70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow. Despite the various substitutions and "make-do"s that I had to do...this was by far the easiest and best pork roast I have ever made. My husband and 2 1/2 year old twin boys agree. I used 2T cold bacon fat instead of lard, I used 1 cup beef broth, 1 cup water, season salt and dried parsley instead of the Bouquet/water mix, and I did all the "before oven" steps in my cast iron skillet, then transferred everything into my giant ceramic dutch iven type pot that I let preheat with the oven. Then, since my adventuresome twins have long since broken the ceramic top, I covered as tightly as possible with foil. And it still came out beautifully. AND it was perfect after only and hour. And the gravy?? Oh my goodness, no other gravy will ever be good enough again, this one was soooo perfect...THANK YOU!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dazy March 14, 2011

Okay. This is the second thing that I've cooked in our Le Cruset Dutch Oven that we got from our friend Betty at our wedding. I used olive oil and butter to brown. I didn't have any onions so I omitted those and the garlic. I just rubbed it with salt, white pepper, and the "Tuscan Sunset" seasonings from Pensey Spices that we have. I put in 2 Cups of Chicken Broth and set it in the oven. The recipe called for an hour, but it took almost 1:45 to cook the entire roast to 160 degrees.

I just added some corn starch/water mixture to the juice and brought it to a boil then strained it.

Amazing. I'll be serving this with mashed potatoes (I boil the Yukon Gold Potatoes in Heavy Cream and Milk and then use half of that and some butter before I mash - thanks Tyler!) and some carrots!

Awesome!!!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scotmotzny October 29, 2010

I just purchased a Le Creuset 7.5 Dutch Oven -- A dream of having one is over 30 yrs old.. I made this recipe and IT WAS AWESOME!!! It was the best pork roast I had ever eaten. I used olive oil instead of the lard for a more healthy choice. I never liked pork gravy until I tried this one. I will make this recipe again...

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShadowWalker04 March 28, 2011

This is an awesome recipe! I was very skeptical of making a pork roast like this. I usually do mine in the crock pot on low for 8 hours so the meat is nice and tender. This roast came out very tender...no knife needed! The best part was I took the leftovers and shredded it up and added some Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ Sauce and had pulled pork BBQ sandwiches the next day. Definitely a keeper!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kubber January 23, 2010

The old-fashioned ways are usually the best -- and this is no exception. Delicious, juicy and tender roast. To add more flavor to the gravy I used beer instead of water, and because I had a smaller bone-in roast (about 2.5#) I cooked by temperature instead of time. Took it out of the oven at 140 degrees, had about ten degrees of layover heat, and it was perfect!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SDB August 21, 2010

This turned out wonderfully! I didn't have any lard so I used an equal amount of bacon grease (which is basically bacon-flavored lard). Is there anything that bacon can't do? The roast was tender and very juicy, not dry like some I've had. I'll be making this often. Thanks for posting this. I can see why you've been making this for 50 years, Peg. I hope I can enjoy this for many years to come, too.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redox December 20, 2009

I'll bet your recipe for Pork Roast could beat up my recipe for Pork Roast! Used a bone-in piece of wild pig and if you know anything about that type meat, it's as tough as any can be. This rendered a very tender roast that I'd make over again. I, also, used my unburned batch of Kitchen Bouquet wanna-be. Like grandma would say, "Brown that roast good, now."

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng November 15, 2009

I followed the instructions to the letter...if this is supposed to be tender, pulled pork, it wasn't even close. Most was like a piece of rubber. Not sure where all these rave reviews are coming from,because it sure sounded too good to be true, and it was, No substitute to low and slow to break down those meat fibers. Too bad, a big waste of a 5# pork shoulder.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve J. July 18, 2014

I'm giving this recipe 5 stars for the cooking method, as I didn't use the exact recipe. I have a small cast iron pot that is very old. I had a small pre seasoned small pork shoulder roast. I used olive oil to brown it, added 1/3 c water and 1/3 c white wine and put it in the oven for 1 1/2 hours. Very tasty, juicy and tender. I did not thicken the gravy, just spooned it as it was over the slices of roast. Served it with sauted garlicky greenbeans with a teaspoon of blue cheese on top and corn on the cob. I will use this method again when I don't have the time or inclination to use a crock pot.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marym758 July 17, 2013

This was my maiden voyage with a dutch oven. This recipe made for the best pork roast I have ever had. I am cooking it again today.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chris3236 April 24, 2010
Pork Roast the Old-Fashion Way (Cast Iron Dutch Oven)