Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Porotos Granados (Bean Stew) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Porotos Granados (Bean Stew)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 08, 2011

      This is a classic Chilean summer dish. It's traditionally made with fresh tortola beans (not found in the US) but lima, pinto or canolli beans could be good substitutes. The Chilean squash is also different, with a deep orange, almost red color and very sweet and flavorful.

      One thing that's missing from the original recipe is French-cut green beans. They add a lot of flavor and complement the corn very well. Another addition that my family also uses a lot (I'm Chilean) is basil. Other variations include additional large quartered onions cooked in whole chunks along with the beans, providing a good texture and additional onion flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      This is the closest recipe I've found to dish I've had many times in Chile. It's very nutritious and hearty, not to mention delicious. It's very easy to make and a nice dish to make for a crowd because it's unique and inexpensive. I take issue with suggesting using only one type of bean because it's traditional to use both. The navy bean and the squash turn into a lovely puree that enrobes the lima beans and corn. Overall it's a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      The recipe looks good, but I would suggest using either navy beans, or lima beans, but not both. Chile is NOT Mexico, it's about 7,000 MILES AWAY from Mexico, and their cuisines are nothing alike. You might want to consider re-categorizing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      This is a wonderful, filling soup that comes together easily and quickly. We ran out of paprika so skipped that; the broth, salt, pepper, and onions added plenty of flavor on their own. When putting in the corn, we added some cooked leftover quinoa, and that added some nice bulk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Soooooo yummy!! I have made this twice already in 2 weeks. I used canned white beans since they store ran out of navy beans, and also added yucca and yellow sqaush to add variety. I love the sweetness the butternut squash adds.. mmm mmm.. this is so tasty, I'm having it again for leftovers for lunch today! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Thanks so much for such a delicious and hearty meal. I actually used black eyed peas and sweet potato instead of navy beans and squash. I also added 2 cloves of garlic since we love garlic. I think the next time I'll also add a serrano to this for just a little bite. I'm delighted to find a hearty bean recipe that tastes so different than usual:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      This was a very good stew. Something very unique as I have never had a bean soup like this before. The corn was replaced with frozen as I didn't have fresh and I used lima beans only as that was all I had. I also added garlic as well. It is a keeper and I will make this again. It was fully worthy of 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      This is worth more than 5 stars ! I loved it and it was easy - made for ZWT 3. I used pumkin and as we do not have canned navy beans here in Australia I used butter beans and cannelini beans and lots of basil and the result was fantastic . I served it with couscous -so thank you Kumquat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      This was perfect for today. Raining and cold!. This is substantial and warming and hearty. I used a Sweet Dumpling squash and Romano beans (I had 1/2 a tin left from something else) and sweet Hungarian paprika. The flavor is deep and satisfying. This is not a difficult recipe at all but I did add some liquid. I made some corn bread (not sweet!) and put a square in the bowl first and covered it with soup. 5 star's from me. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      We love Butternut Squash, so that's what went into our Bean Stew. The sweet flavours of the squash and corn are made for each other together, and in this dish were well complemented by the paprika (I used smoked paprika). Thanks for a lovely recipe, Kumquat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      Wow this is good! I made a half batch and wish that I'd made a full one. Made two small changes to the recipe. First, I tossed in a full can of beans (twice what was indicated). Second, I added a half a Poblano chile in with the onions. The chile was a nice contrast to the sweetness of the corn and butternut squash but unnecessary as the other flavors were so good. Used frozen baby lima beans and fresh corn. I would definitely suggest starting with 4 cups of broth as the liquid takes on a great flavor. And get some bread to mop the liquid up, you won't want to waste a drop. Aside from taste, this dish is also beautiful with the greens, oranges and yellows. This will be one of the highlights of this leg of the World Tour. Thanks Kumquat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Porotos Granados (Bean Stew)

    Serving Size: 1 (299 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.0
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    18%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 330.6 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.2 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 13.2 g
    53%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 11.7 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes