13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I give this 5 stars because of the taste... it's really good. My 9 year old son says if there were 10 stars he'd give that. As a personal preference, I enjoy my pork chops slow cooked for a long time so they are more tender than this recipe allows, so I'll probably do it in a crock pot next time. The taste, though, was really good and my son "demands" I put 5 stars. ;)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brittta September 21, 2009

I made this in the crock pot on Hi and cooked it for 4 hours. I thought that it was a little sweet so the next time I will cut back on the brown sugar. Since I cooked it in the crock pot, I didn't do step 2.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH June 24, 2012

Delicious ! I made the recipe as directed using 2 boneless very thick chops. DH adored the sauce. He was still talking about it the next day..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac June 19, 2012

Five stars from me and the family. I made it exactly per the recipe except that I only had a 14oz can of jellied cranberry (do they make a 16oz can?), and I added a sprinkle more of chili powder and cumin. It was a little too ketchupy for me (maybe since the ratio of cranberry to chili sauce was off?), so I'd use less chili sauce if I made it again. I also had 7 pork chops, but except for crowding the pan, that didn't matter because there still was a ton of sauce - I think I might leave the cover off next time too so the sauce thickens up. With the cover on and the required time of 10 minutes, it wasn't that thick, and if I had cooked it anymore, I would have run the risk of overcooking the pork. I make these comment only to make it 5 stars as it was very, very good as is. I will definitely be making again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingMom2three May 30, 2012

Yummy. I had some cranberry sauce left over from Easter so I searched & found this recipe. What I really liked about this one is the addition of the savory spices. Next time I will cut the brown sugar abit. I increased the pork chops & cut the sauce in 1/2 & found it to be plenty for our liking. Great recipe, thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 May 15, 2011

One good turn deserves another, as with the other reviewers, I need to thank you Chef-V. All the critics in this household were pleasantly surprised. When I first told them what I was cooking, they seemed a bit reluctant, but as they passed through the kitchen, we got them with the alurring aromas. After that it was hook, line and sinker... although not a seafood dish, it was still the catch of the day. The only thing I did differently was to add about 6 ounces of beer to the recipe because I had more pork sirloin they I thought I had and needed to stretch the sauce to cover all the meat. I simmered it for about 10 minutes to reduce it before covering the pan and simmering it for 10 more. Thanks again, it was very tender and I'm still licking my chops!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Motozappa March 27, 2011

This is wonderful and easy. Though I made a few changes, nothing big. I used whole berry sauce since that's what I had. And I didn't have brown sugar, so used white instead, 1/2 cup. I doubled the cumin and cayenne pepper because we like things spicy here. I adjusted cooking times for thick chops and threw in some crushed red peppers. I also used garlic powder and onion powder instead of salts since I rarely cook with any kind of salt. We loved this, I thought we would have some leftovers, but alas, it's all gone! In fact, I was just told that I should serve this at least once a month! Thank yous so much for sharing this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DesertDweller August 12, 2009

This is an easy weeknight recipe. It's just two of us so i halved the recipe with no problem. I also used a very light breading of Panko bread crumbs instead of flour. Thanks for an easy, flavorful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeySchloopy March 08, 2009

I made this last week using boneless country style pork ribs and they were fabulous! Hubs couldn't get enough of them. Because I only had 1 1/2 pounds of pork, I halved the cranberry and chili sauces. Thanks so much for this keeper of a recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef cj56 November 24, 2008

Yum!!! Just finished dinner and this was a huge hit with the entire family. I didn't have any cranberry sauce, so I used frozen strawberries, and it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lawilsey December 18, 2014
Pork Loin Chops With Simple Savory Sauce