Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Portabella and Gouda Burger with Garlic Mayo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Portabella and Gouda Burger with Garlic Mayo

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2013

      I made this exactly as the recipe states and even my very picky DH was licking his fingers afterwards. Excellent!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      This recipe is fantastic. I omitted the onion from the mayonnaise part and used a little more olive oil for the marinade but it was perfection. I also used smoked gouda cheese and it was wonderful. I've made this recipe several times for myself and others and will continue to make it! Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      We tried the marinade (only), and it turned out wonderfully! The portabellos were the vegetarian/vegan option at our BBQ, but they were popular with omnivores too. We'll definitely be making these again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      I made the mayo tonight. I confess it was on beef burgers with grilled baby bellas & onions...but it was sooo tasty!!! I love bella burgers as well, so I'll be sure to try the entire recipe next time I make them. Thank you for a well-balanced, flavorful mayo for tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      This recipe was awesome! I used sundried tomatoes instead of regular tomatoes. Mmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      I can not thank you enough for sharing this recipe! It was so incredibly delicious. We used smoked, and added some balsamic to the marinade and grilled 'em on charcoal. We will definitely be making them again and again !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      I've never had a Portabella burger before and this was fantastic. We're trying to find more meatless options for my 9 year old vegetarian and this was great. Even my 7 year old meat eater couldn't put it down. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      It was very good. I did have a soggy bun at the bottom but it was well worth it. I didn't have any gouda cheese so just used Kraft Singles which was good but will make it again with Gouda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      I added some balsamic vinaigrette to the marinade, and used garlic salt instead of fresh garlic and garlic pepper instead of the thyme. As for the mayo, I used extra lemon juice, no onions, and instead of the thyme, used garlic pepper. For the cheese, I used Havarti. Fabulous! This really satisfied my steak craving. I will be making this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      These are great, I am actually submitting them in a vegetarian cooking contest this weekend. If you scoop the gills of the portabella out with a spoon, a lot of the juicyness problems are resolved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Delicious and super quick! I added extra spices to the marinade and just used Nayonase instead of the garlic mayo. Smoked gouda is a must!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      I chose this recipe because I was cooking just for one and also because of the excellent reviews! Were they good? They were fine......with all the comments, I expected so much more that I was a bit disappointed. What I did find was that they were EXTREMELY messy to eat. Maybe I am the oddity, but I don't like my food dripping down my fingers and that is exactly what this burger did for me. I added some Baby Arugula, 4 super thin slices tomato and the cheese. I found that the taste all kinda blended in together...you really couldn't distinguish that you had Gouda cheese in the burger. Maybe a smoked gouda would be a better choice for the cheese. I have another portabella to use, so would I do these again? No...I will find something else for it to go in!! Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      These are incredibly flavorful!! I made them exactly as directed, abd grilled them. I found that my toasted crusty bun quickly became soggy on the bottom - unfortunately making it difficult to eat. Perhaps next time I will use a 'tougher' crusted bun. Thank you for a really neat recipe, my vegetarian daughter is going to try this on the weekend, I bet she will love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

    • on February 28, 2009

      These were delicious, I made them with Havarti as that is what I had. I will try them again so with the smoked Gouda. Thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Absolutely delicious! I didn't have any problems with the juiciness causing mass disintegration of my roll - maybe I got lucky. Definitely benefits from high-quality ingredients - don't use anything but the best tomato you can find. Made mine with non-smoked gouda due to inavailability of smoked; think using smoked gouda will make it even better. Fairly painless to make, and a joy to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      My meat-loving and mushroom-fearing husband loved these! The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is that the juiciness of it caused the bread to disintegrate and it was a big mess after a few bites. The first few bites though...exquisite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      I absolutely love this burger!! The flavors are rich and work wonderfully together. The smoked gouda is an excellent compliment to the mayo and mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      We followed the recipe except we cooked the portabellas on the grill and had to omit the onion from the garlic mayo (I didn't realize that I didn't have any on hand until in the midst of the recipe) Still turned out great, we didn't even miss it. Can't wait to try it with the onion next time, and there WILL be a next time!! Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Portabella and Gouda Burger with Garlic Mayo

    Serving Size: 1 (199 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 376.1
     
    Calories from Fat 191
    51%
    Total Fat 21.3 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 3.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 426.4 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gouda cheese


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes