22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is such a delicious recipe.It couldn't have been easier to make. I did make some changes, I used boneless loin chops. I didn't brown them, I just put them in the crockpot. I also used Trader Joe's olive tapenade instead of capers and kalamata olives. Plus, I tossed in a bay leaf. It was so delicious. We really enjoyed the eggplant. I'm looking forward to making this as written. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview November 08, 2012

This was very good. The flavors are excellent. I used a pork loin and baked it for 3 hours....it shredded up but that's ok because it worked well over elbows and was really terrific.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bratalli September 07, 2009

Excellent! I used pork tenderloin about 3 pounds ,did it on top of the stove and should have reduced the time to only three hours/ three and a half because the meat fell apart and those that ate it would have prefered it to have held together more. NO COMPLAINTS on the flavor it was GREAT!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paula146 April 30, 2009

VERY good! Very different from anything I've had before. Made this in the crockpot with a 2 pound pork tenderloin. I used the full amount of tomatoes, 1/2 can tomato paste, 1 cup chicken broth, LOTS of extra garlic and I threw in a bay leaf. Unfortunately, I didn't have a red pepper (not even the jarred kind) so I went without it and still thought it was EXCELLENT! I added extra capers, and also used kalamata's as my black olive choice. Served this over spaghetti and we LOVED it!! My mom even joked that she liked it so much she actually forgot to finish her glass of wine!! Now that's a rarity!! HA! My husband rated this a 4, my mom gave it a 10 and I gave it a 4.75. Easily rounds to a 5 and is something I will make again and again. There was no need to even pre-brown the meat. I took the tenderloins out and sliced them up and put them back in the sauce about 45 minutes before I served them. Added shredded parm on top - just lovely!!!! Thank you for such a tasty meal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl July 03, 2008

I was assigned to make an Italian meat for a supper club meeting. I tried this on my family, then at the supper club. It received rave reviews both times. We liked it cut up in chunks and served as a stew with no pasta. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie February 11, 2007

I used a 4 lb. roast in a 4 qt. crockpot. As this was not really big enough, I used about 2 cups of the crushed tomatoes, only 1/2 cup of broth, no tomato paste and no red pepper (because I forgot to buy it). Used all else. I deglazed the skillet with the white wine. After about 7 hours on low it was perfect - I cubed it, taking my cue from the photos. Really, really good. It was even more excellent the next day. I have frozen the leftovers and am looking forward to enjoying this later on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte September 11, 2006

Ohhh Yum~! I made this with a veal roast Out of this World!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ April 02, 2003

Delicious way to make a pork Roast, espically when you like eggplant as much as we do. The combomation of tomatoes, capers, olives, wine,and etc was great. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you Rita.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz January 16, 2003

I have this cooking in the crockpot right now, and it smells soooo good! I have to go to school, but I snuck a taste because I couldn't wait to try it, and it's yummy! I used a 4lb. pork roast, kalamata olives, and white wine. Also, per the suggestion of other reviewers, I cut down on the liquids since I'm cooking it in the crockpot, and left the eggplant unpeeled. Thanks for the great recipe, Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Pantry Elf February 16, 2011

I crockpotted it for 8 hours, and it turned out beautifully. Used all ingredients except wine, red pepper, and I used just 1/4 cup broth. Served over orzo. Yum! Thanks, Rita! (Resubmitted review to include 5 stars)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Drea D March 13, 2008
Pork Pot Roast With Eggplant (Aubergine)