Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Shirataki Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Shirataki

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2013

      We really enjoyed this! However I am obliged to add the caveat: I'm apparently incapable of following a recipe to its instructions. So this is what I did: halved the recipe and made with ground turkey instead of pork. Mixed quarter recipe of marinade and turkey well, added a bit of panko and wasabi to mixture, and let sit overnight. Parboiled shirataki for 3 mins as instructed on package while the turkey mixture cooked in the wok. Added other half of marinade mixture (with corn starch) to wok along with assorted veggies, followed by noodles and a few dashes of crushed red pepper. As this was also my first time using these noodles I wasn't sure what to expect, turns out DH never suspected he was eating turkey OR tofu. YES!!!!! It's a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      I haven't made this yet, so I cannot comment on the flavor, but I just wanted to add that you could easily cut out 3g carbs per serving without affecting flavor by replacing the corn starch with Konjaku, guar, or xanthan powder (all-fiber thickeners so effectively zero net carbs). You could further reduce the carb count by 4.3g/serving by replacing the honey with stevia or truvia, but that would affect the flavor, and I don't know how much, but for those on very low carb diets these 2 changes can help get this meal down to only 8.5 carbs/serving--almost half the original!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      This was the first time I've ever cooked shirataki. It was wonderful! I didn't feel like waiting for the meat to marinate so I used ground pork and made the sauce while cooking the meat. I used 3 TB Korean red pepper and half as much honey (I like spicy food). I also added matchstick celery for crunch. Great recipe! I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      I did not use the noodles, but served it on a leaf of napa cabbage, rolled up, like an eggroll. It was fantastic! I did add a bit of extra ginger and garlic, because I really like both flavors strong. Otherwise, I didn't change anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      This was my first time cooking with the Shirataki noodles! I marinated the pork overnight and it all came together on the stove really quickly. This has a nice slightly sweet and spicy flavor like what you would find at an authentic Chinese restaurant...it's not greasy or heavy. And the noodles are excellent low carb pasta substitute! I will definitely be making this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      We really enjoyed this dish. I did not have shirataki noodles so I used vermicelli noodles. I also reduced the red pepper flakes to 1/4 tsp, and used a 1/2 tsp of dried ginger as that was all I had. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      Hi MizEmeril, just wanted to let you know that your Pork Shirataki is on high rotation at our house! It's such a tasty recipe and I've started keeping some pork in the freezer just in case the urge hits. I usually throw in whatever vegetables I have and have been serving over rice because I couldn't find the Shirataki noodles in Australia, but now that I'm in Canada and groceries are all new again I'll see what I can find at the supermarket. Anyway, love your work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      This was wonderful and very easy. Due to last minute changes in my dinner plans, this ended up marinating for almost two days, but still turned out beautifully. Next time I'll use a red pepper, just for color and add a few pea pods as well. I used somen noodles, as I couldn't find the shirataki but I think angel hair pasta would work as well. I'll be making this often. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2005

      MizEm, this is wonderful! I couldn't find the shirataki, but I'm sure if I had the time, I could have found them at my Asian market. Anyway, I used whole wheat spaghetti instead--still delicious. If you freeze your chops for 20 minutes or so, they're really easy to slice thinly. Marinated all afternoon. I didn't use sesame oil in the pan to stir fry, because it gets so smoky, so I used olive oil--and did the peppers and onions first so they weren't so crunchy (dh preference), then added the pork. When it was cooked through, I added the noodles and sauce with cornstarch. We LOVED this. Had it with SueL's Ginger Broccoli, #82896 which was great on the side, and a green salad with Carrot Ginger dressing. We'll definitely have this one again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Shirataki

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.9
     
    Calories from Fat 203
    48%
    Total Fat 22.6 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 117.6 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1230.4 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 38.1 g
    76%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh ginger

    shirataki noodles

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites