11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this without the fennel seed (I don't like the licorice flavor) and added 2 TBSP water in the crock pot to keep the pork moist. The meat was so juicy, tender, and flavorful! When I went to pull the meat out of the crock pot to shred, the meat was falling apart. My shoulder butt had the bone in. We literally pulled the bone right out of the roast without any effort. It slipped right out! It was such a huge hit with my family that I had to prevent my boys from having a 3rd sandwich because I didn't want them to end up with a stomach ache. I served these sandwiches with a spinach salad and fruit. I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmr1120 October 28, 2013

i am unable to give this recipe the proper rating of 10 stars!! took us out of the middle of no where and landed our taste buds smack dab in the middle of a gourmet meal.... used dried parsley, garlic olive oil, and garlic salt, added a few tsp of celery flakes. kept others the same, will double pepper next time. upped the garlic. butterflied the pork butt to cover more of the meat with the paste. also followed other reviewers leads and wrapped pork butt in foil and ground up the rub in my magic bullet. Made this last night, shut off and reheated in crockpot about 30 min before supper. served on toasted ciabatta rolls with pepperjack cheese, fresh cracked black pepper and sliced pepperoncinis. (boyfriend added coleslaw on his) how quick and easy for us! cant wait to share!! ps. make sure to drain grease and THANKS PEPPER MONKEY!!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes June 12, 2012

Great recipe! Definitely a keeper. I did wrap it in the aluminum foil as suggested, that's the only thing I did different. I drizzled the juices over the roast just before serving, it was so good!!! Thanks for a great dinner!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaemurphy February 05, 2011

Delicious! This was so wonderful! We loved the flavours of the rub... This was so easy to make with all the ingredients on-hand. We really thought it was great thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO December 21, 2010

Absolutely yummy! Made for our holiday celebration while staying in a hotel; mixed up as directed, threw it in the crock pot and let it go. Simply took a large meat fork at the end, twisted it around to "shred" the meat and then served on mini buns. Will be making this one again, for sure!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ckorkow January 04, 2010

I've had Porketta from the meat market in MN before, and this smells and tastes MUCH the same. Two modifications I would make is 1) wrap the roast in aluminum foil while it is in the crockpot--it will keep the juices in and it won't dry out at all. Also, When making the 'rub', use a small food processor--it will grind up the seeds and make more of a 'rub' texture and more truly like MN porketta. Great recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
johnstonbabyfactory December 21, 2009

I've never had porketta so I don't know how this is "supposed" to taste...but this is simply delicious! My husband can't get enough of it and gets excited every time I make it. Not only that but it is so easy and it smells so wonderful! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylou2 April 26, 2009

The flavors were great and this was very simple to prepare. The aromas were awesome, we could hardly wait for it to be done. Delicious recipe, I prepared as written and it was perfect. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lee s. February 09, 2008

What a wonderful roast! The aroma is absolutely intoxicating. I pulsed all of the rub ingredients together in my food processor (Magic Bullet), slathered the paste on the roast and then I wrapped the roast tightly in aluminum foil before I placed it in the crock pot. I will be making this roast again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mercy September 05, 2007
Porketta Style Roast (Crock Pot)