9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am always looking for new ways to make pork chops and this was a hit! I didn't have any bacon grease saved, so I chopped up three slices of bacon and fried that up for the grease. I then left the cooked bacon in with everything else while it baked. Made a nice amount of pan juices which we had over mashed potatoes. Chops were fork tender and had lots of flavor. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
16Paws August 06, 2009

Well Bird, you've done it again. Made this pretty true to directions, used a thick cut boneless pork chop (that's what I had) and followed another reviewers suggestion and after frying the bacon cut it up and placed in the bottom of the baking dish, also cut it down to 2 for DH and me. Served with a fresh tomatoe salad, gratin potatoes and a glass of cold white wine. Great dinner and really easy to fix. What a great blend of spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 August 30, 2011

Yummy pork chop recipe! My husband isn't a huge pork chop fan, but he did say this was one of the better ones he's had in quite some time. It was a very easy recipe to make too! The low and slow cooking helped make it very tender...they broke in half when I tried to pick them up! Great, great, great :) Thanks so much for posting! Made for PRMR Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo September 04, 2008

I fried some bacon for baked beans the other day and kept the bacon grease because I remembered seeing a recipe that used it and that sounded great. It took some searching of my brain to remember where I'd spotted it but I'm sooooo glad I took the time! LOL I was a little worried about the long cooking time but they came out nicely cooked and very tender. My chops were about 1/2 inch thick. This recipe had a lot to live up to in my mind because paprika is probably my favorite spice...but the flavor lived up to my expectations and more. I served with Baked Corn With Chives Sauce and they matched up very nicely. Thanks for the wonderful recipe Bird!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 May 18, 2008

I had a problem that wasn't the recipe's fault so I'm reviewing without stars. You see, I live in the south where the battle against the pantry moths is never-ending. I opened the paprika and one flew out in my face. I had to pitch the webby, ruined stuff and find a substitute seasoning. I decided to use one tbs chili powder instead of the 2tbs paprika. I can say that the chops were beautifully browned, moist, tender, and that the recipe was in every way successful despite having to use a drastically varying substitute. I'll come back and make it again another time when I have fresh paprika and give it proper stars then.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3KillerBs April 04, 2008

Delicious pork chops. Tender and juicy when cooked exactly as written. Served them with creamy mashed potatoes and steamed green beans with sauteed fresh sliced mushrooms and onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan April 03, 2008

Buddah was right, these are some great pork chops! I made them exactly as written. The directions were very easy to follow. I loved the 'juice/gravy' that was created by baking them for the 2 hours. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood March 31, 2008

Nice easy comfort food. My pork chops were a little thicker, but other than that, I made as directed. Since I needed to cook some bacon to get the bacon grease, I added the bacon to some green beans that were a nice side dish for this. Thanks 2Bleu for another winner. Made for Photo Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme March 26, 2008

This was good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written, using thin center cut chops. I did use olive oil instead of vegetable oil also. I browned the chops on the stove but then put them in a pan and finished them up on the grill. They were really good and flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol March 12, 2008
Pork Chops Paprikash