31 Reviews

My husband and I both loved this recipe. I didn't and wouldn't change a thing (except the other reviewers advice to add broth first). This went perfectly with roasted potatoes and sauteed green beans and mushrooms.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelly.johnson September 17, 2010

I used 5 pork steaks and followed everything on the recipe. However, I did not add butter into the sauce as I was opting for a healthier approach for dinner last night. I certainly will be making this again and maybe the next time I will add a little butter and will give an update here if it makes any difference to the sauce. Thank you, FM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
7Seven July 16, 2012

Excellent & easy! Next time I'll use loin chops. I used bone-in and they were too fatty. The sauce was so good, wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for this yummy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview September 20, 2010

These were great! They kinda reminded me of sliders. I think it was because of all the shallots. Which I only used 3 large. The oil I use only enough to lightly coat the pan. I used water & onion bouillon not chicken broth. And I used fresh thyme. About 1 teaspoon. I took the chops out at 140 degrees made the sauce then added the chops back till they came to 170 degrees. (PREFECT)!!! Serve this with white rice, mashed potatoes or just all by themselves you can `t go wrong! The picture I took of them has only some of the sauce but I can `t imagine not having all the sauce to put on your sides.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ August 14, 2004

This recipe went over so well with my family, we will definitely be making it again. Even my 3 year old asked for more! I added a teaspoon or so of sugar to the sauce when it was almost ready, just before adding the butter. We paired the dish with butternut squash. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina K. January 15, 2012

My whole family loved these pork chops. I'd give it 4.5 stars for sure. I upped the servings to 6 since I had 6 bone-in pork loin chops and the measurements for all the ingredients were right on. I used a medium red onion instead of the shallots, but did everything else as directed. The pork chops were cooked perfectly, tender and juicy, and the sauce was great! We will most definitely be making this again. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pandora Spocks March 20, 2011

I only had less than 1/4 c balsamic and it seemed a bit water still. But it was good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samanthamlam November 12, 2009

Tubbortons Made This! The pork cooking method was spot on, and I enjoyed the flavor mix. I think the recipie really delivers on technique, which can be tempered with for great results. All together a very solid dish and an easy prep. One thing to remember is to add the Stock first so you can scrape the brown bits up before you add the Vinegar. Tubbortons!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tubbort Tons October 12, 2009

Fantastic! I made just 1 thick chop, used a whole shallot, 1 tbsp oil and half the broth and vinegar... it was delicious, and surprisingly calorie friendly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurelbelle February 04, 2009

This is a great recipe, not too complicated and yummy, I did substitute onion powder for the shallots. I was out. It worked great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
witchstorm November 30, 2008
Pork Chops in Balsamic Vinegar and Shallot Sauce