63 Reviews

I don't give many five-star ratings, but this recipe deserved it. It's delicious and simple to make.

Note for the time-strapped: I only had time to let the roast marinate for an hour, so instead of discarding the marinade as instructed, I poured it into the baking dish and let the roast cook in it. The roast turned out great!

(Dan Robinson)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Robinsons January 02, 2011

We froze the roast in the marinade, put the whole thing in a crockpot (still frozen) went to work came home to a great meal!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
escripps October 06, 2011

Very good pork roast, very tender, It did take longer to cook than 1 hour. I baked it for 1 hour and 45 minutes and some of it was still very pink. Maybe I should have taken it out off the refrigerator earlier. I took it out about 1 hour before roasting,

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz February 06, 2003

I don't think I could add any wonderful comment that hasn't already been stated. This was very simple and you got such a spectacular result. I cut back on the liquid ingredients a bit, so what I really did was smear the marinade on the roast (so it was like a paste). This roast was so flavorful and juicy. Terrific!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee December 10, 2010

This was delicious! I only had a 2.5 lb roast but still needed the full time to cook. It was very juicy. Loved the mixture of the red pepper & lemon, it was really flavorful. Will definitely make again. Will probably add some potatoes & veggies next time to soak in the marinade flavor. I did make the marinade last night & let it sit overnight & all day. My husband cooked it & I had it waiting when I came home from WW. The house smelled incredible. Had it with pasta & roasted asparagus.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sal from Maine December 08, 2010

By far, the best pork I have ever eaten and so easy to make. Incredibly moist, fork tender, and flavorful. The marinade is fantastic! I slopped most of the extra marinade on top of the roast before cooking instead of discarding it. Used a traditional (not instant read) thermometer, which was lucky. The roast reached 155 degrees before I calculated, and I would have overcooked it otherwise. Served with roasted potatoes, Pan-Roasted Broccoli, Whole Wheat Cottage Cheese Rolls, and Mocha Pudding Cake. Yum! Thanks for sharing the recipe! UPDATE: I made the marinade and froze with the pork roast, then took out of the freezer the day before I planned to bake it. Worked very well. On a busy day, all I had to do was throw the pork in the oven and walk away. Need to remember to allow 2 1/2 hours for the roast to cook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama February 13, 2010

This is possibly the best Pork Roast I have ever made, not dried out in the slightest, cooked it about 15 minutes longer, made gravy out of the drippings, YUM...next time I want to make a bigger roast, thanks for a GREAT recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crimper February 05, 2010

I'm banging fists and stomping feet...YOU MUST TRY THIS MARINADE! Believe me, I've been through my share of marinades and the base of this one is no different, but what DOES make this particular one outstanding is the addition of pulverized onion and parsley. DH seared the roast on the BBQ until it was "almost" charred then wrapped it in aluminum foil with reserved marinade and continued to cook till done. The results were stellar. Throughout dinner we communicated via only one word---yuuuuummmm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng January 01, 2009

This was unbelievable! I bought a pork roast, came home, made the marinade, put it in a freezer bag along w/ the pork roast & froze it. When it defrosted, it was marinading all that time. The result was an amazing pork roast! Can't wait to use on chicken as well, it has a really greek flavour. thanks! We loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
um-um-good October 20, 2008

This was great! Like other reviewers, I did not have time to marinate. Will do next time. Took longer to cook, about 1+3/4 hours total. Threw in some cut up sweet potatoes and onions and sprinkled them with a touch of olive oil, S&P. Excellent! Will make again, everyone loved it. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 September 30, 2008
Pork Roast