Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Pot Roast With Eggplant (Aubergine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Pot Roast With Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2012

      This is such a delicious recipe.It couldn't have been easier to make. I did make some changes, I used boneless loin chops. I didn't brown them, I just put them in the crockpot. I also used Trader Joe's olive tapenade instead of capers and kalamata olives. Plus, I tossed in a bay leaf. It was so delicious. We really enjoyed the eggplant. I'm looking forward to making this as written. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This was very good. The flavors are excellent. I used a pork loin and baked it for 3 hours....it shredded up but that's ok because it worked well over elbows and was really terrific.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      Excellent! I used pork tenderloin about 3 pounds ,did it on top of the stove and should have reduced the time to only three hours/ three and a half because the meat fell apart and those that ate it would have prefered it to have held together more. NO COMPLAINTS on the flavor it was GREAT!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      VERY good! Very different from anything I've had before. Made this in the crockpot with a 2 pound pork tenderloin. I used the full amount of tomatoes, 1/2 can tomato paste, 1 cup chicken broth, LOTS of extra garlic and I threw in a bay leaf. Unfortunately, I didn't have a red pepper (not even the jarred kind) so I went without it and still thought it was EXCELLENT! I added extra capers, and also used kalamata's as my black olive choice. Served this over spaghetti and we LOVED it!! My mom even joked that she liked it so much she actually forgot to finish her glass of wine!! Now that's a rarity!! HA! My husband rated this a 4, my mom gave it a 10 and I gave it a 4.75. Easily rounds to a 5 and is something I will make again and again. There was no need to even pre-brown the meat. I took the tenderloins out and sliced them up and put them back in the sauce about 45 minutes before I served them. Added shredded parm on top - just lovely!!!! Thank you for such a tasty meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      I was assigned to make an Italian meat for a supper club meeting. I tried this on my family, then at the supper club. It received rave reviews both times. We liked it cut up in chunks and served as a stew with no pasta. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      I used a 4 lb. roast in a 4 qt. crockpot. As this was not really big enough, I used about 2 cups of the crushed tomatoes, only 1/2 cup of broth, no tomato paste and no red pepper (because I forgot to buy it). Used all else. I deglazed the skillet with the white wine. After about 7 hours on low it was perfect - I cubed it, taking my cue from the photos. Really, really good. It was even more excellent the next day. I have frozen the leftovers and am looking forward to enjoying this later on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      Ohhh Yum~! I made this with a veal roast Out of this World!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2003

      Delicious way to make a pork Roast, espically when you like eggplant as much as we do. The combomation of tomatoes, capers, olives, wine,and etc was great. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you Rita.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      I have this cooking in the crockpot right now, and it smells soooo good! I have to go to school, but I snuck a taste because I couldn't wait to try it, and it's yummy! I used a 4lb. pork roast, kalamata olives, and white wine. Also, per the suggestion of other reviewers, I cut down on the liquids since I'm cooking it in the crockpot, and left the eggplant unpeeled. Thanks for the great recipe, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      I crockpotted it for 8 hours, and it turned out beautifully. Used all ingredients except wine, red pepper, and I used just 1/4 cup broth. Served over orzo. Yum! Thanks, Rita! (Resubmitted review to include 5 stars)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Very, very nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      This dish was fabulous. I added fresh mushrooms to it and shredded the meat after about 3 1/2 hours, returing it to the pot. I served it over rice...we loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      This is not only great tasting, but it is also very easy to prepare. I served it over pappardelle and sprinkled with parm. This is a keeper of a recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      This is so good.We are new to eggplant; we loved it. I made it with a pork loin; did not have white wine but...did not need it; a great combination.I made mine in the slow cooker.Thank you so much! Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      Awesome! Made in crockpot with sliced pork loin, which is what we use for pork chops. Didn't brown chops - didn't salt eggplant - wasn't bitter. Be sure to have some crusty bread to "sop" the sauce with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      Wow wow wow WOW. Did is say WOW? Following Ritas directions for oven baking left me with pork that was fall apart tender in a thick and robust sauce reminiscent of swiss steak-only better. The eggplant truly does just melt away into the sauce, which was a great benefit to me because DH has an aversion to eggplant. Because I only had greek olives on hand, I chose to use a dry bold red rather than white wine in the dish, and it worked beautifully. Thank you Rita for sharing the recipe, it is just superb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      Fabulous! I used my crockpot and a pork tenderloin as it is what I had on hand and this is the first recipe I have made where the tenderloin fell apart as soon as I tried to transfer it to the serving platter! I peeled my eggplant and used two small ones, but with all the extra sauce I wish I had added one more. I even cut the liquid back by half and still had plenty of sauce and ended up putting the leftover sauce over pasta the next day and it was great! The only change I made was to add a bay leaf and a pinch of sugar to mellow out the acidity of the tomatoes. I also did not brown the meat at all. I assembled all the ingredients the night before and put it into the crockpot the next morning. 8 hours later it was cooked to perfection. I served this over rice and my whole family really enjoyed this meal and asked that I make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      Wow! Normally pork is not a real favorite of mine but this was incredible. I didn't peel the eggplant but otherwise followed the recipe using Kalamata olives and it was fantastic. I did find there was a little bit more liquid than required, so the only change I will make next time is to use one cup of a stronger chicken broth. Also won't bother pulling a knife out of the cupboard - this was so tender the meat just flaked away with a fork!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      Oh my goodness!!! This is a 10 star recipe!! I used Chef Kate's Big Fat Greek Salad (leftovers) #138716 which had the right ingredients...I used chicken tenderloins..and this was quick and fantastic!! I also used Greek Olives and roasted garlic! Thank you Rita!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      Made this with a lean Pork roast and it was wonderful. I actually needed a recipe I could start and cook in the crockpot, and this worked wonderfully. Love the fact that it didn't taste like the normal crockpot meal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Pot Roast With Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.8
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    21%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 46.0 mg
    15%
    Sodium 348.5 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 17.4 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crushed tomatoes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites