaked 24hrs and peeled and I threw it all in a container and used a bar mix to get a really smooth sauce. I put the mushrooms in the dish and then the sliced onions and spread the sauce over and baked. I also cut the mushrooms in quarters. Served with cous cous and steamed zucchini. Very delicious and quick to prepare. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canthelpmyself December 14, 2010
Portabella Mushroom Bake