Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Chops With An Oregano Wine Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Chops With An Oregano Wine Sauce

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2002

      Inez, thanks for posting this recipe. We loved the dish. I thought it might have too much oregano for our taste, but I kept to your directions. I'm glad I did! The sauce alone could be used on stuffed peppers, meatloaf, meatballs, etc. I have printed this and will add it to my tried and true file. Thanks again! Ann

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2002

      Wow Inez, you are so right about the sauce. I had to stop myself from continually tasting the sauce. The tomato,wine, and oregano blended together so well for an outstanding flavor. I served this with zucchini and mashed potatoes. Great meal. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2002

      Wonderful recipe. I made it with a 2 pound boneless pork roast, following the directions for the sauce, and then baking at 350 for approximately 75 minutes. I started with it covered, turned it a couple of times, and took the cover off the last 20 minutes or so. Sliced it, and spooned the sauce over it. It was so tender, and the sauce is great. Doing it in the oven you can make baked potatoes at the same time. A very simple yet truly delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2002

      WOW, these chops! I used two large butterfly chops and cut them in half. The sauce was delicious. We liked and enjoyed the oregano-wine flavor. I agree that the sauce could be used on other things too. Thanks for one great meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      What a great way to make pork chops. I chose a nice thick boneless cut and trimmed the fat. I like to use a nonstick pan so I used a bit of cooking spray and skipped the oil. The pork chops were tender and wonderful. I served them over broad egg noodles with a bit of fresh grated parmesan. Wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2002

      I followed the recipe exactly and it was very easy to prepare. I really liked the flavor combination but my husband wasn't completely satisfied.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2002

    • on February 14, 2004

      GREAT!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      Excellent sauce for Pork Chops! Made as directed other than adding in 1/2 of a chunked up onion that I wanted to use up. I reduced the pork chops for two of us but kept the sauce measurements the same. I think it will make a wonderful based for a Sausages and Peppers meal. I think this recipe would also be great baked in the oven low and slow. Thanks for sharing this gem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Made as directed...but I was expecting a lot more from this sauce (especially because of all the rave reviews). But overall, I didn't feel like it was anything special. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      This was REALLY good. I don't like to eat green peppers, but I like the flavor they added to the sauce, and there was a good amount of sauce to top the chops with. Served with wild rice. Seems like this sauce would be tasty on lamb, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      UPDATE #2 17 APR 09: I used a couple of tuna steaks with excellent results. I made the sauce per directions and then added the tuna steaks and let them braise for 15 minutes. Served with a side of penne for the wonderful sauce! Again, my partner and I really enjoyed this. UPDATE 5 NOV 08: I previously threatened to try this with chicken and did so last night. It was superb! I pounded my chicken breasts flat and seasoned with salt, pepper and dry thyme. After browning them on both sides I followed the directions for making the sauce. Toward the end, I added 1 cup frozen peas and served with brown rice to pour the sauce over. Wow!! Superb sauce! My partner didn't care for the peppers, so he picked around them, but that was no problem because there was ample sauce. I am going to try this with chicken breasts, and maybe fish too. I don't know what it is about using white wine in a tomato sauce, as opposed to red wine, but it really makes a difference in taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      I am going to give this a 5 star b/cuz it was so good and easy to make. However, it would be nice if the size of can for the tomato and tomato sauce was mentioned. There are different tomato can size's which makes it difficult to know the right amount of sauce you should end up with. But regardless we really enjoyed this. And we will make it again. Made for PAC 09

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      Good flavor and easy to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      Fantastic recipe! It's become a family favorite. We've made it with red and yellow peppers as well as with Italian peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

    • on September 28, 2007

      I love Pork in Tomato Sauce! This reminds me a bit of one of fav recipes; Pork in Tomato Sage Sauce(http://www.recipezaar.com/182654) I used bone-in chops and would probably use boneless chops or change it up a bit by using a pork loin roast and switching it to stewing in the oven at step 7 until the pork roast was done. Yum! This sauce tastes fabulous paired with creamy parmesan risotto!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      since my family isn't to big with pork chops, i just made it with chicken breasts. VERY good, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      These were pretty good, although I was in a rush and I didn't brown them long enough. Next time I will take my time and probably serve it with some of the things suggested by other people. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      Chops were tender and flavorful! I loved the fact that this was quick and easy - great for weekday dinners. I followed the directions exactly and served this over egg noodles. Thanks Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Chops With An Oregano Wine Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (405 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 516.7
     
    Calories from Fat 286
    55%
    Total Fat 31.8 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 137.3 mg
    45%
    Sodium 118.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 44.0 g
    88%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tomato sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites