Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Roast the Old-Fashion Way (Cast Iron Dutch Oven) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Roast the Old-Fashion Way (Cast Iron Dutch Oven)

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2010

      Delicious! The way a pork roast should be made....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      I can't write enough about this recipe. The gravy was fantastic, and the meat was superb! This is on par with my grandmother's pork roast recipe, and that's saying something because she was a fine southern cook! Again, you can't go wrong with this recipe. Try it, you won't be disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      We got a dutch oven for Christmas and pork roasts were on sale for 99 cents/lb. I guess this meal was meant to be!! The whole family LOVED this! In fact, we went back to the store and bought more roasts to put in the freezer so we wouldn't have to go too long without!! Thanks, Peg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This is an wonderful recipe. My wife and I had a pork roast cook off for a large group and although her's was great we all agreed this one was better. I didn't have lard though so i bacon wrapped the entire roast it was amazing. I also cooked the roast in my 14" dutch oven a little longer a little over two hours .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      A incredibly easy flavorful recipe just meant for trying out my new Le Creuset dutch oven. This was so easy and so good....will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I didn't have any Kitchen Bouquet, so I used sage. The roast did turn out very tender and the gravy was spectacular. I was a bit disappointed with the flavor of the meat, though. Next time, I'll marinate it, I think...Lovely recipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      This turned out perfect. And I mean perfect. I haven't made a pork roast with so much juiciness ever. We loved it. The leftovers have been coveted ingredients. I am looking forward to making this again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      That was the best ! I made up my own Kitchen Bouquet since I didn't know what it was. Other than that ..... we loved it ! Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      This recipe for pork roast is excellent exactly as it is. The meat was moist and tender, and the gravy was absolutely wonderful. I saved the leftover gravy, and a couple of days later we had hot pork and gravy with mashed potatoes. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Works great every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      My husband says this could be one of hte best things I have ever made. I followed the recipe closely but I subbed the Kitchen Bouquet with rosemarry, I also addded a little garlic powder to the rub and used olive oil instead of lard (as a health choice). I love my dutch oven. It makes it easy to cook delicious meals for a large family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This is exceptionally good. Use the recipe exactly as it is written! Yummy! and my kids loved it as well!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      One word - AMAZING!! Followed this recipe to a "T" with a 5lb Pork Loin Roast. Simply amazing! My whole family loved it and were sopping up the gravy with anything they could. Will make this again and again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      Perfect! I was looking for an oven recipe for my roast because I was tired of the crock pot method...I made this as the recipe was written except for the gravy and it came out just wonderful. I got rave after rave on it from the family. They want all my roasts made this way from now on. Using the Kitchen Bouquet made it very tasty. After the roast was done, I placed it on a plate and poured off most of the juices in a bowl...I then cut up some potatoes and put them in the dutch oven and returned it to the oven till they were done. This made great potatoes to go along with the roast and green beans. Next time I am going to have mashed potatoes and gravy with it. Thanks Peg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      This is in my oven now. And its already drawn attention of two hungry teens. "MOM! What smells sooo good?" I have a 7 1/2 pound roast that I browned per directions, dusted on thyme, and salt. We are not big pepper fans. And am giving it 5 stars because I can tell this is going to be very much enjoyed by all. Thanks for posting. It's been added to my zaar cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Excellent way to cook a pork roast. I use cast iron a lot and this was just a perfect recipe. The roast was very tender and the gravy was delicious. I will probably make some pork manhattans tomorrow with mashed potatoes. Made just as directed. Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks Peg for an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      Good and easy to do, very moist, not really roasted at all, and that is the one thing I didn't like, almost steamed in the wonderful gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      Turned out good, nice and tender. Didn't use lard, used cooking oil instead with good results. Very easy to prepare without a great amount of time needed to create a nice dinner. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      So easy and so tender!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      GREAT! I think my husband could have drank the gravy. Even my mother-in-law raved about it! Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Roast the Old-Fashion Way (Cast Iron Dutch Oven)

    Serving Size: 1 (506 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 635.6
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    28%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 316.0 mg
    105%
    Sodium 850.8 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 100.3 g
    200%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Kitchen Bouquet

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites