22 Reviews

This recipe was easy to make, and very satisfying to the old tastebuds. There is certainly enough sauce left over to use as a gravy on mashed potatoes.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Rokey February 11, 2002

Great idea, Sugar Ivie. Thank you. As we are only two, I used two bone-in chops and rubbed black pepper and garlic into them. Only used one can of Campbell's Mushroom and Garlic soup and 1/3 cup 2% milk. Did add a few fresh mushrooms, and I did use red onions. Very, very tasty! If I had my druthers, I would have settled for the mashed potatoes with the gravy - Mmmmm. I am not much of a meat eater (except for ground beef), but you really do need the meat to get the wonderful flavour. I served the chops with mashed potatoes, home-grown cole slaw, garlic dills and rye bread. Great meal. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwen35 June 22, 2008

One CRITICAL piece of information was left out. COVER the dish before baking. This steams the chops. You end up with boot leather if you don't. Still a good dish but...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John W. January 11, 2015

This was so yummy and easy!!! I have to admit though, I was being a bit lazy and decided to for go the whole baking in the oven. I decided to use the same ingredients but I used one pan. I decided to leave it on the stove for 30 minutes on simmer and it was delicious!! Thanks you, i will make it again for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sgvgngjg February 18, 2012

This was a tasty dish. I had browned the pork chops sprinkled with some pepper and seasoned salt. As well I didnt have any evaporated milk so I use some heavy cream and the flavor was really delicious. I also used fresh mushrooms instead of canned only because I much prefer fresh. I will be making this dish again. Thanks for posting your recipe Sugar Ivie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny April 09, 2010

My family loved this entree. I sprinkled the top with 1/2c shredded monterey jack cheese 20 minutes before it was done. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef OG August 07, 2009

I would give this more than 5 stars if I could! I did season the pork with some garlic powder, pepper and sage. Then I browned them and put them in a 275 degree oven for 3 1/2 hours as a previous review stated. I did use only 2 large and thick pork chops and cut the soup to one can, used a 6 oz can of mushrooms and almost a 6 oz can of evaporated milk mixed with some sherry for the gravy. Wonderful and the smell...oh yeah! Served this with garlic mashed potatoes and Cucumber, Tomato and Red Onion Salad#383990.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf August 05, 2009

Delicious and easy. I substituted a can of cream of celery soup for one of the mushroom soups.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CathyeNC March 15, 2008

I make mine with 1 cup cropped hot green chile and 4 chopped garlic cloves added to sauce mixture. Then spinkle a cup of your choice grated cheese on top 10 min before it comes out of the oven. Thx for the recipe it is so good and easy either way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaybobbitt September 27, 2007

Very tasty porkchops! This is a great hearty meal. The only difference is I had to substitute one cream of a mushroom for cream of chicken. After browning I put the porkchops in a small electric roaster and cooked them at 275 for about 3-4 hrs. The porkchops came out very tender.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane in ND January 12, 2006
Pork Chops Smothered in Cream of Mushroom