655 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were wonderful ~ the reason why everyone is having trouble with dryness is because they NEED to be covered. Anytime you are baking in the oven & you don't want something to dry out it HAS to be covered. Then about 10 min. before it's done it can be uncovered to brown

74 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee February 08, 2010

The name says it all. I read all of the reviews, and some said bake, some said use the skillet. I did it both ways. 6 minutes browning, 10 minutes sauteing, 20 minutes in the oven, all in the same oven-proof skillet. I used low sodium Soy sauce, and instead of dry ginger and garlic salt, I minced 1/2 tsp. of fresh ginger and two garlic cloves, thus reducing sodium and keeping my doctor happy. The taste was to die for, but the lower sodium was to live for.

52 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ohmikeghod December 14, 2010

This is still one of our favorite dishes. I just made them a few minutes ago. Here is my latest. I did thme on the stove top. I oiled my cast iron skillet with canola, enough to cover. Seasoned my chops with my favorite seasoning, and browned chops each side about 4 minutes. In the meantime, I mixed my other ingredients for the sauce. Which I recommend highly that you double. If you don't there is no way there will be enough sauce and you will be disappointed. I too, like another reviewer used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I then removed chops from skillet and added more oil to cover the skillet. Put chops back in the skillet, reduced heat to medium, poured sauce over chops, covered skillet with lid, and cooked on medium for about 15-20 minutes (thin chops), turning and basting with the sauce in skillet about 3 times. Served with rice and broccoli. I love this recipe!! Thanks!

47 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife2uRick November 09, 2010

I have to give this recipe 5 stars simply because of the base ingredients, but I have to say there is a much better and simpler way to prepare this dish. Mix all the ingredients together for the sauce and set aside. Brown your pork chops (I use boneless pork chops), then pour the sauce over the pork chops, let it remain at a high heat for just a couple of minutes, until the sauce is really bubbly. Then cover the skillet and turn down the heat to medium-low. Let cook for another 5-10 minutes, or until they reach 165 degrees. They turn out so moist and the flavor is amazing. I find when you follow the original recipe, it A) takes to long and B) the sauce really doesn't stick to the meat. This is one of our families favorite meals and it is so easy to make.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vega Girl September 23, 2012

Made as directed with these exceptions....Made entire recipe in my large skillet on the stove top. After browning of the chops, simmered all for 30-45 mins covered. Used the sauce over the top of white rice. 5 stars for Yummy Yummy Pork Chops

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandylee October 28, 2010

This has become a favorite at our house and I make it twice a month. I do it on the stove in a skillet. Brown the chops 5 minutes each side in olive oil and butter, add the other ingredients, cover and simmer for 20 minutes. Perfect!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alorcoy October 08, 2009

I used this recipe as a starting point for my dinner last night. I tripled the sauce ingredients, and added 2 TB brown sugar and let the chops marinade for about 2 hours. I then seared the chops in a pan for about 3 minutes per side along with a sliced onion, added the sauce back into the pan, covered & let them simmer for about 10 minutes (they were thin cut). I added a mixture of apx 1 TB cornstarch + 1 TB water to thicken at the end and served with rice. Very delicious and simple! Thanks!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GetU4ThatCoconut December 08, 2009

This recipe was easy and YUMMY!!!! At the time I made this recipe there were 165 reviews, and I read them all. I followed what others had done, and cooked the entire recipe on the stove. I also made 4x the sauce, and poked holes in my thick chops, and let it marinate overnight. What a great idea. Then I browned the chops for about 3 minutes on each side, then added the marinade, brought it up to a simmer, and then lowered the temp. down to med low, and covered them. I turned the chops every 5 minutes for 20 minutes, then I took the chops out, and covered them for 5 minutes. I added a little cornstartch to the sauce to thicken it the way I like it. These chops were moist, and the sauce was Fantastic!!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Steveo August 20, 2006

One the most tasty receipies I've tried and the family loved it. To keep my pork chop from drying out, I brined the chops in a gallon ziplock bag with two tablespoons of salt and two cups of water then refrigerated for about 3 hours. Then browned for four minutes on one side then three minutes on the other with one tablespoon of oil over medium high heat. Because of the brining, I omitted the garlic salt and use one minced garlic clove. Baked for 35 minutes instead of the one hour. The chops came out perfect.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmokyKitchen March 04, 2011

As many of the previous reviews have stated I double the sauce... I don't bake this at all, I sear the chops over high heat and set them aside. After making the sauce in the same pan I put the chops back in with the sauce to cook over medium heat on the cooktop. It's easier and quite a bit faster in my opinion plus I can use a non-stick pan as the sauce is a bit sticky once it thickens. I serve over steamed rice. It's a fun way to "spruce up" pork with ingredients I always have on hand anyways.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MindyP679 March 30, 2011
Pork Chops Yum-Yum