Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Chops With Pears Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Chops With Pears

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2009

      This was very good and used stuff I stock in my pantry. A simple way to serve an elegant dish! I used some strawberry/banana orange juice since that's what I had on hand, but the tastes still matched well. This is one for my recipe box! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Excellent recipe and very easy to make! My entire family enjoyed it. I have a very picky eater, and she wanted me to make it again the next day. My husband said it was restaurant quality. I did modify it a little. I had no OJ so I substituted the drained pear juice. I deglazed the frying pan with the sherry. I also used more cornstarch & water. I used about 2 Tbsp. cornstarch and 1/4 c water. This will definitely added to my monthly menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

    • on June 09, 2007

      WOW! I served this over egg noodles with homegrown Swiss Chard on the side and we were in heaven! The sauce really makes this dish. I had leftover pork chops and needed something easy and pantry friendly. It felt way too fancy for a Thursday night. This is a real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

    • on April 19, 2007

      I served this for a New Year's Eve dinner. Although it's very easy to prepare, it looks like I went to a great deal of trouble. The taste is superb...just a hint of cinnamon. My guests raved! Thanks for sharing, Pianolady!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      I loved this! The DH is not the biggest fan of pork chops but he enjoyed this with the pears as well! Next time I want to try a variation of the recipe using apples!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Delicious! This was a great way to use up pears I had on hand! Everyone ooohhed and ahhhhed...even the picky eaters! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      I was surprised with how light and tasty this dish actually was. I just used orange juice instead of sherry (it needed a bit more cornstarch to thicken up as well) but I think it probably would've been better with the sherry, or at least some type of wine. The chops I used were maybe half an inch thick, and I cut off 10 minutes in the overall cooking time, but they still came out pretty dry so that was disappointing. I guess I'll have to shorten the time even more, or just skip browning them. But overall it was still very nice and I'm sure I'll make these again. These were also great with Asian pears!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      This was delicious and moist! I used the OJ since I didn't have any sherry on hand and sprinkled flour in the pan instead of cornstarch. I just kept wisking in a little more till the sauce got a little thicker--I didn't actually cook it. Will definitely make this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      This is a great recipe if you are short on time and want something you can toss together and throw in the oven. Since my chops were thin like one of the other reviewers I reduced the time covered by 5 minutes and uncovered by about 7 minutes... they were perfect. We really liked the pears with the chops too. Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      Absolutely delicious! I was looking for something I could make with what I had in the house, and I only had pears in syrup, but it worked well. I ended up with very moist pork chops with a yummy, sweet sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      I made this tonight and it was wonderful! I'm not normally a big fan of pork, but this was very good. I had to make one subsititution though. My grocery store didn't have sherry when I went so I had to use merlot instead. Still good though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2005

      Pork chops and pears...who would have thought? DELICIOUS! A wonderful change of pace. DH and I especially enjoyed the autumn flavors of cinnamon/oj combo. I made this as part of my OAMC day - it smelled so great that it didn't make it to freezer! Thank you, Pianolady

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      I was in a hurry and didn't wait for the sauce at first and thought the pork chops were good, but not outstanding. Then I added some of the sauce and wow! Really good. Don't leave it off!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2005

      WONDERFUL combination of flavors. My H,a basic meat and potato man, used the words "nice flavor"! In a hurry, I forgot to make the gravy and the dish didn't skip a beat. Can only imagine how it will taste next time with gravy! HATS OFF to you, PIANOLADY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2005

      Excellent recipe. Very easy to make and looks and tastes impressive. I will be making this recipe frequently. Thanks Pianolady for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      This was a easy and change from everyday pork chops a must try. I used a white wine I had around the house. Turned out nice. My husband couldn't get enought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2005

      This is an elegant dish. The chops were nice and moist and the flavors complemented each other. Thanks for an easy and tasty dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      I love pork chops but often have a problem with them being very dry, for this recipe I used nice thick chops and they were lovely and moist with a great flavour. Pork and pear is lovely together and we liked the sauce. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Chops With Pears

    Serving Size: 1 (398 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 475.7
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    39%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 82.6 mg
    27%
    Sodium 103.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 29.1 g
    116%
    Protein 23.1 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites