49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used 3 pounds of beef brisket, doubled the sweet potatoes and forgot about the fennel seeds. 12 of us sat down to Friday night dinner, could barely get up after stuffing our faces. There were hardly any leftovers!

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj November 28, 2001

Made the recipe "as is" and it is incredible! Don't forget the fennel seeds, it MAKES the recipe.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisa brown February 11, 2002

Absolutely wonderful! The pork was very tender, I also added baby carrots in the crock and they turned out great too. The pork was very tasty and fell apart!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyn January 02, 2002

I gave the recipe 4 stars because I thought the seasonings were great and the meat did come out very tender. I'm finding that with meats cooked in a slow cooker that aren't covered in some type of sauce, it is better to brown the meat a little before putting it in the slow cooker. I think this is especially true for pork. Pork that isn't browned before going in the slow cooker turns out a little grey and ashen in color. I will make this recipe again and brown the meat before putting it in the slow cooker.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon October 06, 2002

I've been looking for some good crock pot dishes and this one sounds like it is on the mark and will definitely be tried in my household. Really enjoying all the recipes the viewers are sending in. Happy Thanksgiving to all of you and keep up the good work!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emma hofford November 17, 2001

***Rating is for the pork only**** In an effort to save time and with all the reviews regarding the issue with the sweet potatoes, I made the pork alone. Based on other's reviews, I also applied the rub & seared the pork on the stove top in a skillet prior to placing in the crock pot. This makes for a more appealing finished dish (colorwise & brings up the flavors of the herbs).
Lastly, I've used apple cider in place of stock in previous dishes, so I used this in this dish with great results. I recommend trying it if you haven't done so. It makes a great sauce to pour over the finished dish (and whatever you make to accompany it). Made with "Green Beans with Caramelized Onions" & sweet potato souffle. Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau December 19, 2010

I give this 5 stars with some revisions. First I doubled everything. Where I live a 2lb roast will not serve 9 people! Cut the potatoes into large chunks as suggested. Because I like a lot of seasoning I made some changes there too. Instead of plain paprika I used a smoky paprika chipotle seasoning blend which has some other spices in it such as chili pepper, cumin and oregano. I used a Herbes de provence blend in place of the plain oregano and extra garlic. Browned the meat before placing in the crock pot and then poured the chicken broth into the pan and mixed in all the the little browned bits before pouring it over the meat. After cooking poured the juices from the crock pot into a bowl and served it with the meat and potatoes for extra flavor. Spicy, sweet and salty. Yummm!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KBAlpine February 28, 2010

I never figure out what I'm going to make for dinner in time to do the crock pot routine, so I did this in the oven. The first time I did it exactly as written, and it was great! But of course we fiddled with the recipe just a bit this last time (just because!). We used 2 small-sized sweet potatoes, peeled and quartered in the bottom of the roasting pan, along with 1/2 medium sized yellow onion and 2 fuji apples cut into large chunks. I was out of fennel, so used rosemary in it's place. I rubbed the spices into the roast and sprinkled the remaining over the potatoes, onions and apples. The roast was browned it in a tsp of olive oil on the stove, and the pan then deglazed with 3/4 cup chicken stock and 1/4 cup white wine (semi dry). Per a rather innovative suggestion by DS, we drizzled a very small amount of maple syrup over the whole thing and sealed with foil, baked in the oven at 350. This turned out SOOOOO good! ! Thanks for sharing, Kate...we'll be making this often!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eknecht February 23, 2011

I didnt care for this recipe as written. I gave it 3 stars because my husband didnt mind it. The roast definitely needs to be browned first and the potatoes cut in quite large chunks, even then, I found they come out quite mushy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u February 08, 2010

This is very easy and quick to make. Per other reviews, I browned the roast in a hot skillet before putting into the crockpot which gave it a nice brown color and really brought out the flavor of the rub. I also chopped the potatoes larger, 2" cubes. Cooked on high for 4.5 hours. The smell was intoxicating. The potatoes barely held together, maybe they need to be even bigger. My roast was tender and delicious and there was lots of juice for gravy. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 December 22, 2009
Pork Roast over Sweet Potatoes for the Crock Pot