22 Reviews

I'm surprised to give this 5 stars. Two reasons it gets the highest rating... 1) hubby loved it and said I can't lose the recipe. 2) I used boneless pork chops with lots of dark meat and there was no strong pork flavor. I don't really like pork and this turned out very tender and juicy... for the first time I think I enjoyed it! I used frozen cranberries, cran-apple juice and rosemary for the sage with good results. I think I cooked it much longer in step 11 but it still comes together quite quickly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker November 18, 2009

This had amazing flavor of sweet and savory, a nice autumn dish. I followed all of the ingredients (only replacing the apple juice with a dry white wine) & slicing the onion into thin rings instead of chopping and changed the cooking method(s) slightly. I used bone-in pork chops which I browned on each side in a large cast iron pan, then added all remaining ingredients, sprinkled with cinnamon & baked, covered with foil in the oven at 325 degrees for about 1 1/2 hrs. The end result was so tender and flavorful. I felt as though the brown sugar needed to be increased slightly and this is likely because I substituted wine for the apple juice. I also served this with rice cooked in chicken stock which was a nice accompaniment. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau October 16, 2015

Loved this recipe. Instead of making chops I just made the sauce and poured it over the<br/>Pork loin. The sauce is wonderful. I couldn't find fresh cranberries, so used canned whole<br/>cranberries. Will make this again. Now I wish I could figure out what to do with the left<br/>over sauce. Too good to throw away!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
minishear05_11976457 January 14, 2015

Very good and easy! Entire family liked it, which is worthy of 5 stars alone. Was fantastic served over rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bzsoccermom January 05, 2015

I'm giving this 4 stars because the ingredients themselves are great. I followed the recipe exactly and decided to change a bit. I used bone-in pork chops and doubled the sauce ingredients. I baked it in a dutch oven at 325 degrees for about 1 1/2 hrs and the result was a sumptuous homey stew that warmed our bellies on a cold winter night. I served it over rice. I know this no longer falls under the title of Quick and Healthy, but the changes were sooo worth it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catpay January 09, 2014

So good! Followed recipe exactly. Served with garlic couscous and green peas. An easy to prepare dish that is definitely company worthy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChansonCooks January 05, 2014

Fantastic recipe. Sweet and savory, a great combination. Fresh cranberries were not in season so I used canned whole cranberries (could have used crasins, maybe next time) and added about half the can. I imagine fresh would have been better, but canned seemed to work good. I doubled the sauce since my family and I like to sop it up with bread. I will add a bit more cornstarch next time to make the sauce a bit thicker. A great Fall recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Husker Guy January 23, 2013

Didn't get on to review soon enough after making so don't recall if we altered any besides using Craisins rather than fresh cranberries. Very yummy! Easy enough to just use pork chops. Looking forward to making regularly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
O-mama October 02, 2012

so so good! We also used dried cranberries since I forgot to pick up fresh from the store.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plannermom October 19, 2009
Pork Medallions With Cranberries and Apples