Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Chops - Southern Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Chops - Southern Style

    Average Rating:

    99 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 99

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2009

      Delicious! My DH even put the sauce on his mashed potatoes too. Made exactly as written. Wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      As written these are good but with the changes other reviewers suggested, these were really good. I had 8 chops so increased the recipe by 4. I added chicken broth instead of water and didn't add as much as the recipe called for. I also added an 8 ounce can of mushrooms. I added more bacon then the recipe called for. Made a nice gravy. I cooked mine for about an hour and a half and they were so tender, they fell apart. Great new way to cook pork chops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      We realy liked this, and it makes a change from boring griled chops. I used 1/2 cup of water, and 1/4 cup of martini, and 1/4 of a pork stock cube. It was very tasty, smoked bacon was all I had but it enhanced the flavour, I also added 1/2 a tin of sliced mushrooms, as I had no fresh. Also it keeps warm on the side well if you can't serve immediately. Will be making this again. Thank's Jeff for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Awesome, like some others I did add mushrooms and I also used chicken broth instead of water...will def make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This was good, but I think I used the wrong pork chops. With the bacon it seemed too fatty. Next time I will opt for a leaner cut and try the mushrooms everyone is suggesting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      These were delicious. I added a sprinkling of garlic powder and dash of vermouth like previous raters suggested. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      YUM! I really loved the gravy that came from this and the pork chops were nice and tender. Next time I will definitely add some mushrooms because that sounds like it would blend in perfectly. My boyfriend who is "not a pork person" ate most of it and my plate was cleared =) Thanks doe the post Jeff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Very good! A new twist to good ol' pork chops! I'm thinking I could add red and green peppers and serve with rice...or mushrooms...it could be endless! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Very good stick to your ribs kinda of meal. I filleted 3 1 inch thick boneless pork chops sprinkled with seasoning salt and pepper, added a chopped shallot to the onion and used 6 pieces center cut bacon, and used 1 cup water, all other ingredients and cooked as directed. I had plenty of gravy. My husband and mother in law who are meat and potatoes kinda people loved it. I would like to try it with wine and some mushrooms. The pork was very tender and browned beautifully. I served with baked beans, cornbread and fresh salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

    • on September 06, 2008

      This was such an easy recipe to make and the taste was WOW !!! The whole family loved it!!! Thank you Jeff!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      I read all the reviews first. I added the mushrooms and used beef better than buillion rather than water. It was delicious but I wish I had more of the gravy for the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Jeff, this was such an easy recipe. I also added shrooms and minced garlic. Served this with mashed red potatoes and it was great comfort food. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      This recipe was easy, but bland to me. I added in a few Tbsp sour cream and more salt and that enhanced it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      We really enjoyed this recipe. I had three chops, two were thicker than the other. DH got the thin one & said it cut like butter. DS & I got the thicker ones & they weren't quite as tender. But not to worry, they got sufficiently devoured anyway! The only difference in our version was more bacon, as I had a half a package to use up so I chopped it then cooked it all. Thanks for a great recipe, Jeff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      This was great! So easy to make and the chops came out very tender and flavorful! We loved this dish and will add to regular rotation. I served this with mashed pots and steamed green beans. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      Very EASY, FAST and taste like I worked at this meal for an hour or more. Thanks alot.. I'll never tell my family who thinks I slave in the kitchen that I got this from here and how simple it is to make... Made this with wild rice and mushrooms with asparagus. Thanks a ton for this recipe... Can go on and on and on, like my family did... just dont have enough space on the internet for it... lol THANKS AGAIN JEFF!!!!!!!!! ~~~PS> got five stars,, earned TEN.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

    • on April 07, 2008

      Wow Jeff!!! I have got to tell you that I made this dinner tonight for my family and they all loved it! This is by far the best pork chop recipe that I have used, and it is very easy to make! Thank you very much for putting this recipe online!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Excellent...in the words of my husband and son - "you can make this one again". (And this is a good thing!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Chops - Southern Style

    Serving Size: 1 (341 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.9
     
    Calories from Fat 281
    56%
    Total Fat 31.3 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 13.8 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 170.5 mg
    56%
    Sodium 248.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 42.1 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes