66 Reviews

I wanted a new way to prepare thick pork chops for my family ,and this was really good. I used Lawerys season salt instead of accent, and salt. The gravy smelled a little like a marsala sauce. The meat was so tender this way, so much better than dried out broiled thick pork chops.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catcooks123 January 22, 2001

Very tender, and I loved the flavor from the beer although my husband found it a bit strong. I will definitely make this recipe again and plan to try some beef bouillon w/worcestershire sauce for part of the beer.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoosierBjw April 10, 2002

I love simple and easy and this filled the bill. I thickened the remaining sauce for a gravey and it was great over the accompanying mashed potatoes.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo March 26, 2002

Great flavor and the chops were tender but the sauce was too thin for gravy. Need to add a step about thickening the sauce to make it a gravy. It was still delicious and I will probably make again, but plan to thicken the sauce at the end.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue April 29, 2002

Excellent and so simple to make. I replaced the Accent with Lawry's Season salt. My whole family loved them -- no left overs! I will make these again. Thanks for the great recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim Blanchard March 29, 2001

I made this for dinner last night and it was wonderful. Regarding the comment about thickening the sauce: when you add the beer and soup to the pan drippings if you simmer it until it is slightly reduced (about 5 minutes) before pouring it over the chops it should be nice and thick when the dish is done. The sauce was great over mashed potatoes.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Horn October 21, 2002

I was very disappointed with this recipe, considering all the rave reviews. While I liked the flavor, the pork was dry. It was basically boiled in the oven. Not something you want to do to pork chops.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne P June 12, 2002

I have made this recipe twice now (first time as written except omitted Accent (MSG)). The first time I made this I also ended up with a very thin sauce as another reviewer mentioned. It had a nice beer flavor but needed some more seasonings. The second time I made this I tweaked it a bit: Seasoned pork with garlic powder and Bavarian seasoning (from The Spice House: crushed brown mustard, rosemary, garlic, sage, thyme and bay leaves) in addition to salt and pepper. Browned pork then removed to plate. In the same skillet, sauteed chopped onion (1/2 a yellow onion) and 4 minced garlic cloves until soft. I stirred in about 1 T brown sugar then added the beer (New Castle brown ale) and boiled it until reduced by about half. Once reduced, I stirred in the soup and added 1-2 T Bavarian seasoning. I then returned the pork to the skillet, covered it, and placed it in the oven for 2 hours. I ended up with a creamy, flavorful sauce. The extra baking time also allowed the pork to become more moist and tender. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms October 27, 2011

This was very tasty and pretty easy to pull together. The beer taste was just a tad strong for me. I agree with the reviewer that next time I'd do maybe half beer/half broth or something. Pork chops were very tender and quite tasty though! I will definitely make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie January 09, 2011

I made this in the crock pot. The gravy seemed a little to sour/'vinegary', but overall, the taste was good. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mirelaz June 16, 2012
Pork Chops With Beer