Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Chops - Southern Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Chops - Southern Style

    Average Rating:

    99 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 99

    Sort by:

    • on July 15, 2010

      I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, except I used a handful of pre-cooked real bacon bits and about 10 thin sliced pork loin chops. Normally, I make the pork slices the same old dried out way, this was so much better. I thought the gravy had plenty of flavor, I'm so glad I didn't add any stock, but I do wish I didn't add any salt at all, I only used a pinch, but I will omit it next time, there will definately be a next time for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2014

      Super easy and love the thick gravy. So many folks forget to, much less how (cold water), to deal with corn starch as a thickener.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2014

      Great and easy. My picky granddaughter ate seconds. I used two packs of turkey gravy along with the cornstarch mixture. Because I was cooking for six I placed the seared chops in a baking dish, covered them with the gravy and baked in oven for 35-minutes at 200 degrees. This will definitely become a household recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      Used maple bacon and wow! Highly recommended and it's very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      Followed recipe exactly. Pork chops came out amazing. Will make again very soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2013

      I made this recipe for my husband tonight for dinner. He loves pork, especially bacon, so I thought this would be a winner. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The verdict... he said it was

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2013

      I made this recipe for dinner guests, and is was enjoyed very much. I did have to make a slight alteration. I needed to use up a pork loin, so I browned that in the pan, and doubled the gravy. I kept rotating it thru-out the simmering time (about 45 mins). It cooked just fine. I let the pork loin rest and made the thickener (doubled, of course) to add to the sauce. To me, the "gravy" turned out kind of bland, even with the bacon in it. I sliced the pork medallions and served the gravy with them and served them with Baked Potatoes With Bacon from 3 Guys Cuban Recipes. I thick next time I may try using a mushroom gravy sauce to simmer them in. I love your technique, and will make this again with pork chops or again with a pork loin, but I will try to make more of a creamy gravy. Thank you for posting. (Made for Name That Ingredient tag).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      These were very flavorful, just wished I had more time to simmer them so they turned out more tender. The only change I made was to add a little kitchen bouquet to darken the sauce (and it came out a little fast, hence the REALLY dark gravy). Made for Name that Ingredient Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      This is so amazing. I used country bacon ends which were cooked until crisp. Followed the recipe and had deliciously tender chops. The chops and gravy were served on top of steamed brown rice with fresh summer squash on the side. A recipe that I am sure I will repeat again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      Fabulous recipe! Used precooked packaged real bacon bits and pork loin chops. Also added cremini mushrooms to sauteed onions. Did not add cornstarch or water. Heated apricot preserves and added over chops then topped w/bacon/onion/mushroom mixture. EXCELLENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      I needed a quick recipe for dinner...guests were coming and no menu planned. I found this recipe and thought it sounded easy, quick and delicious and boy was I right. My guests were still thanking me when they were going out the door! I pretty much followed the recipe except I did not add bacon back and since I had 6 boneless chops I increased the water and let simmer for about 45 minutes while the rest of my meal came together. I also used flour instead of cornstarch just because it was handier. I am so sorry I didn't take a picture because the presentation was beautiful, but most important it was delicious! Needless to say there were no leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

      This was a total hit! My husband made sure there were no leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      Followed the recipe as stated, very good flavor, gravy was excellent - simmered the chops for about 40 minutes, they didn't get as tender as my DH and I prefer, more than likely the chop wasn't as good as could be. Will definitely be using this recipe again, very simple to prepare and as I said before the gravy was excellent. Thank you Jeff for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      not bad..i used maple bacon, but the "gravy" seemed like leftover bacon grease with flour, which it basically was, was kinda let down by that..but the porkchops came out SSOOOO tender, very good..i let them simmer for about 20 mins and they were the softest porkchops i've ever had...will try and work on gravy again..thx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      Great for a quick recipe. lots of butter and fat though. I may just pass on the gravy next time. Plus I was a little disappointed that the bacon lost it's crispness--I'd need to save that for the last ingredient to add back to the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      Wonderful, YUMMY!!!! I followed the recipe exactly and it was so GOOD!! I did have to double everything because I was cooking for 5 adults.. My son-in-law loved it and had some for lunch the next day.. I wouldn't change a thing.. Definitely a KEEPER

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      The most amazing pork chops ever! I followed the recipe exactly and the results were great. The pork was tender and amazing flavor. My husband chewed the bones; no joke! We paired this with mashed potatos and were in heaven. Would highly recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      This was VERY good! The only "complaint" I have is that it's a tad bit greasy. However, it was delicious so I'm not complaining at all! The grease just made me feel guilty, but that's probably what made it so good. Even my husband liked it, and he's not one for country cookin' either. We'll be making this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      This was so good and easy. We loved the gravy and ate some of the leftovers on bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      supurb! the only change i would suggest is to double everything but the pork chops for extra gravy (remove half of the bacon fat after the first step). also make sure that you whisk all of the lumps out of the slurry before you make the gravy. this is probably the number one requested meal that is in out rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Chops - Southern Style

    Serving Size: 1 (341 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.9
     
    Calories from Fat 281
    56%
    Total Fat 31.3 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 13.8 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 170.5 mg
    56%
    Sodium 248.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 42.1 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes