Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Chops Yum-Yum Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Chops Yum-Yum

    Average Rating:

    648 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 648

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2010

      I doubled the sauce but most of it cooked away. I would cook them less time as mine were a little dry. Flavor is out of this world good. Served with Roasted Applesauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      This was awesome. We usually only eat pork chops one way...fried. This is a much healthier different way to eat them. I loved it, my hubby liked it but it wasn't his favorite. He isn't big on the sweeter flavors. He did say the pork chops were very tender though. My 2 year old asked for seconds, which is rare for her, as she isn't a big meat eater. We served this with steamed rice and broccoli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      OH YEAH!! Just perfect for an easy and most importantly delicious Monday night dinner! Add us to the minnions that love this recipe. I served with rice and vegetables. I only needed to cook for two, so two pork chops and I added a half to all the ingredients of the sauce and cooked for about 50 minutes and it was perfection! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I gave it 5 stars because it is the best pork chop recipe I have made. The only thing is that the cooking time is too long. 45 minutes I think works much better even with a thick pork chop. I would just recommend checking it at 40 or 45 minutes. I cooked 1/2 of the batch longer (55 minutes) because they were bigger but they ended up too dry as opposed th the ones I cooked for 45 minutes. But again...best pork chop recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2014

      This sounds delicious but an hour in the oven sounds way too long for pork chops this thick. I think I would insert a thermometer so they wouldn't dry out. I'm going to have to try these!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      Hi all - This will be long because I really, really hope to figure out what I did wrong - I hope there's some smart person out there who will read all this and comment - I DO want to learn and correct. I cooked the Pork Chops Yum Yum last night. I have NEVER ruined pork this badly before. I read almost a hundred of the reviews, decided to do stove-top like most. I bought two boneless pork loin chops about little less than 3/4 inches thick but did not brine them (maybe I should have!). I trimmed a little of the fat and added a little pepper and sauteed off the chops in about a tablespoon of olive oil - only 2 min on each side for fear of overcooking them - HA! Boy was I wrong! I minced a clove of fresh garlic and a good teaspoon of fresh ginger, and per one reviewer, made pole-to-pole cuts of half a large yellow onion. Once the meat was sauteed I put the chops on a warm plate for a minute while I sauteed the garlic, ginger and onions for about two minutes to sweat them a little and until the garlic started to smell good - I did this on a med low flame. Then I added the tripled sauce ingredients (as per many reviewers) So, used (for triple sauce - 3/4 cup chicken broth, 3/8 cup honey, 3/8 cup regular soy sauce and 3 tablespoons ketchup all went into the saute pan with the onion/garlic mix. Also per one reviewer (the one who suggested the onions) I added 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar because that is a normal ingredient in most Asian sauces. I put the chops back into the saute pan, brought the sauce up to a simmer and then turned the heat down low so I only had it "burbeling" (if that is a word) and covered the pan. Per another reviewer, I turned the chops every 5 minutes for a total of 20 minutes. I pulled the chops off to a warm plate and added 1 Tablespoon cornstarch already mixed with 1 Tablespoon water. And the sauce really needed the thickener. I brought the heat up and stirred for about 4 minutes at medium heat till the sauce thickened nicely. Served the chops over rice and broccoli on the side. Now, when I tell you that I am a pretty good cook - really I am, I have NEVER had to work so hard at cutting a good piece of meat! The chops were SO TOUGH that my life partner shoved them away in disgust. I ate mine out of shame but it was really hard to cut. Okay, smart people - what did I do wrong or where did I go wrong? Was it the vinegar that toughened the meat? Was the 20 minutes (already a much-shortened cooking time) too long? The meat quality was the best I could buy from the Vons (which is Safeway out here) good meat department - I didn't skimp on the quality! The sauce was okay - nothing special or different than what I would get at a local Chinese restaurant but certainly not what most of the reviewers mentioned - just sort of middle-of-the-road okay Chinese sauce. So, I am genuinely interested in what I must have done or why the pork toughened up that badly - never in my life have I had such a tough piece of meat. Couldn't even get the steak knife through it - had to saw and saw. So, I want to learn here and would be very grateful if someone or more than one person would comment on what I should have done or where I went wrong. I DO appreciate the time and thank you all for your thoughts!<br/>Citrus1000

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      These were good but a little tough so I will decrease the cooking time next time. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      5 Stars after a couple modifications. I used four boneless pork chops that were at least an inch thick. Very large chops! I dredged them in seasoned flour (salt & pepper) and then browned them. The only other change was covering in foil for 50 minutes and removed foil the last 10 minutes. They were exceptionally tender and very juicy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      Just made these tonight. I doubled the sauce. These really were Yum-Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      Delicious sauce! I doubled the sauce and cooked my chops (covered) for 45 minutes after browning, and they came out very tough and dry. Seems chops should either cook quick or a long braise. So next time they'll go in for a quick 25-30 minutes and we'll see how that goes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      These pork chops were really good. I doubled the sauce as other reviews suggested, and I cooked them covered on the stove. They were a little dry, but that's because I over estimated the cooking time. Great flavor though. Will make them again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      Excellent recipe! As others suggested, I doubled the sauce. I browned chops in olive oil in electric fry pan, added the sauce to the pan covered and simmered to chops reached 165 degrees. Near end of cooking time I added a pkg. of restaurant style mushrooms and thickened the sauce with corn starch. Good reason for calling them yum-yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      I followed what others had done, and cooked the entire recipe on the stove. I also made 4x the sauce, and poked holes in my chops, and let it marinate. I browned the chops for about 3 minutes on each side, then added the marinade, brought it up to a simmer, and then lowered the temp. down to med low, and covered them. I turned the chops every 5 minutes for 20 minutes, then I took the chops out, and covered them for 5 minutes. I added a little cornstarch to the sauce to thicken it. These chops were moist and the sauce was awesome.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      I was disappointed in the result. The pork chops did not have much flavor and the sauce just didn't cut it. I followed the recipe exactly and was really sorry I tried it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      Nothing special. Tasted like a pork chop.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Very easy to make. I lined the casserole dish with greased aluminum foil; which made cleaning simple. Paired with asparagus asian style and wild rice. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      Very easy and delicious. I didn't brown the porkchops. I baked them in an oven bag and they turned out wonderfully. Will make often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      We tried this recipe tonight, and it was awesome! It was a nice change & full of flavor. I did double the sauce as I read most people did as well. We have a really picker eater & she ate everything except for the bone!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      Amazing! Sauce was excellent. Made on stove top. Seared boneless 1/2 inch pork chops then simmered in sauce for about 25-30 min until sauce thickened and reduced itself into a glaze-like texture. Definitely make double the amount of sauce. Even my pickiest eater was licking the plate, literally!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      Just made this recipe - wonderful! Will make again. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Chops Yum-Yum

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 427.0
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    38%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 137.3 mg
    45%
    Sodium 1292.8 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 19.5 g
    78%
    Protein 43.9 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites