Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Porked Sauerkraut Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Porked Sauerkraut

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2002

      This is a dish I think I had before in Munich. It is fantastic...wonderful....!!The pork was moist, tender, flavorful! The sauerkraut was a beautiful caramel color, and so flavorful. I cannot tell you how much we enjoyed this dish. San Antonio has a huge German population too, but I have not had a dish like this here yet. Thank you so much for posting this remarkable recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      Wow! I thought this would be a bit tricky, but it was really easy & delish. The first time I made them, I put the rib in with the meat-side up, which was a mistake ... much harder to fish out the cartilage, fat & bones that way. Worked better the next time 'round! I took this to my Polish mother-in-law's house for a family get-together ... she is the "sauerkraut queen" -- nobody can make it like she does. However, everybody raved about my version & had several helpings & asked to take home the left-overs! Thanks so much for this super recipe ... I am now the "sauerkraut queen" in the family (what a distinction, eh?) !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      This is the way my German-descended mother did it when I was a kid. It took some searching to find this utterly simple and delicious method. The others I tried weren't cooked long enough or had too many ingredients. The meat falls apart and the sauerkraut is really cooked down, almost like a condiment. Mom served it with mashed potatoes and milk gravy. Total comfort!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

    • on November 12, 2006

      Great recipe! My Polish family never made kraut with sugar, so I was looking for one without it, and this is it! Makes the whole house smell great while roasting.. This is the only kraut recipe I need, thanks for sharing..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      I made this today, New Years day, because it was always a tradition to have pork and sauerkraut on New Years Day. I was craving some comfort food and I declare this the absolute BEST ever.My husband says the same. I will never make it any other way. I made one change in honor of my mother and used 2 onions instead of one.(my mother never made a thing with only one onion). I also served it with a larger version of speatzle.Thanx for the recipe and we are looking forward to the leftovers. Note: The only reason there are leftovers is because there are only 3 of us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2005

      A former co-worker from Germany used to make this sometimes (because I begged her :)). She even told me how to make it, but I never wrote the recipe down. I have looked at many pork and sauerkraut recipes on Zaar, but when I saw this I knew it was THE ONE! Since I am only cooking for one, I cut down the recipe a bit. I used a pork shoulder steak (about 1.5 lbs) and only one bag of saurkraut (Boars Head brand). I used the whole amount of beer and onions and sprinkled 1/4 teaspoon caraway seeds over before baking. I also had my doubts about the plastic wrap, but it turned out fine. I served it over mashed potatoes...Divine!!! Thank you Mysterygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2004

      This is excellent! I love to make something that takes all day and makes the kitchen smell wonderful and this did the trick. I was really leary about the plastic wrap but it worked fine. I served this on mashed potatoes the first night, after that I mixed in some bbq sauce, yes bbq sauce and saurkraut! who would have thought, and had it on hamburger buns, it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Porked Sauerkraut

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 38.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    26%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 751.7 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pork rib racks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites