20 Reviews

This was great. Not at all dry. Will make it again tonight using a pork tenderloin. Only changes: 2 cups chicken broth for apple juice and beef broth. Finished off with fresh cilantro leaves. Will add a second apple tonight.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
It's loose again February 12, 2004

Most excellent! There was tons of sauce- I used 6 pork cutlets and could probably have done 8. To make sure my kids would try it, I cut back on the curry powder a little- used 4 tsp of Penzeys (fairly potent) and that was perfect for us. We added some mango ginger chutney on the side. Overall, a great addition to the repertoire.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktdid December 28, 2003

I almost didn't submit a review for this recipe, as ingredients on hand forced me to make a few changes. However, hubby and loved the dish. I, therefore, decided to pass on my experience. Firstly, the unsweetened applesauce I had in the fridge had gone bad. I followed a suggestion of a previous reviewer and subbed sweetened applesauce, eliminated the apple juice and used 2 cups beef broth. The second change was necessary when I found I didn't have any curry powder. A quick search and the Zaar kitchen dictionary provided a list of the herb and spice blend in curry. I used those notes to add spices from my pantry. I sprinkled in cardamom, cayenne, cinnamon, cloves, coriander, cumin, nutmeg, pepper, and tumeric. (I didn't have all of the herbs and spices listed in the dictionary.) I simmered a bit and tasted, adding a bit more of whatever I felt was needed to balance the flavors. Even with my substitutions, the dish was delicious. The pork was tender and moist. Hubby cut his with his fork. The apples and onions made a great sauce with just the right amount of sweet and savory. We plan on trying the recipe again...with the correct ingredients.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. February 08, 2004

This was so good! I had never cooked pork chops before, but this was a great introduction. DH loved it, too. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
This Spatula January 04, 2015

Lovely. Made a nice fall meal. Not too sweet, just a nice mix of flavors. I always use Penzey's spices, and their curry made a nice addition to this dish. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 14, 2014

Yummy! I did make a few changes... I used two really big Granny Smith apples chopped up and no applesauce and I used two cups of chicken broth instead of the one cup of beef broth. I also browned the pork (I had a pork tenderloin I sliced up into inch thick medallions) in a deep oven proof skillet (not nonstick), removed them and added the other ingredients as directed. But instead of transferring it all to a casserole dish I just added the pork back in once the veggies/fruit were cooked, covered them with the veggies/fruit, added a lid and popped the whole thing in the oven. I only baked it for 30 mins and it was fine.
Served it with garlic mashed potatoes and peas. Yummy! Next time I might just add the peas to the pan before I put it in the oven as peas go well with curry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 September 21, 2012

I'd give this one 6 stars if possible. I agree with others. Skip the apple juice. I used 2 cups beef broth instead. It made lots of tasty sauce to put on rice. Next time, I'll throw in a few raisins and some coconut to give it an Indonesian flair.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Paul December 09, 2011

This dish was very good! I loved the flavor and the meat was very juicy and tender. The ONLY reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because of the way it looked. After taking it out of the oven, the sauce was pretty thin so I covered the chops and set aside while I put the sauce in a pan and reduced it a little. It was because of the size of the apples and onions that the sauce ended up looking like chunky baby food. So, it did not look appetizing at all. Maybe next time I will add in some sliced apples and not reduce it down as much so it's not as thick....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikkochan December 02, 2008

This meal was great! The first comment from my husband after trying this was, "This is REALLY good." I used half the curry and twice the apples and onions because I was worried about the spice for my kids and I love caramelized onions. They loved it with one tablespoon of the curry powder. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bubba&Boo September 12, 2008
Pork Chops with Curried Caramelized Onions and Apples