64 Reviews

I don't give many five-star ratings, but this recipe deserved it. It's delicious and simple to make.

Note for the time-strapped: I only had time to let the roast marinate for an hour, so instead of discarding the marinade as instructed, I poured it into the baking dish and let the roast cook in it. The roast turned out great!

(Dan Robinson)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Robinsons January 02, 2011

We froze the roast in the marinade, put the whole thing in a crockpot (still frozen) went to work came home to a great meal!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
escripps October 06, 2011

This was delicious! I only had a 2.5 lb roast but still needed the full time to cook. It was very juicy. Loved the mixture of the red pepper & lemon, it was really flavorful. Will definitely make again. Will probably add some potatoes & veggies next time to soak in the marinade flavor. I did make the marinade last night & let it sit overnight & all day. My husband cooked it & I had it waiting when I came home from WW. The house smelled incredible. Had it with pasta & roasted asparagus.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sal from Maine December 08, 2010

I'm banging fists and stomping feet...YOU MUST TRY THIS MARINADE! Believe me, I've been through my share of marinades and the base of this one is no different, but what DOES make this particular one outstanding is the addition of pulverized onion and parsley. DH seared the roast on the BBQ until it was "almost" charred then wrapped it in aluminum foil with reserved marinade and continued to cook till done. The results were stellar. Throughout dinner we communicated via only one word---yuuuuummmm!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng January 01, 2009

WOW!! I wasted a ton of time on this site today looking for a good gravy recipe to compliment this pork roast. YOU DONT NEED IT!! This was UNREAL!! Juicy, tender and a FANTASTIC flavor. I followed the instructions to the letter even marinating overnight and would not change a thing. Thank you so much Mimi for making me feel like i can really cook!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather Reynolds in Virginia March 17, 2006

Very good pork roast, very tender, It did take longer to cook than 1 hour. I baked it for 1 hour and 45 minutes and some of it was still very pink. Maybe I should have taken it out off the refrigerator earlier. I took it out about 1 hour before roasting,

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz February 06, 2003

The marinade is fantastic, makes for a moist and delicious pork roast. I followed the instructions to a "T"; totally spot on! Served with roasted asparagus and mashed potatoes. Dear husband says to give this recipe 8 stars! :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisMonie January 25, 2014

I don't think I could add any wonderful comment that hasn't already been stated. This was very simple and you got such a spectacular result. I cut back on the liquid ingredients a bit, so what I really did was smear the marinade on the roast (so it was like a paste). This roast was so flavorful and juicy. Terrific!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee December 10, 2010

By far, the best pork I have ever eaten and so easy to make. Incredibly moist, fork tender, and flavorful. The marinade is fantastic! I slopped most of the extra marinade on top of the roast before cooking instead of discarding it. Used a traditional (not instant read) thermometer, which was lucky. The roast reached 155 degrees before I calculated, and I would have overcooked it otherwise. Served with roasted potatoes, Pan-Roasted Broccoli, Whole Wheat Cottage Cheese Rolls, and Mocha Pudding Cake. Yum! Thanks for sharing the recipe! UPDATE: I made the marinade and froze with the pork roast, then took out of the freezer the day before I planned to bake it. Worked very well. On a busy day, all I had to do was throw the pork in the oven and walk away. Need to remember to allow 2 1/2 hours for the roast to cook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama February 13, 2010

This is possibly the best Pork Roast I have ever made, not dried out in the slightest, cooked it about 15 minutes longer, made gravy out of the drippings, YUM...next time I want to make a bigger roast, thanks for a GREAT recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crimper February 05, 2010
Pork Roast