Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Chops Smothered and Covered! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Chops Smothered and Covered!

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2009

      Diary #4--Confessions of a housewife: Day 212, Page 63 Paragraph 2--"Spent 7 hours on the computer today. Hurriedly prepared dinner with a wonderful saucy pork chop recipe. Swore to DH it took hours which conjured accolades of compliments." That's my story and I'm sticking to it! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2014

      Oh my goodness gracious! Da bomb dot com! No changes made to this fantastic recipe! Thanks so much for sharing 2Bleu! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      This was absolutely delicious. I soaked the chops prior to cooking as the author suggested. They were unbelievably tender. The gravy was wonderful! A new family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      This was easy to make but the seasoning had too much salt in it. I don't know if it was the salt from the seasonings or from the chicken broth but next time I would cut the salt back to one teaspoon instead of two. Other then the salt, we really did enjoy these. I cooked mine for an hour because my chops were on the thick side and they were fork tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      I made this recipe on 7/16/12 as part of mine and my SO's dinner.The recipe was made as follows,the chops were seasoned with seasoning salt, pepper, garlic powder,and sweet paprika.Then coated with flour that had also been seasoned with the spices that were used to season the chops. After browning the chops, the onions were added and add lightly browned.Then I proceeded to make the gravy, since no cream was on hand, milk was used. After returning the chops to the gravy, they were left to simmer for about 1 hour. I do have to say that that these chops just fell of the bone. My SO and I both thought that they were good. Thank you for posting and, " Keep Smi8ling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      I made this without the mushrooms, just to avoid the headache of the groaning children. The gravy was fantastic. I don't think I spent enough time browning the pork, because the coating tasted a little pastey, like uncooked flour. I used really big pork steaks, which I had to brown one at a time. So of course, my pan was no where near big enough to finish on the stove top. I put the pork into a big lasagna pan and covered it with the gravy. I covered the pan with tin foil and baked at 350?F for about 30 or so minutes. The pork came out really super tender and moist. The gravy was great. We served this with thick mashed potatoes and fresh whole green beans. All together a great comfort food meal. Next time, I'll spend a little more time on the browning process. Cheers! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      I have made this several times. DH & I LOVE this dish. I increase the onion, garlic, liquid & s'hrooms and use thick pork chops. I use one skillet & shovel it in the oven to bake x45-50 min. once all ingredients are incorporated. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      I think this has been my husband's favorite thing that I have ever made for him in almost 6 years of marriage. I used milk instead of heavy cream and soaked the pork chops as recommended first. I'm definitely going to be making this again and soon since it was one of the few things I made that he didn't complain about!! Thanks for sharing this :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      Just made this recipe and it is great as is. No changes necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      Tasty business here! We added cayenne to the pork chop seasoning, really loaded up on the mushrooms, served with rice and green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      I made these for dinner tonite, boy were they d e l I c I o u sssssssssssss. Extreamley tasty,tender and juicy.. the gravy was over the top. The only addition I added was some of emeril's original essence,, dh wanted to know when i'd make them again.. thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      Tasty way to prepare pork chops! Used 1 huge walla walla onion, no mushrooms, and subbed whole milk for the cream. Also added extra s/p and garlic powder to the gravy. I needed to use a cornstarch slurry at the end to thicken. Super easy recipe. Chops turned out extremely tender, and the gravy was delicious over whole wheat biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      WOW!!! These pork chops were so yummy. They are definetly up there with my all time child hood favorite of Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy my mom and grandma fixed all the time. These were so tender and juicy after cooking in the skillet for so long. My DH even ooohhhed and aaahhhhed over these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      I used thin cuts of pork tenderloin for this recipe and they turned out so moist and tender. I decreased the cooking time because my cuts were sorta thin. I'm a little disappointed in the gravy, although I did use low sodium chicken broth and 2%milk, it just didn't have the flavor I expected. I might add additional seasoning to the gravy next time. But it was absolutely delicious. Thanks Made for SSC Pet Parade.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      This is definitely good old southern comfort! Creamy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      This is down home cooking at it's finest! The pork chops were tender and moist and the gravy was delicious served on biscuits. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      This is such a delicious way to fix pork chops. My family enjoyed them a lot. They loved the creamy gravy. I'm not often crazy about pork chops, but this recipe is a winner! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Update: I see you tweaked the recipe. My previous review no longer fits. So I had to review again. ;) This was delicious, and I didn't fret this time knowing that the gravy was supposed to be extra thick. Thanks 2Bleu! 01/26/08 We had these for the 3rd time last night, and they were delicious. My husband asked for extra gravy to spoon over the broccoli I served along side. Note: I did not add the paprika since it was not in the original recipe and I also used water instead of the chicken broth (also per original recipe) and it was still delicious. I am thinking I must have done something seriously wrong the 1st time around and am so glad I tried again. I am posting my 2nd round of pics. Thanks 2Bleu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I made this for myself tonight and scaled it down to one. I used whole wheat flour for dredging, skim milk, and low sodium stock. Also I broiled the chop in a pan to make them a bit more healthy. I sprayed the pan with PAM to omit the oil too. Once the chop was cooked I finished it over the stove top as stated using skim milk. Excellent recipe that can easily be made healthier without compromising the taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      I guess it is a matter of what one considers bland.... This certainly is not bland as far as I'm concerned! It certainly is, however, comfort food for me. I halved the recipe since I am serving one...with a second pork chop planned for a lunch next week. And I seasoned to taste with some regard for "look." You can tell from my photo that mine is not bland pasty-white...I suspect that is a result of both seasoning (lots of paprika and a considerable amount of garlic powder) and my good-dark-golden browning of the pork chops. The chops aren't exactly fork tender, but I prefer pork to have some texture, so I really like this! I am pleased to have tagged it. Many thanks, both of you 2Bleu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Chops Smothered and Covered!

    Serving Size: 1 (438 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 613.5
     
    Calories from Fat 389
    63%
    Total Fat 43.2 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 14.7 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 178.0 mg
    59%
    Sodium 1566.5 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 44.8 g
    89%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes