Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pork Chops in Balsamic Vinegar and Shallot Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Chops in Balsamic Vinegar and Shallot Sauce

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2010

      My husband and I both loved this recipe. I didn't and wouldn't change a thing (except the other reviewers advice to add broth first). This went perfectly with roasted potatoes and sauteed green beans and mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      I used 5 pork steaks and followed everything on the recipe. However, I did not add butter into the sauce as I was opting for a healthier approach for dinner last night. I certainly will be making this again and maybe the next time I will add a little butter and will give an update here if it makes any difference to the sauce. Thank you, FM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      Excellent & easy! Next time I'll use loin chops. I used bone-in and they were too fatty. The sauce was so good, wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for this yummy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2004

      These were great! They kinda reminded me of sliders. I think it was because of all the shallots. Which I only used 3 large. The oil I use only enough to lightly coat the pan. I used water & onion bouillon not chicken broth. And I used fresh thyme. About 1 teaspoon. I took the chops out at 140 degrees made the sauce then added the chops back till they came to 170 degrees. (PREFECT)!!! Serve this with white rice, mashed potatoes or just all by themselves you can `t go wrong! The picture I took of them has only some of the sauce but I can `t imagine not having all the sauce to put on your sides.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      This recipe went over so well with my family, we will definitely be making it again. Even my 3 year old asked for more! I added a teaspoon or so of sugar to the sauce when it was almost ready, just before adding the butter. We paired the dish with butternut squash. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      My whole family loved these pork chops. I'd give it 4.5 stars for sure. I upped the servings to 6 since I had 6 bone-in pork loin chops and the measurements for all the ingredients were right on. I used a medium red onion instead of the shallots, but did everything else as directed. The pork chops were cooked perfectly, tender and juicy, and the sauce was great! We will most definitely be making this again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      I only had less than 1/4 c balsamic and it seemed a bit water still. But it was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Tubbortons Made This! The pork cooking method was spot on, and I enjoyed the flavor mix. I think the recipie really delivers on technique, which can be tempered with for great results. All together a very solid dish and an easy prep. One thing to remember is to add the Stock first so you can scrape the brown bits up before you add the Vinegar. Tubbortons!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Fantastic! I made just 1 thick chop, used a whole shallot, 1 tbsp oil and half the broth and vinegar... it was delicious, and surprisingly calorie friendly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This is a great recipe, not too complicated and yummy, I did substitute onion powder for the shallots. I was out. It worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Excellent!! I made these awhile ago and didn't review them. I used yellow onion in place of the shallots, but otherwise followed the recipe. Great!! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Delicious and very easy. I rely often on my crockpot because I work night shift, so I fixed this recipe in it. I left out the olive oil and butter, used half of a red onion instead of the shallots (it was what I had on hand) and cooked it on low for about 10 hours. The sauce would probably have been better had I fixed the recipe as written, but the chops were still very flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Very good pork chop recipe! Did't have shallots at home so I used an onion instead. Still lovely and very flavoursome and of course very very quick! Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      DH and I made this for dinner a few nights ago. We enjoyed it very much. I thought the dish had nice flavor and the pork chops were very moist. Additionally, it was very easy to prepare. I will be making this again. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      Very yummy! I used a package of 6 thick, boneless chops and it worked out well with the recipe. Made exactly as directed and had a nice and fast dinne that we all liked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      Wonderful recipe. We used pork butt steaks seasoned with a lemon herb spice, then browned them and removed from the pan while we made the sauce. Added them back in and finished in the oven. Served with brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      Easy and delicious-I could eat the sauce with a spoon. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      It was so hot today and I was looking for a quick stovetop recipe and this exceeded my expectations. I substituted some home-grown green and red baby onions that my neighbor gave me and they worked wonderfully well. My chops were thick, so I increased the cooking time, but it was still a fast recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      I loved this recipe. I wouldn't change a thing. I used a pork loin roast and instead of cutting them in 1" chops, I cut them in 1/2" chops. The cooking time was right on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      This is so-o-o-o good. Followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. This is a keeper. Thanks FlemishMinx for such a delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Chops in Balsamic Vinegar and Shallot Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (275 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 456.9
     
    Calories from Fat 250
    54%
    Total Fat 27.8 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 144.9 mg
    48%
    Sodium 234.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 42.4 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites