Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Yu-Shiang Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Yu-Shiang

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2009

      This is an excellent option for a half a pork loin! I needed to avoid some of the heat for milder tastes in the family so I used 2 dried chiles and no Sriracha (although personally I adore the stuff and think the dish would be awesome with it). I doubled the sauce and it seemed about right for how I served it (with steamed rice). I used 4 cups of frozen Asian veggies (broccoli, baby corn, water chestnuts, etc.) and sauteed per package instructions before continuing with the recipe directions #14 and up. The type of vinegar wasn't specified so I used cider vinegar... the sauce had a bit more tang than I would have preferred so next time I think I'll try rice wine vinegar. When I do I'll update this review. All in all, an excellent dish that is a permanent addition to my cookbook. Thanks Bethany for sharing! Update 4-27: Rice Wine Vinegar was perfect, love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      Delicious! I am poor, and this was cheap after a few changes. I used one chicken breast cubed (frozen, defrosted in the microwave), pre-minced garlic and ginger (a full table spoon of garlic, who can fault me?), flour instead of corn starch and crushed red pepper instead of whole dried peppers. I didnt measure, I just shook until I felt like it was enough (maybe a teaspoon or two?). Plus a bag of frozen "stir-fry" mixed veggie.

      I had all the expensive stuff on hand (sherry - $8 a bottle, Soy sauce - $3 a bottle, and vinigar at $4 a bottle) and still have plenty of all left. Buying the expensive stuff for this dish is well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      This was delicious, and although the recipe looks somewhat complicated it was very easy to make. Next time I'll make sure to use good quality pork, because this time I used cheap pork that I got on sale. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This was excellent!! I made a few changes as suggested in other reviews, namely the use of 5-Spice Powder and the Cilantro topping. I also used more vegetables and a bit less hot sauce. I also think I will make more of the sauce forthe dish andsince it thickened so fast I will make it a bit more dilute. I will certainly make this again. Thank You!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Wow. I used two larger thai chilis from my garden (wow--hot!) & half package of pork tenderloin (is that one tenderloin, or half a tenderloin?). My veggies: broccoli (one head + stem), a carrot, an onion, 4 oz. mushrooms & a sweet pepper. And I even bought some garlic chili sauce. Overall, a wonderful stir-fry I'll be making again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Delicious. This smells so good and tastes wonderful! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      This was fabulous! I followed the recipe, leaving out the chili-garlic sauce. My vegies were a combination of carrot, celery, red pepper, zucchini & cabbage (we love lotsa veg). I think I'll double the sauce next time. Served with jasmine rice for a great dinner. Thanks for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      I love finding a recipe that taste authentic right from home! I added some 5 spice to this, wish I had doubled the sauce as we had this on udon noodles. The recipe otherwise is very easy and flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      VEGAN REVIEW - We loved this!! I skipped the ginger, doubled the sauce as suggested and cooked onions and half the sauce in with the "pork" - we do not eat meat so we made this with auropro meat sub in pork flavor and it was awesome!! Pork flavored seitan would work as well!! For our veggies we did sugar snap peas, so yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      Yummy! I loved this. I used two thick pork loin chops and sliced them thin before marinading them. I did add about a tablespoon of soy sauce to the marinade. Then, stir fried it and served with jasmine rice. I realized I forgot to add the sugar to the sauce, but it was still delish anyways. I'll remember next time. Thank for sharing. Pam

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      Other than pork chops, we rarely cook pork dishes, but when I saw this recipe, it was one that I had to try out. Good thing I did for my children enjoyed the dish. I used chinese cooking wine ( shao xing ) instead of the sherry because that was what I had. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      I made this tonight and it was terrific. I will admit to sprinkling hot pepper flakes on my DH's plate before serving instead of cooking in the oil. I used broccoli stems, carrots, red peppers and green onions. I doubled the sauce but think I will triple it next time and there will be a next time! Thanks for putting in the years of searching for the recipe, it was well worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      We really enjoyed this dish...yum...just like at a restaurant. It was very easy to put togeather - I did half the oil as we have a non-stick wok. I have never used whole dried chili peppers before...it was quite exiting watching them grow plump in the sizzling oil. It added a nice heat to the dish. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2005

      i love making my own take out and your site is very good thanks for posting dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      Dh really liked this meal.I topped the finished dish with green onion. I believe WaterMelon's suggestion of adding 5spice powder is a good one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2005

      This is soooo delicious! I did make some changes - didn't use any vegetables, and added 1 tsp 5spice powder with the pork 'marinade'. And sprinkled with a bunch of chopped cilantro before serving. Thanks for the fantastic and easy dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      Very flavourful dish. Easy to make too. For the vegetables I used carrots, red pepper and mushrooms. I sauteed the mushrooms separately and added just to heat, when I returned the pork to the pan. I cut down on the amount of oil used to a total of 1 1/2 tablespoons in order to lower the calorie count.Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Yu-Shiang

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 357.0
     
    Calories from Fat 253
    70%
    Total Fat 28.1 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 56.9 mg
    18%
    Sodium 729.8 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 17.4 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    assorted fresh vegetables

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites