30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really YUM. I have almost made this with worcester sauce when I had run out of soya sauce and it was even better! Have made it this way ever since.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tildie June 01, 2009

Easy, easy, easy and very tasty to boot. I doubled the recipe for my family of 7. I didn't have any ketchup so I substituted 8 oz of tomato sauce + added 1/2 cup of additional water. I also added a pinch of cayenne pepper. Made for a great sauce that was savory, a bit sweet, and spicy. I cooked for the full time and the meat was so tender. Will be putting this on my monthly menu choice list!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandCrew May 26, 2014

My husband and I were not fans of this recipe. All we tasted was the onion soup mix. I even added more brown sugar & kethcup to the recipe hoping to make it a bit sweeter, but still the onion mix overpowered all the flavors. I would not make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindachi February 08, 2012

For some reason, this sauce didn't taste all that great to us. The onion soup mix was overpowering. I've made many other recipes for pork steaks (with and without soup mix) and this is one that I just can't recommend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brenda February 06, 2012

Fantastic! These pork chops got rave reviews from the whole family. I can't remember the last pork chop dinner that EVERYONE liked! 5 stars well deserved!!! I'll definitely make these again. To top it all off, it was a simple recipe to make. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaltnPepa January 27, 2011

Fourth star for the sauce. The cooking time is way over the top. The sauce, though, is delicious. My gf made this for me for my birthday (out of recipes I'd printed from Zaar), and it was really good, but the cooking time was deceiving, leading her to cook it too long. This sauce, we all agreed, would probably work great on beef, pork, or chicken, but not as instructed here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cluich June 24, 2010

The basic recipe for the sauce was great. I used a reduced sugar ketchup and added more water, as suggested. Unfortunately, my chops were way overdone. I think next time I will just render down the sauce in a separate pan and pour over cooked pork and rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceashel March 10, 2010

This earns five stars from DH for the taste. Personally, I'm not a huge pork steak fan but I give this recipe five stars because it took me five minutes to prepare and didn't make a huge mess in the kitchen. Even better, my 4-year-old asked for seconds and cleaned her plate! And, even though pork steak isn't my favorite, I didn't have any problems cleaning my plate, either. Served with rice and acorn squash. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 June 12, 2009

Really tasty pork and sauce. Nice onion flavor. Will be making this again soon. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn June 11, 2009
Pork Steak/Chop Sauce