66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I wanted a new way to prepare thick pork chops for my family ,and this was really good. I used Lawerys season salt instead of accent, and salt. The gravy smelled a little like a marsala sauce. The meat was so tender this way, so much better than dried out broiled thick pork chops.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catcooks123 January 22, 2001

Very tender, and I loved the flavor from the beer although my husband found it a bit strong. I will definitely make this recipe again and plan to try some beef bouillon w/worcestershire sauce for part of the beer.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoosierBjw April 10, 2002

I love simple and easy and this filled the bill. I thickened the remaining sauce for a gravey and it was great over the accompanying mashed potatoes.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo March 26, 2002

Great flavor and the chops were tender but the sauce was too thin for gravy. Need to add a step about thickening the sauce to make it a gravy. It was still delicious and I will probably make again, but plan to thicken the sauce at the end.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue April 29, 2002

Excellent and so simple to make. I replaced the Accent with Lawry's Season salt. My whole family loved them -- no left overs! I will make these again. Thanks for the great recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim Blanchard March 29, 2001

I made this for dinner last night and it was wonderful. Regarding the comment about thickening the sauce: when you add the beer and soup to the pan drippings if you simmer it until it is slightly reduced (about 5 minutes) before pouring it over the chops it should be nice and thick when the dish is done. The sauce was great over mashed potatoes.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Horn October 21, 2002

I was very disappointed with this recipe, considering all the rave reviews. While I liked the flavor, the pork was dry. It was basically boiled in the oven. Not something you want to do to pork chops.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne P June 12, 2002

I made this in the crock pot. The gravy seemed a little to sour/'vinegary', but overall, the taste was good. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mirelaz June 16, 2012

I used Seasoned Salt instead of accent and added sliced fresh celery for some crunch. This was really good and the chops were tender. Served with rice and a veg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marich January 28, 2012

This was easy to put together with barely any prep! I used PBR beer and cut back on the amount by a couple ounces. Instead of using Accent I just used garlic salt and pepper. I also added a few dashes of hot sauce to the soup (cr of mushroom) and beer to give it a kick. Thanks for a great recipe using ingredients I always have on hand!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shani Banani January 16, 2012
Pork Chops With Beer