Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Chops - Southern Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Chops - Southern Style

    Average Rating:

    98 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 98

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2009

      This really is a 5-star recipe! It is easy, flexible, and has predictable results. The only things I changed was flour to cornstarch as that is what we use around here, broth instead of water because I had it and it needed used, and also I added a light dusting of cayenne to the chops with the salt and pepper for a bit more depth of flavor. Great option for those with allergies as there are no canned ingredients. We simmered the chops in the broth for about 15 or 20 minutes and while not fork tender, they weren't chewy. Longer would have been better I am sure, but I was out of time. Next time I will add some of my dried mushrooms to the simmering mix!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Yum Yum! I added Tony Chachere's Spice n'Herb seasoning to the pork chops for a little extra kick and used 4 tlbs of flour as a cornstarch substitute. Served with mushroom rice. It was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      This was really good. I made it with pork loin though. I cut the pork loin in five 1 1/2 in slices. I used four bacon strips instead of two and used 2 c. beef broth rather than water. I added a teeny bit of garlic salt and some canned mushrooms. I served it with mashed potatoes. My husband says it's as good as a restaurant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Jeff these were very simple to make and very good. I did find it to be a little bland for my family, so I added a healthy dash of Tony's Creole Seasoning and then it was perfection for us! I served this with baked sweet potatoes and green beans, and fresh pineapple and strawberries for dessert. The flavors went together amazingly! And because the sweet potatoes and gb cooked in the microwave, few dishes and time required. The pork chops cooked in the time that it took to make the sides!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      Jeff, how did you learn to cook so good?! I had this for supper tonight and it was absolutely the best pork chops I have ever made. I had 8 small center cut shops. I quadrupled everything and used the chicken broth like the others posted. I added dried thyme & garlic powder to season the chops. I added alittle fresh garlic to the pan with the bacon drippings. I left out the onions. We are not onion eaters at all but ya know what? It made no difference. It was very flavorful, extremely tender, easy, quick and will be made again in this house. Even my two Westies loved it, they begged for more and one is a very picky eater!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      Very good and very easy! I did add a little more seasonings (garlic and season salt) on the pork chops before browning, and some mushrooms in with the onions and bacon. The pork chops came out tender and moist, and the gravy was to die for! I'm be using this recipe quite a bit, I'm sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      It was a little bland, but it was good. I added mushrooms, green onions, garlic, and parsley. I used a half pack of center cut bacon. I tasted the bacon flavor but it was not as strong as i thought it would be. I gave it 4 stars because of the bland flavor. I would make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      I thought this was good although I changed a few things. I used chicken broth instead of water and added mushrooms and garlic. I also made garlic mashed potatoes to with it. The pork chops were good with the potatoes and gravy but a little plain without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      I'm sorry but it was just okay for me. We both found it a little bland in flavor. I like the concept and will try again with some garlic and maybe a touch of oregano or thyme to kick it up a knotch. The onion gravy it produced would have been great on mashed potatoes or rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      I made this tonight and was suprised good it was. I did make a few changes. I seasoned the chops before frying them with garlic powder and the salt and pepper.. Instead of adding water I used chicken stock. I'm sure this made a difference in the taste for the better. I will juse this again my family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      I was quite surprised how good this recipe turned out. I added chicken broth instead of the water and added more bacon. I thinned out the gravy with more chicken broth and water and added a tablespoon of sour cream to the gravy. YUM! Thank you Jeff for blessing us with this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This recipe was okay, but it seemed to lack flavoring for me...I think I was expecting a more rich tasting sauce...but my DB liked it alot...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      This was excellent! A definite winner with my family! I used about six slices of turkey bacon and 12 thin boneless pork loin chops and eyeballed the rest of the ingredients... very easy to throw together. I also added a splash of white wine. Jeff... You're a genius! Thanks so much for changing up my ho-hum pork chops :^)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This was SO GOOD! Decadent almost. Thanks for posting. Easy to prepare too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

    • on January 29, 2009

      I wanted to try something different with pork chops, found this recipe and gave it a shot. Definitely simple and absolutely delicious! Thanks so much Jeff! A keeper I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      Excellent!!! Quick and easy!! Great for a chilly night!! I will definitely be making this recipe again! Kudos Jeff!! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

    • on January 12, 2009

      Delicious! My DH even put the sauce on his mashed potatoes too. Made exactly as written. Wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Chops - Southern Style

    Serving Size: 1 (341 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.9
     
    Calories from Fat 281
    56%
    Total Fat 31.3 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 13.8 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 170.5 mg
    56%
    Sodium 248.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 42.1 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites