Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Machaca (Tender Pulled Mexican Pork) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Machaca (Tender Pulled Mexican Pork)

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-32 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2009

      Fabulous! I made this for a "taco night" potluck and it was a huge hit. I sliced the jalepenos and left the seeds in for extra kick. I also let the pork cool in the sauce as suggested and the meat was oh so tender. This recipe goes into my favorites. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      This was pretty good - I used leftover roast belly pork and served it as a stew. I added a bit of cumin and my own tomato sauce and chicken stock. I think it needed a bit of sweetness - not much, but a tad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      Wow, we loved this! I cut the recipe in half for just the two of us and cooked stove top in a stockpot. Thickened the juices and served over rice. Very tender and full of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      i combined this w/#150133 Mexican Pork Cubes to serve w/tomalitos... i used pork chops, and had to do w/o the jalapeno as i had none on hand. however, this combined with the other made for the most delectable meal!! wowee!! it has been requested on an almost daily basis for the past two weeks now - really outstanding, cannot thank you enough for our new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      Made this in a crock pot primarily to freeze for future use, but did keep enough to make a couple of enchiladas! Used just 2 jalapenoes, but that was about right for my taste! Very, very moist & flavorful! Thanks for posting the recipe! [Made & reviewed for one of my adoptees in this Spring's PAC]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      Not much I can add that hasn't already been said! A five for the aroma alone! Went the Mexican- flavored pot roast route making for a family pleasing supper - and for lunch the next day - the best pork sandwich I have ever tasted. This is my kind of recipe. Thank you for posting a recipe that has already seen to a rerun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      I used a 9# bone in pork roast and didn't get out the pot big enough to cook it in. (My BIG wok stay out 24/7.) So... I put a round rack in the bottom of the wok to keep the meat up, off the cooking surface... and the lid didn't seal well so it didn't "steam" like a normal roast. As a result of all the equipment adaptations, my cooking time was MUCH longer, and WELL worth the wait. I used 3 or 4 HEAPING tablespoons of jarred, minced, "fresh" garlic, instead of the whole cloves, and a little extra oregano... because of the "re-potting issues". Let me stress, This recipe ROCKS!!! My GF said, "OH!... My... God!!! That is SO good!" I think that says it all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      Great flavor. I used a jar of homemade salsa instead of the canned tomatoes and it was fantastic. Only used 2 jalapenos and it wasn't hot at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      This machaca was outstanding, tender, full of flavor and easy to prepare for the crockpot. I used a 3 pound pork butt roast. I trimmed as much fat as was reasonable. I used the tomato paste and used only 2 jalapenos which I diced rather than leave whole. I also failed to reduce the volume of water since I was using the crockpot but will use the broth to make a mexican-syle pozole soup. I cooked the pork for 5 hours in the crockpot which was plenty of time and meat did not dry out. The pork shredded very easily, and I added some of the broth to the meat for flavor and to maintain moistness. This was so good. Some of us served it up as tacos and others as burritos. Condiments on the table included chopped lettuce, tomatoes, onions, cilantro, sour cream and pico de gallo. Leftovers are going to make fantasic enchiladas. Thanks Chef TotalFark for sharing this awesome recipe that will make an encore in my home many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      This is wonderful! I used country style pork ribs - that's just sliced pork butt, right? I used green chilis and fresh garlic. I cut the recipe in half to accomodate the amount of meat I had. It was so easy. I simmered for about 5 hours because the meat was frozen. After refrigerating overnight, it was easy to take out the fat. The resulting shredded meat is melt-in-your-mouth yummy. I'll serve it on flour tortillas with sour cream and guacamole. The broth is frozen for soup. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      This made a wonderfully flavored pork dish. I had planned on making HM tortillas, but ran out of time, so, I just served this as it was with melted cheese, sliced green onions and sourcream on top. The leftovers are great as well! I used the tomato paste, minced garlic from a jar and canned chiles. I am sure to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      Saw this posted in the forum and had a pork shoulder to use up. I did do it in my crockpot and left out the 2 quarts of water. after pulling the pork I added it back to the sauce to soak up some of the juice. I then used the meat for chimichangas, delicious! I have tossed the broth/flavorings into the freezer to make a soup this next winter. All I will have to do is add vegies. Very nice recipe one that I will use again. Thank you! :)shirley:(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Machaca (Tender Pulled Mexican Pork)

    Serving Size: 1 (426 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 425.2
     
    Calories from Fat 259
    60%
    Total Fat 28.8 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 119.9 mg
    39%
    Sodium 477.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 35.0 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites