Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Roast the Old-Fashion Way (Cast Iron Dutch Oven) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Roast the Old-Fashion Way (Cast Iron Dutch Oven)

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2011

      Wow. Despite the various substitutions and "make-do"s that I had to do...this was by far the easiest and best pork roast I have ever made. My husband and 2 1/2 year old twin boys agree. I used 2T cold bacon fat instead of lard, I used 1 cup beef broth, 1 cup water, season salt and dried parsley instead of the Bouquet/water mix, and I did all the "before oven" steps in my cast iron skillet, then transferred everything into my giant ceramic dutch iven type pot that I let preheat with the oven. Then, since my adventuresome twins have long since broken the ceramic top, I covered as tightly as possible with foil. And it still came out beautifully. AND it was perfect after only and hour. And the gravy?? Oh my goodness, no other gravy will ever be good enough again, this one was soooo perfect...THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      Okay. This is the second thing that I've cooked in our Le Cruset Dutch Oven that we got from our friend Betty at our wedding. I used olive oil and butter to brown. I didn't have any onions so I omitted those and the garlic. I just rubbed it with salt, white pepper, and the "Tuscan Sunset" seasonings from Pensey Spices that we have. I put in 2 Cups of Chicken Broth and set it in the oven. The recipe called for an hour, but it took almost 1:45 to cook the entire roast to 160 degrees.

      I just added some corn starch/water mixture to the juice and brought it to a boil then strained it.

      Amazing. I'll be serving this with mashed potatoes (I boil the Yukon Gold Potatoes in Heavy Cream and Milk and then use half of that and some butter before I mash - thanks Tyler!) and some carrots!

      Awesome!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      I just purchased a Le Creuset 7.5 Dutch Oven -- A dream of having one is over 30 yrs old.. I made this recipe and IT WAS AWESOME!!! It was the best pork roast I had ever eaten. I used olive oil instead of the lard for a more healthy choice. I never liked pork gravy until I tried this one. I will make this recipe again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      This is an awesome recipe! I was very skeptical of making a pork roast like this. I usually do mine in the crock pot on low for 8 hours so the meat is nice and tender. This roast came out very tender...no knife needed! The best part was I took the leftovers and shredded it up and added some Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ Sauce and had pulled pork BBQ sandwiches the next day. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      The old-fashioned ways are usually the best -- and this is no exception. Delicious, juicy and tender roast. To add more flavor to the gravy I used beer instead of water, and because I had a smaller bone-in roast (about 2.5#) I cooked by temperature instead of time. Took it out of the oven at 140 degrees, had about ten degrees of layover heat, and it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      This turned out wonderfully! I didn't have any lard so I used an equal amount of bacon grease (which is basically bacon-flavored lard). Is there anything that bacon can't do? The roast was tender and very juicy, not dry like some I've had. I'll be making this often. Thanks for posting this. I can see why you've been making this for 50 years, Peg. I hope I can enjoy this for many years to come, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      I'll bet your recipe for Pork Roast could beat up my recipe for Pork Roast! Used a bone-in piece of wild pig and if you know anything about that type meat, it's as tough as any can be. This rendered a very tender roast that I'd make over again. I, also, used my unburned batch of Kitchen Bouquet wanna-be. Like grandma would say, "Brown that roast good, now."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      I'm giving this recipe 5 stars for the cooking method, as I didn't use the exact recipe. I have a small cast iron pot that is very old. I had a small pre seasoned small pork shoulder roast. I used olive oil to brown it, added 1/3 c water and 1/3 c white wine and put it in the oven for 1 1/2 hours. Very tasty, juicy and tender. I did not thicken the gravy, just spooned it as it was over the slices of roast. Served it with sauted garlicky greenbeans with a teaspoon of blue cheese on top and corn on the cob. I will use this method again when I don't have the time or inclination to use a crock pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      This was my maiden voyage with a dutch oven. This recipe made for the best pork roast I have ever had. I am cooking it again today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Fantastic!!! Please try this recipe. You won't be sorry. I've made this twice. I didn't have Kitchen Bouquet the first time (still delish), but I held off rating it til I could do it right. Kitchen Bouquet is now a staple in my kitchen. The only thing I did different was add 1 chicken bouillon cube. Another one goes into my hard copy cook book. UPDATE 2008: I now brown the roast in a little bacon grease and olive oil. After browning I rub the pork with 1 tsp. of liquid smoke. Yum! I love this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      Delicious! I even used a very lean pork sirloin roast and it still came out tender & juicy. Other changes I made: 3 Tbsp flour instead of cornstarch & let the gravy reduce a bit, canola oil instead of lard, and dry herbs (thyme, rosemary, bay leaves, and paprika) instead of Kitchen Bouquet (afraid it might contain MSG or derivatives). It came out so tasty, just like Sunday dinner at Grandma's! Here in Wyoming, cast-iron Dutch Ovens are standard equipment in every kitchen, and it really does add something special to the flavor of anything you cook in it -- highly recommend you get one if you don't have it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      WOW..that's the word that comes to mind..WOW. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using dehydrated sliced garlic instead of fresh. I used a 5 lb shoulder pork roast with a bone & cooked it in my enamel coated cast iron dutch oven. It came out absolutely delicious, tender & as said before, the gravy is perfect. I will without a doubt be using this as my new method of cooking a pork roast. Also will be trying with a beef roast. Next time I'll up the liquid to 3 cups so we have a bit more gravy. Thanks for this amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      I have never been able to make a great pork loin, but this recipe changed all that. I modified the ingredients to include the zest of one lemon (delicious) and used a thermometer to let me know when the pork reached 160 degrees, since I had a smaller roast. This was also the first recipe I made in my new Dutch oven I was given at Valentine's Day (made by Lodge, it's every bit as good as my smaller LeCreuset, and about 1/3 the price!). Thank you, thank you, thank you for this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2014

      Simple, fairly quick, and with few ingredients, this recipe is GREAT! First off, it was quick. I was expecting a cook time of 2 hours, but just 1 hour in the oven, and my pork roast was absolutely perfect. It is so hard to get pork done right, I was surprised. My roast was big - not sure how heavy it was - it barely fit in my pan. However, the browning went pretty quickly, and the lard and Kitchen Bouquet made the gravy taste fabulous. Next time, I may add bit touch more cornstarch or a bit less water to get the gravy thicker. It was wonderful nonetheless. I did follow the recipe closely except for checking the weight of my meat (it may have been a touch larger than called for, but probably not much.) This recipe is now my go-to recipe for pork loin. Thank you so much for posting it! (Note, that your pork loin should be 100% thawed.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2014

      I followed the instructions to the letter...if this is supposed to be tender, pulled pork, it wasn't even close. Most was like a piece of rubber. Not sure where all these rave reviews are coming from,because it sure sounded too good to be true, and it was, No substitute to low and slow to break down those meat fibers. Too bad, a big waste of a 5# pork shoulder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      Brilliant recipe! So delicious and definitely fit for company. I'm guessing my roast was about 2.5 lbs, so I could have cooked it for less than an hour. Next time I'll check temps after 45 minutes. It was still moist and the gravy....oustanding!!! I swapped olive oil for the lard, and didn't have Kitchen Bouquet so I did some research and added about 2 tbs of brown sugar to the onions while browning. Then I added 1 tbs of better than bouillion beef flavor and followed the rest. Served with jasmine rice and maple balsamic brussels. Wow. what a meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Wow! Used my new dutch oven for this last night for dinner. Followed recipe almost exactly - used a pork loin roast, oil to brown instead of lard (don't have any), used onion powder in addition to salt and pepper to season. Cooked for one hour - this was sooo moist and the gravy was delicious. Made yukon gold mashed potatoes and green beans as sides - even my picky 6 yr old cleaned his plate. Can't wait to try it leftover. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      Wow!! This was fantastic!! The sauce was amazing - rich & delicious. (This was the "christening" of my new & freshly seasoned cast iron Dutch oven.) I used olive oil instead of lard. And I used a little extra corn starch b/c I like a thicker sauce. WARNING: For all you less experienced cooks [like myself] - Cook roast for 15 minutes per lb. Then check the temp. with a meat thermometer. Do NOT overcook the roast or it will be dry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      We used a 3lb.pork loin - the prep was very easy - we used cooking oil, instead of lard ( don't forget to turn the roast over after half an hour ). Even though we have a Dutch Oven, my wife and I used a covered medium aluminum pot, similar to one you use to simmer spaghetti sauce. The result was wonderful, (very tender) - we reduced the gravy to thicken it - we added a little extra pepper, but didn't add extra salt, since the sauce seemed to have enough as is. Any extra natural juices from the roast we added back into the gravy and reheated before serving. THE RECIPE IS WONDERFUL !!! Thanks Very Much !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2014

      Just cooked a 2# pork loin following the recipe. Cooked 30 min. at 350, turned roast and cooked another 30 min. at 300. Moist, tender and super tasty. Only have sampled the gravy to determine seasonings, but what I tasted was good. Can't wait to try over the mashed taters. This is a keeper, for sure. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Roast the Old-Fashion Way (Cast Iron Dutch Oven)

    Serving Size: 1 (506 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 635.6
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    28%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 316.0 mg
    105%
    Sodium 850.8 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 100.3 g
    200%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Kitchen Bouquet

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes