63 Reviews

Barbara,this recipe is delicious!! It really is fork tender,and my husband says it's a keeper. I changed one thing~~~I must be the only person in the world that dosen't like dry onion soup mix,I used instead a can of french onion soup. I didn't use the water,and the gravy turned out perfect.Oh,I did chop the mushrooms. I want to thank you very much for sharing this recipe.Also thank you for the review on my Chicken Ala Booze.I posted a thank you on the Message Board and Thank You's.But I guess you never check in.Come join in the forum's it's a lot of fun.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 920429 October 21, 2002

Barb this is a fabulous dinner! I made it this weekend for 6 people and everyone commented on it being so tasty and tender. I used fresh mushrooms and just added one extra spoon of Worcestershire sauce do to the extra two servings and it was great. Everyone says thank you for such a great recipe. This is one I'll be doing quite regular when I have company. Thanks for sharing it with me. Chuck

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chuck in Killbuck July 08, 2003

All I can say is O M G!!!! Awesome dish. I used beef cubed steak instead of pork cause that's all I had at the time and it turned out great!! So delicious with the mashed potatoes, Mashed Red Potatoes With Garlic and Parmesan, I fixed with it!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in NC August 05, 2003

This was absolutely delicious! I made everything in one pan on top of the stove. I simmered it all for about 1 1/2 hrs. Turned out very tender and I couldn't keep myself from sampling all the while it was simmering. Made stuffing to go with it and had Sydney Mike's Creamy Corn #471459 on the side. This truly was a wonderful meal tonight, everything was so good.
Made for I Recommend Tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 January 08, 2012

Delicious recipe! A definite keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess January 17, 2003

Scaled this back to 2 servings, which doesn't always work. Pork was still excellent.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buzz January 11, 2003

Cooked exactly as directed but halved the recipe since it was only hubbs and I. He loved it, I did too! Will definitely save this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pondowatto January 04, 2015

My Husband and I enjoyed this recipe even though it had a bit of a liver flavor. Perhaps it was the beef cube steaks I used. I will try the pork steaks next time. It was easy to assemble and the gravy was delicious with the sauted onions. Thank you for the recipe !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry & Carl May 24, 2014

This recipe is identical to the recipe I created and submitted to allrecipes.com entitled "Iowa Pork Steak" some years ago. My recipe on that site has 240 reviews. This is a tasty recipe for a cheap cut of meat, which turns out very tender. Men really seem to enjoy this recipe, especially with mashed potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catmaniacs July 16, 2013
Pork Steak