17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an excellent option for a half a pork loin! I needed to avoid some of the heat for milder tastes in the family so I used 2 dried chiles and no Sriracha (although personally I adore the stuff and think the dish would be awesome with it). I doubled the sauce and it seemed about right for how I served it (with steamed rice). I used 4 cups of frozen Asian veggies (broccoli, baby corn, water chestnuts, etc.) and sauteed per package instructions before continuing with the recipe directions #14 and up. The type of vinegar wasn't specified so I used cider vinegar... the sauce had a bit more tang than I would have preferred so next time I think I'll try rice wine vinegar. When I do I'll update this review. All in all, an excellent dish that is a permanent addition to my cookbook. Thanks Bethany for sharing! Update 4-27: Rice Wine Vinegar was perfect, love this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slim PA April 27, 2009

Delicious! I am poor, and this was cheap after a few changes. I used one chicken breast cubed (frozen, defrosted in the microwave), pre-minced garlic and ginger (a full table spoon of garlic, who can fault me?), flour instead of corn starch and crushed red pepper instead of whole dried peppers. I didnt measure, I just shook until I felt like it was enough (maybe a teaspoon or two?). Plus a bag of frozen "stir-fry" mixed veggie.

I had all the expensive stuff on hand (sherry - $8 a bottle, Soy sauce - $3 a bottle, and vinigar at $4 a bottle) and still have plenty of all left. Buying the expensive stuff for this dish is well worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KMalone223 August 05, 2012

This was delicious, and although the recipe looks somewhat complicated it was very easy to make. Next time I'll make sure to use good quality pork, because this time I used cheap pork that I got on sale. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG October 09, 2009

This was excellent!! I made a few changes as suggested in other reviews, namely the use of 5-Spice Powder and the Cilantro topping. I also used more vegetables and a bit less hot sauce. I also think I will make more of the sauce forthe dish andsince it thickened so fast I will make it a bit more dilute. I will certainly make this again. Thank You!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PJH January 28, 2009

Wow. I used two larger thai chilis from my garden (wow--hot!) & half package of pork tenderloin (is that one tenderloin, or half a tenderloin?). My veggies: broccoli (one head + stem), a carrot, an onion, 4 oz. mushrooms & a sweet pepper. And I even bought some garlic chili sauce. Overall, a wonderful stir-fry I'll be making again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anonymous23 December 16, 2008

Delicious. This smells so good and tastes wonderful! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fofi October 29, 2008

This was fabulous! I followed the recipe, leaving out the chili-garlic sauce. My vegies were a combination of carrot, celery, red pepper, zucchini & cabbage (we love lotsa veg). I think I'll double the sauce next time. Served with jasmine rice for a great dinner. Thanks for sharing this keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl October 03, 2008

I love finding a recipe that taste authentic right from home! I added some 5 spice to this, wish I had doubled the sauce as we had this on udon noodles. The recipe otherwise is very easy and flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela P. February 15, 2008

VEGAN REVIEW - We loved this!! I skipped the ginger, doubled the sauce as suggested and cooked onions and half the sauce in with the "pork" - we do not eat meat so we made this with auropro meat sub in pork flavor and it was awesome!! Pork flavored seitan would work as well!! For our veggies we did sugar snap peas, so yummy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brokedownrage August 29, 2007

Yummy! I loved this. I used two thick pork loin chops and sliced them thin before marinading them. I did add about a tablespoon of soy sauce to the marinade. Then, stir fried it and served with jasmine rice. I realized I forgot to add the sugar to the sauce, but it was still delish anyways. I'll remember next time. Thank for sharing. Pam

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am May 31, 2007
Pork Yu-Shiang