Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Chops Yum-Yum Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Chops Yum-Yum

    Average Rating:

    649 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 649

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2010

      These were wonderful ~ the reason why everyone is having trouble with dryness is because they NEED to be covered. Anytime you are baking in the oven & you don't want something to dry out it HAS to be covered. Then about 10 min. before it's done it can be uncovered to brown

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      The name says it all. I read all of the reviews, and some said bake, some said use the skillet. I did it both ways. 6 minutes browning, 10 minutes sauteing, 20 minutes in the oven, all in the same oven-proof skillet. I used low sodium Soy sauce, and instead of dry ginger and garlic salt, I minced 1/2 tsp. of fresh ginger and two garlic cloves, thus reducing sodium and keeping my doctor happy. The taste was to die for, but the lower sodium was to live for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      This is still one of our favorite dishes. I just made them a few minutes ago. Here is my latest. I did thme on the stove top. I oiled my cast iron skillet with canola, enough to cover. Seasoned my chops with my favorite seasoning, and browned chops each side about 4 minutes. In the meantime, I mixed my other ingredients for the sauce. Which I recommend highly that you double. If you don't there is no way there will be enough sauce and you will be disappointed. I too, like another reviewer used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I then removed chops from skillet and added more oil to cover the skillet. Put chops back in the skillet, reduced heat to medium, poured sauce over chops, covered skillet with lid, and cooked on medium for about 15-20 minutes (thin chops), turning and basting with the sauce in skillet about 3 times. Served with rice and broccoli. I love this recipe!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      I have to give this recipe 5 stars simply because of the base ingredients, but I have to say there is a much better and simpler way to prepare this dish. Mix all the ingredients together for the sauce and set aside. Brown your pork chops (I use boneless pork chops), then pour the sauce over the pork chops, let it remain at a high heat for just a couple of minutes, until the sauce is really bubbly. Then cover the skillet and turn down the heat to medium-low. Let cook for another 5-10 minutes, or until they reach 165 degrees. They turn out so moist and the flavor is amazing. I find when you follow the original recipe, it A) takes to long and B) the sauce really doesn't stick to the meat. This is one of our families favorite meals and it is so easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      Made as directed with these exceptions....Made entire recipe in my large skillet on the stove top. After browning of the chops, simmered all for 30-45 mins covered. Used the sauce over the top of white rice. 5 stars for Yummy Yummy Pork Chops

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      This has become a favorite at our house and I make it twice a month. I do it on the stove in a skillet. Brown the chops 5 minutes each side in olive oil and butter, add the other ingredients, cover and simmer for 20 minutes. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      I used this recipe as a starting point for my dinner last night. I tripled the sauce ingredients, and added 2 TB brown sugar and let the chops marinade for about 2 hours. I then seared the chops in a pan for about 3 minutes per side along with a sliced onion, added the sauce back into the pan, covered & let them simmer for about 10 minutes (they were thin cut). I added a mixture of apx 1 TB cornstarch + 1 TB water to thicken at the end and served with rice. Very delicious and simple! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      This recipe was easy and YUMMY!!!! At the time I made this recipe there were 165 reviews, and I read them all. I followed what others had done, and cooked the entire recipe on the stove. I also made 4x the sauce, and poked holes in my thick chops, and let it marinate overnight. What a great idea. Then I browned the chops for about 3 minutes on each side, then added the marinade, brought it up to a simmer, and then lowered the temp. down to med low, and covered them. I turned the chops every 5 minutes for 20 minutes, then I took the chops out, and covered them for 5 minutes. I added a little cornstartch to the sauce to thicken it the way I like it. These chops were moist, and the sauce was Fantastic!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

      One the most tasty receipies I've tried and the family loved it. To keep my pork chop from drying out, I brined the chops in a gallon ziplock bag with two tablespoons of salt and two cups of water then refrigerated for about 3 hours. Then browned for four minutes on one side then three minutes on the other with one tablespoon of oil over medium high heat. Because of the brining, I omitted the garlic salt and use one minced garlic clove. Baked for 35 minutes instead of the one hour. The chops came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      As many of the previous reviews have stated I double the sauce... I don't bake this at all, I sear the chops over high heat and set them aside. After making the sauce in the same pan I put the chops back in with the sauce to cook over medium heat on the cooktop. It's easier and quite a bit faster in my opinion plus I can use a non-stick pan as the sauce is a bit sticky once it thickens. I serve over steamed rice. It's a fun way to "spruce up" pork with ingredients I always have on hand anyways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      Delicious! I took others' advice and browned the chops, then made the sauce in the same pan, then added the chops back in. I'm always trying to create less dirty dishes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Fellow reviewers weren't kidding - this sauce absolutely rocks. Substituted garlic powder for garlic salt and added fresh minced garlic. Did not taste ketchupy, just mellow, salty, sweet, and ooey-gooey yummy good. Poked two pork tenderloins, marinated overnight, and made per Chef Steveo's review, but browning the meat on all 4 sides and simmering for 30 minutes, turning meat only once. Removed the meat to carve and added a cold water-cornstarch slurry and let the sauce simmer until desired consistency was reached. The 30-minute mark resulted in tender, juicy pork loin. The sauce was absolutely amazing - I'm glad I doubled it (should have quadrupled, but I didn't have enough soy sauce left to do so. Luckily, the sauce was a tad strong for my taste, so I was able to get more out of it by diluting with a 1/3 c of water. Served the dish in the skillet to not let any sauce go to waste, and good thing I did! People were scraping every last bit of the sauce from the pan onto their plates, using the loin slices as a spatula head. So much for leftovers for tomorrow's lunch, sigh. ^_^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      Didn't have ketchup, but I will say I used fresh garlic, not powdered, but used powdered ginger, not fresh.

      It was tasty and the sauce was delicious!

      For anyone having issues with dry pork chops: if you never want dry pork chops again, brine them before you cook them. I brine every single time I make pork chops without a marinade, and they are always delicious and moist. Put water into a gallon size ziploc bag, add 1 table spoon of kosher salt, mix the salt in the water well, and then add your chops. Let them soak for about 3 hours, and then you can cook them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      We loved it! I made just a few small changes. I used pork tenderloin cut up into bite sized cubes. I dredged them in seasoned corn flower before frying them in olive oil. I used a 1/2 tsp. of granulated garlic (instead of the garlic salt) and added 1 1/2 tsp. of vinegar to the sauce. Like many others, I used low sodium soy sauce which I thought was perfect. When the pork was browned, I poured the sauce over top, mixed it around a little and baked them in the oven for 30 minutes. They came out with a nice thickened sauce that was really delicious! My little girl says she wants to eat this every day for the rest of her life. She really, really liked it. Thanks for sharing this one. It's a winner all the way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      The sauce on these is soooo good. The biggest problem is an hour is way too long and my chops dried out. I decreased by 15 minutes the second time i made them and they were still a little dry. So next time i'll brown them quickly then have them in the oven for 30. I'm hoping that will keep them moist and i don't mind reducing the sauce on the stove to thicken if i need to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      My DH and I couldn't get enough of these. We substituted BBQ sauce for the ketchup since we didn't have any, and also used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. We put it in the oven for 50 minutes instead of one hour and they turned out perfectly. We served over brown rice and it was definitely yum yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      I made this tonight and without even mentioning anything about them to my husband at the end of the meal, he said they were really good, nice and tender and moist. That was a huge compliment. I did double the sauce and cooked them completely on the stove. My sauce was so thick I added water to thin it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      Thanks for a great recipe! My 16yr old stepson - who hates pork chops - but tolerates them - ate 2 !!! He said " its a keeper" ! Definately double the sauce though and I cooked mine in my iron skillet on the stove with a lid about 30 minutes. I did add some more of the chicken stock w/ cornstarch to thicken it up. Served with rice & green beans. YUM YUM is right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      This was soooo good!! The only thing I did different was use 10 bone-in pork chops (5 chops per casserole dish), and doubled the sauce, which made barely over a cup, (half cup per casserole) . I covered with tin foil for 50 minutes and without the last 10 minutes. It was juicy and the meat fell right off of the bone!!! SO EASY TOO!!! This is going into the cook book and will be a new regular. Thanks for posting this. I needed a new recipe for pork chops :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      Really good! I used minced garlic and it worked really well. Also, I was using honey I just got from the farmer's market, and it was too thick... it wouldn't mix with the other ingredients to make the sauce. So after I seared the pork chops and laid them in a baking dish, I threw the sauce ingredients in the sear pan and melted the honey a bit... this had the added benefit of getting all the little seared bits up from the pan. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 33

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Chops Yum-Yum

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 427.0
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    38%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 137.3 mg
    45%
    Sodium 1292.8 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 19.5 g
    78%
    Protein 43.9 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites