Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Roast the Old-Fashion Way (Cast Iron Dutch Oven) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Roast the Old-Fashion Way (Cast Iron Dutch Oven)

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2013

      We thoroughly enjoyed this dish. I don't have much experience cooking with my dutch oven but it sounded like the perfect way to cook the pork roast we had. It was a center cut pork loin roast and I have never tried cooking anything like that before. We didn't have kitchen bouquet but I would like to try this recipe again with it. Instead I used what I had, beef broth with sugar added. It looked and smelled wonderful as it browned on the stovetop. Then it went into the oven. When it was done, the meat was tender and cut easily! It wasn't tough at all! The flavor was wonderful. The only thing I didn't get was the cornstarch in the drippings. Perhaps it's because I tried to monkey with the recipe here. Instead of adding the cornstarch to 1/2 c water, I removed about half a cup of the drippings and mixed it with that and then added it to the rest of the drippings. I don't know if the drippings were supposed to thicken but mine didn't really thicken at all so the gravy was thin on the plate. I will definitely try this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2013

      Made as directed using a 3# loin roast. 1/2'd the ingredients and followed the temperature but used meat thermometer to check roast for 140 degrees. After I removed the roast, I blended the mixture, cooked the liquid down a bit and wisked in flour and water (not cornstarch.) The next time, I will add some herbs (sage?) and more onions, garlic, pepper, etc. All in all, PDG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      I will never make a different pork roast! AMAZING!<br/><br/>I haven't heard of Kitchen Bouquet, but after looking at the description it sounded like Maggi Sazaonador, which I did have in my fridge. I used it exactly as the Kitchen Bouquet is used in the recipe.<br/><br/>I do not have a cast-iron pan, so I actually browned the meat in a skillet. I lined my baking dish with foil, and let it heat up a bit in the oven with the onions, garlic and lard. Then, put my meat in there and followed the rest as instructed. <br/><br/>It did take a lot longer than 15 minutes per lb to cook, which wasn't a big deal at all. <br/><br/>I let it rest for a while after cooking, then transferred the meat to a tupperware and the juices to a pan to make gravy. No additional seasonings were needed; it was wonderful! My kids did say it "looked gross", but that's because I almost never make gravy from scratch, so they are used to the stuff made from an envelope. They quickly stopped talking nonsense when they got to taste it!<br/><br/>DEFINITELY will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      This was pretty good, but I prefer the "fall off the bone" tenderness of a crockpot pork roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      Excellent pork roast recipe. I used a 5 pound boneless pork loin roast and made a few minor changes. I used a spice rub of 1 teaspoon each dried rosemary, dried thyme and dried basil with some salt and black pepper. I rubbed this all over the roast prior to browning. I didn't have Kitchen Bouquet but did have Gravy Master, so I used that instead. When it came time to make the gravy, I used flour instead of cornstarch (just a personal preference). I have a feeling that the leftovers will be awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      Delicious and easy! I didn't have the Kitchen Bouquet, but I used some chicken stock with a bit of soy and Worcestershire sauce added for flavor. It cut with a butter knife it was so tender, not quite pulled pork level though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      Fantastic. Absolutely fantastic. I used bacon grease to brown, cooked in an enameled dutch oven, and thickened with flour. Served with roasted carrots and sweet potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      FANTASTIC!!! I made this for dinner last night and my children and husband had 2nds! They said "this ones a keeper..for sure!". Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      I got a Lodge dutch oven for Christmas and I needed to try it out. I'm glad I tried this one first as it was an excellent way to enjoy a pork roast, Very easy recipe and a moist and delicious pork roast that also made excellent sandwiches later. I also used bacon grease as suggested by a previous reviewer and it was very good. Thanks Peg, its a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      This was super-easy and turned out delicious! I had a very small roast, less than 2 pounds, and I cooked it in a lidded cast iron pot, using the lard, onion and garlic, on my stove top. I didn't have Kitchen Bouquet, so I caramelized a little sugar for color, then substituted some homemade stock and dark beer for the water, I scaled every thing by about one half. The pork was quite lean, but is tender and not dry. I'll cook it again this way, maybe adding some thyme or rosemary next time. (Not that any extra herbs are necessary, but just for variety.) Thank you very much for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      This was a great way to make my pork roast today. Was moist tender an yummy!. I ended up not being able to use it when I pulled it out of the oven but wanted it to be warm when we came home so I popped it into our crock pot on warm. I blended the cooked onion and garlic into my drippings before thickening them. I used two beef bullion cubes instead of the kitche bouquet. I used butter to brown it. I cooked it (4 lbs pork butt bone in) for 1.5 hrs before putting it on warm for a couple of hours in the crock pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      Five stars! This was outstanding! I used my dutch oven and the only thing I did differently from the recipe was to add root veggies the last 45 minutes (carrots, potatoes, onions). Put them to the side while I made the gravy. Even better the second day. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      I made this as written in my dutch oven. The meat was nice and tender and the gravy was fantastic. I served it with mashed potatoes and fresh green beans. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      Oh WOW! Who cares that beef prices are thru the roof. This pork roast was hands down the best pork roast I have ever cooked. I thawed two roasts accidently and chose this recipe knowing I needed the leftovers to not be so heavily seasoned that I couldn't use them in another dish. I followed the directions 100% (just to see if I could) and the results were divine. Gravy was delicious, the roast was sooo moist and flavorful and all from things I had on hand. I liked that you could still taste the pork. I served this with mashed potatoes, green beans and a green salad. It would be sinful not to make mashed potatoes just to serve as a vehicle for all the wonderful gravy this recipe makes. Dessert is 7 layer bar cookies. Comfort food at its finest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      This is by far the best Pork Roast I have ever made. I rubbed the roast with rosemary also and added potatoes to the pot - DELICIOUS! The gravy is scrumptious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

    • on May 02, 2011

      Try it... you'll LOVE it! It was simply delicious!!! I used a 4 lbs, bone-in pork roast and I cooked it in my Griswold cast iron dutch oven exactly per the directions. I was amazed at the flavor of the pork roast and gravy. My picky eater kids both loved it. The onions and garlic just melted away and disappeared into the dark, rich, tasty gravy. First time EVER using Kitchen Bouquet and wow does it make a wonderful gravy. A few days later, I reheated the leftover pork and gravy with some sauteed mushrooms and peppers and served over rice...OMG, delicious! Not your usual "leftovers".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      This is what a roast should taste like! I have tried and tried many different roasts and they never turn out like I think they should. Not enough flavor, not the right flavor, etc.... This one was perfect! The gravy was delicious and the pork was nice and tender. I did cook mine longer than the time you suggested but my meat had been in the freezer for quite a long time so I think it just needed the extra time. Will be making sandwiches on rosemary garlic rolls for dinner tonight! Will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      Resurrected, cleaned & re-seasoned my old Dutch oven - the roast was tender and flavorful, but I felt the gravy needed more seasoning, particularly salt & pepper. Didn't have lard OR bacon, so I just used oil. Very good for left overs too

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      After living in France I had always wanted a LeCreuset French(Dutch) oven. It appeared under the Christmas tree this year. This pork roast recipe was so easy to prepare in the LeCreuset. I used white wine instead of water. We're snowed in today and I didn't have onion or vegetables so I sprinkled onion soup mix over it. (Don't salt if you do this.) After 1hr45 minutes at 350 degrees the pork was tender. enouth to cut with a pork. My husband and picky 8 year old LOVED it. I served with rice, spinach and a green salad with my own vinaigrette. Easy, thrown together meal that turned out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Roast the Old-Fashion Way (Cast Iron Dutch Oven)

    Serving Size: 1 (506 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 635.6
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    28%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 316.0 mg
    105%
    Sodium 850.8 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 100.3 g
    200%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Kitchen Bouquet

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites