Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Machaca (Tender Pulled Mexican Pork) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Machaca (Tender Pulled Mexican Pork)

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on March 03, 2010

      We really enjoyed this. The machaca was perfectly moist, and it even left a ton of broth that we can use in other recipes. We had the machaca with tortillas and hot sauce, but I think it really did need something else to go with it. I can't put my finger on it, but I think next time I will try sauteing up some onions, tomatoes and green peppers, and mixing them into the meat after it has cooked. All in all though, it is a great recipe with good flavor. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Awesome! I only had a 2lb roast so I cut the ingredients in half. I also did not have enough fresh garlic so I used the granulated and it was still excellent. We made pork tacos and everyone loved them. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      Excellent! The meat was tender, juicy, and wonderfully flavored, and I loved the simplicity of the recipe. Allowing the meat to cool in the broth does indeed help keep it moist, so don't get impatient, as I have done in the past, and pull it out to cool--just plan ahead, as it's worth the extra time. (I didn't take advantage of using the broth this time, but it is far too good to ignore--next time I intend to make a nice posole from it.) I used diced tomatoes, fresh garlic and jalapenos, and simmered an almost-8-pound roast for about 4 1/2 hours. We enjoyed it served simply on flour tortillas. I always thought it was hard to go wrong with a well-cooked Boston Butt, but this was extraordinary--thank you for posting! I'm looking forward to pulling the leftovers out of the freezer, and I'll be looking forward to more recipes from you. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2013

      Was glad to find this recipe, especially since it is not for a crock pot. Used a pork shoulder, 1 can of petite diced tomatoes, and 1 can of Rotel. I added a small dash of chipotle chili powder to the mix as well. Also threw in some cubed onions. It took about 3 hours to cook, and I left it sit in it's broth for an hour. Served with flour tortillas and pico de gallo. Fantastic really. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      I've never made this before but it turned out perfect! Thank you. Served on corn tostada shells with sour cream, shredded cabbage and cold tomato sauce (blended tomatoes, garlic salt & pepper, onion and oregano). My husband and girls enjoyed this dinner. We will put it on the regular rotation. May use soft tortillas for lunch tomorrow. And will try the soup as well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      This is absolutely wonderful! I opted for the pot roast meal served with boiled new potatoes and butternut squash. The gravy was terrific and easy to make. I had a lot of leftover meat so I made shredded pork enchiladas and a pot of pozole. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      This Recipe is Crazy good, tastes even better next day too! My family always loves when I make this! Turns out Awesome with one habanero as well (in place of jalapenos).....mind your fingers touching your mouth and eyes though! Stuck with fresh ingredients too. Carnitas...never again! Also I serve with sauteed bell peppers and onion on tortilla with Monterey cheese...BOMB! My happy stomach thanks you for this recipe! :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Used a 3-lb pork but and roughly halved the recipe, and loved it! The pork is so juicy, tender and flavorful-- and versatile. My boyfriend and I made shredded pork sandwiches, pork tacos, pork nachos... we ate it cheerfully for a week, and ran out yesterday and are making more today for our Superbowl guests. HUGE success-- thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      Mine didn't look as good as that in GaylaJ's wonderful photo, but it sure did taste good

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      Wow!! This pork is very delicious. I only had a 2lb pork roast so I just halved my ingredients. I didn't have diced tomatoes so I used tomato sauce and it came out soo good. I used the meat for burritos. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      I've had beef machaca with scrambled eggs for brunch in a Mexican restaurant, and that was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I made this several times last summer in the crock pot! So wonderful! Great way to prepare an inexpensive cut of pork. We shredded it and made burritos with canned black beans, homemade corn relish and some sour cream! Thanks for the recipee!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2014

      Great pork. Served with Mexican cornbread, baked beans and coleslaw. YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      Was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      I served this at a football party with burrito fixings and got rave reviews! The pork was so tender it shredded like a dream. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      Loved it! I especially love your suggestions for the pot roast, soup, and machaca. Muchas gracias!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Wow what a big hit in my family!!! i will say the next day was even better then the first!!! caution... Don't chop the jalapenos without gloves... i did and omg... my hands were burning all day long... until i went on-line and learned hot to get some relief... rub your hands in sour cream and or vinegar. It helped but boy.. did i learn a big lesson. The flavors are wonderful and this is so easy to make. i used the crockpot but seared the meat first on the stove. and i only used 8 garlic cloves and make slits in the meat and just popped the clove down in each slit. we really enjoyed this dish and my husbands wants me to make it again... very soon!!! thanks for the great and easy recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      DELICIOUS! Made a few changes. Didn't have jalapenos, so used a can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos. Reduced water to 1 cup (crock pot) and added salt. Put 10 garlic cloves + 1 tsp garlic salt. We got a delicious gravy with cornstartch. Even our kitty, who doesn't eat our food, loves the pork! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Very easy, versatile and great for OAMC. Tasted good too! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Machaca (Tender Pulled Mexican Pork)

    Serving Size: 1 (426 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 425.2
     
    Calories from Fat 259
    60%
    Total Fat 28.8 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 119.9 mg
    39%
    Sodium 477.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 35.0 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites