Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork, Veal, or Chicken Schnitzel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork, Veal, or Chicken Schnitzel

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2011

      This is by far THE best chicken schnitzel I have ever eaten. I only wish I'd had some lemon to squeeze on top! So authentic and I'm so so happy you posted this CarrolJ! This will be a regular in our house and I wouldn't even hesitate making it for guests. Thanks a bunch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Wow Carrol I love this, I used chicken and managed to get it pounded quite thin. I thought the pepper might be a bit much but it was just right, I think that mix of water, egg, salt and pepper, gave it that wonderful base flavour. Like other reviews I would love to try the pork. I used panko, that I got at the Asian supermarket. this I most definitely will make again DH said it was just the kind of food he likes. I served it with Potatoes With Rosemary#369902 and they went very well together. Thank you for posting. Made for ZWT#6 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Great recipe!! I've always wondered how to make schnitzel & now I know. I think I will fry our chicken like this from now on. The chicken was "falling apart" tender and not dry at all. And LOVED the breading!Thank you so much- made for ZWT6 and the Xtra Hot Dishes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      We loved this! I used boneless pork steak and homemade bread crumbs. It was perfectly seasoned, cooked up great and looked pretty to boot. No doubt in my mind I'll make this again. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      This is really similar to the way I've always made schnitzel. But, I really like the way yours seasons the egg. I had been seasoning the flour, and I think the flavors come through better with the egg. Try it with a little fresh lemon squeezed on it. Delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Couldn't be easier or tastier! your directions were really good too. DH gives it 5 stars, which is a rare score. His words "Couldn't make it any better than that". Thanks for a new recipe for my Keeper cookbook! Made for ZWT6 by a Looney Spooner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      We can see why this is a favorite at CarrolJ's house. Her explicit dipping directions guarantee an attractive crispy coating over very tender and tasty meat. Thank you for sharing an authentic recipe. We look forward to tomorrow's leftovers, if they last that long.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      I used pork loin cut into slices. I did use panko for the breadcrumbs and thought the crust was crispy and nice. This was great and will make again. Served it with Simple Apple Fritters.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      I skipped the step where you kept them in the oven on paper towels as I was only making three pork chops. Pounded them to about 1/2 inch thick and they cooked up quickly. Served with mushroom and herb couscous. Fantastic! Add this to my list of comfort foods. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Ate too much and just about essssssploded. Made for Family Picks ZWT #6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      I made this with boneless pork chops that I pounded thin and it was very flavorful. Pounding them thin made them cook super fast which was good! The only thing I didn't like about it (not really a fault of the recipe) is that the breading fell off when cutting them...but still very tasty. Made for ZWT6 Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      10 stars if I could!! We really loved this! You are right, I pounded this so thin, that I got 5 nice-sized pieces out of 2 boneless chicken breasts. I was out of wax paper, so I used 2 large, sturdy freezer bags. This worked out well, cuz I left them in the bags to chill. I did use homemade, seasoned breadcrumbs that were about 3 days old. And the fresh lemon really put this over the top! Just so easy and so tasty! Thanks for posting Carrol. Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      No worries about taste here, fabulous and very satisfying for the ol' tummy! Perfect recipe, this is nothing to mess with here, just make it as instructed. I would love to use pork next time, but I did use chicken which I pounded nicely. Had no troubles keeping on coating, and just adored this recipe! Made for ZWT #6 May 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      I was a little worried that this would be bland but it wasn't at all. My family loved it! Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      This made a really nice, tender schnitzel, Vienna style (Wienerschnitzel). I had a little trouble with my chicken falling apart while dredging it, but in the end the coatings worked well and the ragged edges were decorative, not offensive. All this needs is some pommes frites and a Pilsener. Made for Zaar World tour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      We loved this! Doubled the recipe and used two chicken breasts cut horizontally to make 4 schnitzels - really nicely seasoned, served with salad for ZWT6 Ya Ya's. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe Carrol. I made the schnitzel with lean bnls pork loin chops and will definitely make again. Served with fresh steamed greens beans, Kish's German Fried Potatoes, and Light Wheat Beer Bread. DH is still smiling :) Made for German/ Benelux region of ZWT 6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

    • on December 12, 2009

      I made this on 12/11/09, for the " Let's P-A-R-T-Y 2009 " event , and for mine and SO's dinner. I used two boneless pork loin chops, pounded thin, and procceded with the rest of the recipe as it written. This recipe was easy to make and even easier to eat. This was served with exactly what my Mom( German heritage )would serve with schnitzel, fried potatoes and boiled cabbage. This will be made again. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      This is also the way I was taught by MIL, whose family ran a Gasthaus in Bavaria. Deelish. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork, Veal, or Chicken Schnitzel

    Serving Size: 1 (405 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1134.3
     
    Calories from Fat 592
    52%
    Total Fat 65.8 g
    101%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 261.5 mg
    87%
    Sodium 2932.1 mg
    122%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.3 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 45.2 g
    90%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites