664 Reviews

Yummy indeed! I usually don't like pork chops, but this recipe made them taste great. Thank you to the reviewers for your helpful advice: 1) brine the pork chops in salt and water prior to cooking, 2) switching from garlic salt to garlic powder, 3) using less soy sauce or going with low sodium, 4) adding cornstarch to thicken the sauce, 5) making double or triple the amount of sauce suggested, and 6) recommending to cover the dish when cooking. I was nervous about making this after reading some of the negative reviews, but the sauce was full of flavor and pork chops were very tender. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfairann June 10, 2015

These were absolutely delicious. Whether in oven or skillet. Don't have to cook for an hour, though... Unless they're 2 inches thick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dori S May 31, 2015

My rating is for the sauce. Next time I make it I will follow other reviewers suggestion to simmer it right in the pan for a shorter period of time. I baked it as instructions state, but only 50 minutes instead of one hour, and it was still overdone by a few minutes. I may also try what others have suggested to brine it in water and salt... I'll experiment to make it more tender. The sauce is absolutely delicious, and although some reviewers say to make more, the amount in the recipe was just about right for my family... maybe I would 1 1/2 times it or double it (since it's always better to have too much than not enough). Thank you for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW April 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing this fantastic and easy recipe! I have used it on chicken also with good results

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*****Sandy April 02, 2015

I loved this recipe, I seared in a skiller on each side, then placed the same skillet in the oven at 325 covered for 20 minutes. I also doubled the sauce, and then reduced the second half of it into a thick glaze and then coated the pork chops and put them under the broiler to form a candied glaze on top. They were amazing!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurenmgroat March 27, 2015

Great sauce recipe! I slow cooked my pork and served with white rice and broccoli.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj March 09, 2015

This meal is in my regular rotation and is very good. I would recommend covering while baking as it will dry out or cooking in a cast iron skillet as others recommended which is my preferred method now. In the pan you can baste and turn and the chops come out very tender and well seasoned that way. I season the chops first with pepper and garlic powder and then brown in oil before adding the sauce. I then cover and simmer for about 20 minutes, turning and basting every 5 minutes or so. I also prefer the center cut chops over the bone in and use low sodium soy sauce and as other posts have pointed out I use garlic powder rather than garlic salt. The sauce should be doubled too so you have enough for dipping and for your rice. I typically serve with white rice and broccoli. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amelia72 February 04, 2015

great flavor ....did increase the ingredients a bit but followed the recipe exactly .....cooked un covered for 1 hr @350.....moist and delich

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sperry66 January 28, 2015

I made the recipe as directed and was really disappointed. The pork chops were inedible until we grabbed a bottle of barbecue sauce for dipping. The pork chops were REALLY dry. The sauce did not stick to the chops. The sauce was thin and watery and pooled in the bottom of the baking dish. I would not make the recipe again without some of the tweaks suggested in the reviews. Next time I will try covering it in the oven, or pan frying I also like the idea of some way to thicken the sauce. My advice is, don't make as the recipe directs but instead follow some of the suggestions in the reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spencer #2 January 27, 2015
Pork Chops Yum-Yum