654 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I took others' advice and browned the chops, then made the sauce in the same pan, then added the chops back in. I'm always trying to create less dirty dishes!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*kara*intn April 11, 2011

Fellow reviewers weren't kidding - this sauce absolutely rocks. Substituted garlic powder for garlic salt and added fresh minced garlic. Did not taste ketchupy, just mellow, salty, sweet, and ooey-gooey yummy good. Poked two pork tenderloins, marinated overnight, and made per Chef Steveo's review, but browning the meat on all 4 sides and simmering for 30 minutes, turning meat only once. Removed the meat to carve and added a cold water-cornstarch slurry and let the sauce simmer until desired consistency was reached. The 30-minute mark resulted in tender, juicy pork loin. The sauce was absolutely amazing - I'm glad I doubled it (should have quadrupled, but I didn't have enough soy sauce left to do so. Luckily, the sauce was a tad strong for my taste, so I was able to get more out of it by diluting with a 1/3 c of water. Served the dish in the skillet to not let any sauce go to waste, and good thing I did! People were scraping every last bit of the sauce from the pan onto their plates, using the loin slices as a spatula head. So much for leftovers for tomorrow's lunch, sigh. ^_^

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FuzzyKiwi June 12, 2009

Didn't have ketchup, but I will say I used fresh garlic, not powdered, but used powdered ginger, not fresh.

It was tasty and the sauce was delicious!

For anyone having issues with dry pork chops: if you never want dry pork chops again, brine them before you cook them. I brine every single time I make pork chops without a marinade, and they are always delicious and moist. Put water into a gallon size ziploc bag, add 1 table spoon of kosher salt, mix the salt in the water well, and then add your chops. Let them soak for about 3 hours, and then you can cook them.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meruhd January 26, 2012

We loved it! I made just a few small changes. I used pork tenderloin cut up into bite sized cubes. I dredged them in seasoned corn flower before frying them in olive oil. I used a 1/2 tsp. of granulated garlic (instead of the garlic salt) and added 1 1/2 tsp. of vinegar to the sauce. Like many others, I used low sodium soy sauce which I thought was perfect. When the pork was browned, I poured the sauce over top, mixed it around a little and baked them in the oven for 30 minutes. They came out with a nice thickened sauce that was really delicious! My little girl says she wants to eat this every day for the rest of her life. She really, really liked it. Thanks for sharing this one. It's a winner all the way!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night May 01, 2011

The sauce on these is soooo good. The biggest problem is an hour is way too long and my chops dried out. I decreased by 15 minutes the second time i made them and they were still a little dry. So next time i'll brown them quickly then have them in the oven for 30. I'm hoping that will keep them moist and i don't mind reducing the sauce on the stove to thicken if i need to.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashdoes December 06, 2010

My DH and I couldn't get enough of these. We substituted BBQ sauce for the ketchup since we didn't have any, and also used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. We put it in the oven for 50 minutes instead of one hour and they turned out perfectly. We served over brown rice and it was definitely yum yum!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doubleentendre December 02, 2010

I made this tonight and without even mentioning anything about them to my husband at the end of the meal, he said they were really good, nice and tender and moist. That was a huge compliment. I did double the sauce and cooked them completely on the stove. My sauce was so thick I added water to thin it out.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J Elaine April 10, 2013

Thanks for a great recipe! My 16yr old stepson - who hates pork chops - but tolerates them - ate 2 !!! He said " its a keeper" ! Definately double the sauce though and I cooked mine in my iron skillet on the stove with a lid about 30 minutes. I did add some more of the chicken stock w/ cornstarch to thicken it up. Served with rice & green beans. YUM YUM is right!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetbabySchoen February 23, 2012

I was disappointed in the result. The pork chops did not have much flavor and the sauce just didn't cut it. I followed the recipe exactly and was really sorry I tried it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bushie January 07, 2012

This was soooo good!! The only thing I did different was use 10 bone-in pork chops (5 chops per casserole dish), and doubled the sauce, which made barely over a cup, (half cup per casserole) . I covered with tin foil for 50 minutes and without the last 10 minutes. It was juicy and the meat fell right off of the bone!!! SO EASY TOO!!! This is going into the cook book and will be a new regular. Thanks for posting this. I needed a new recipe for pork chops :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sekretoktober24 January 04, 2012
Pork Chops Yum-Yum